HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
15,617 (15,657)1,087711 (4.14)03
2008 (69) 2009 (150) 2010 (74) adult (55) book club (275) books (103) books about books (91) British (75) Channel Islands (305) chapter book (121) England (405) epistolary (301) epistolary novel (91) fiction (1,450) friends (60) friendship (267) German occupation (204) Guernsey (405) historical (123) historical fiction (669) history (98) humor (74) Ivy and Bean (60) letters (360) literature (85) London (55) love (72) novel (140) occupation (77) own (54) read (169) read in 2009 (98) read in 2010 (62) realistic fiction (82) romance (179) series (116) to-read (270) war (129) writers (58) WWII (1,218)

Annie Barrows has 3 upcoming events.

Jun
9
Annie Barrows - "The Truth According to Us"
Warwick's, Tuesday, June 9 at 7:30pm
Warwick's is hosting New York Times bestselling author Annie Barrows on Tuesday, June 9th at 7:30pm to present her newest novel, The Truth According to Us. Annie Barrows is the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. She is also the author of the bestselling children’s series Ivy and Bean. This event is free and open to the public. Reserved Seating is available. Only books purchased from Warwick's will be signed. Please call the Warwick's Book Dept. (858) 454-0347 for details. In the summer of 1938, spoiled senator’s daughter Layla Beck is suddenly cast adrift by her angry father. Forced to take a job on the Federal Writers’ Project, a New Deal program, she finds herself assigned to write a history of the small mill town of Macedonia, West Virginia. Perfectly certain that she will go mad with boredom, Layla’s expectations take a sharp turn when she meets the Romeyn family, particularly the town pariah, Felix Romeyn. Very soon Layla’s research develops a distinctively personal flavor.

Meanwhile, inside the Romeyn house, twelve-year-old Willa is using her newly found virtues of ferocity and devotion to thread her way through a thicket of mysteries, including the questionable business that occupies her father and the reason her beloved aunt Jottie remains unmarried. But all roads lead—for both Layla and Willa—to a single event that changed Macedonia and the Romeyns forever.

Location: Street: 7812 Girard Ave City: La Jolla, Province: California Postal Code: 92037 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
Jun
10
Annie Barrows discusses and signs The Truth According to Us
Vroman's Bookstore, Wednesday, June 10 at 7pm
From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what's right. Annie Barrows once again evokes the charm and eccentricity of a small town filled with extraordinary characters. Her new novel, The Truth According to Us, brings to life an inquisitive young girl, her beloved aunt, and the alluring visitor who changes the course of their destiny forever. In the summer of 1938, Layla Beck's father, a United States senator, cuts off her allowance and demands that she find employment on the Federal Writers' Project, a New Deal jobs program. Within days, Layla finds herself far from her accustomed social whirl, assigned to cover the history of the remote mill town of Macedonia, West Virginia, and destined, in her opinion, to go completely mad with boredom. But once she secures a room in the home of the unconventional Romeyn family, she is drawn into their complex world and soon discovers that the truth of the town is entangled in the thorny past of the Romeyn dynasty. At the Romeyn house, twelve-year-old Willa is desperate to learn everything in her quest to acquire her favorite virtues of ferocity and devotion--a search that leads her into a thicket of mysteries, including the questionable business that occupies her charismatic father and the reason her adored aunt Jottie remains unmarried. Layla's arrival strikes a match to the family veneer, bringing to light buried secrets that will tell a new tale about the Romeyns. As Willa peels back the layers of her family's past, and Layla delves deeper into town legend, everyone involved is transformed--and their personal histories completely rewritten. (Dial Press) Those wishing to get books signed will be asked to purchase at least one copy of the author's most recent title from Vroman's. For each purchased copy of the newest title, customers may bring up to three copies from home to be signed. This policy applies to all Vroman's Bookstore events unless otherwise noted. Save your Vroman's receipt; it will be checked when you enter the signing line.

Location: Street: 695 E. Colorado Blvd City: Pasadena, Province: California Postal Code: 91101 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)… (more)

Annie Barrows has 32 past events. (show)

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Gender
Nationality
Country (for map)
Birthplace
Place of death
Places of residence
Education
Occupations
Relationships
Organizations
Awards and honors
Agents
Short biography
Ann Fiery's previous work includes the boxed collection Palmistry. She lives in Northern California, studying arcane divinatory texts and ecclesiastical history.
Disambiguation notice

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

Member ratings

Average: (4.14)
0.5 5
1 45
1.5 12
2 137
2.5 65
3 754
3.5 307
4 1813
4.5 424
5 2025

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Annie Barrows is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.

Includes

Annie Barrows is composed of 5 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 97,283,060 books! | Top bar: Always visible