This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
Author photo. Bryn Mawr College Library Special Collections

Bryn Mawr College Library Special Collections

Margaret Ayer Barnes (1886–1967)

Author of Years of Grace

Includes the names: Margaret A. Barnes, Margaret Ayer Nbarnes, Mrs. Margaret (Ayer) Barnes

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
160688,623 (3.72)00
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Margaret Ayer Barnes was born in Chicago, Illinois, to a family that took a keen interest in civic affairs. Her older sister Janet Ayer Fairbank became a well-known suffragist and writer. Margaret graduated from Bryn Mawr with a bachelor's degree in English and philosophy in 1907. In 1910, she married Cecil Barnes, a prominent Chicago lawyer, with whom she had three sons. During these years, she served as alumnae director of Bryn Mawr and helped organize the Bryn Mawr Summer School for Women Workers in Industry. In 1926, at age 40, her life changed dramatically when she was in an auto accident while vacationing in France and suffered a broken back, skull, and ribs. During her slow recovery, she took up writing with the encouragement of Edward Sheldon, a playwright whom she had met as a child. Between 1926 and 1930, she wrote several short stories and three plays, including a highly successful 1928 play adapted from Edith Wharton's novel The Age of Innocence. In 1931, she won the Pulitzer Prize for her first novel, Years of Grace. Over the next eight years, she published four more novels, including Westward Passage (1931) and Edna His Wife (1935).
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.72)
2 2
3 7
3.5 2
4 8
4.5 2
5 4

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Margaret Ayer Barnes is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Margaret Ayer Barnes is composed of 4 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 128,833,428 books! | Top bar: Always visible