Author photo. CBC - David Bergen (Courtesy of Canada Writes)

CBC - David Bergen (Courtesy of Canada Writes)

David Bergen (1)

This page covers the author of The Time in Between.

For other authors named David Bergen, see the disambiguation page.

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
6925521,028 (3.38)00

Top members (works)

Member favorites

Members: None

Add to favorites

David Bergen has 7 past events. (show)

You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
David Bergen was born on January 14, 1957 in Port Edward, a small fishing village in British Columbia, and later grew up in the small town of Niverville, Manitoba.  He went to Bible college in British Columbia and Red River College in Winnipeg, Manitoba, where he studied creative communication. He taught English and Creative Writing at Winnipeg's Kelvin High School until 2002.

Raised as a Mennonite, Bergen has noted that the tendency of the church to stifle questions and criticism affected his decision to write fiction. "Writing is a way of figuring things out," he says. "If you can't ask certain questions in church, maybe you can ask them in fiction."
His debut novel, A Year of Lesser in 1996, was a New York Times Notable Book and winner of the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award. His 2002 novel The Case of Lena S. was a finalist for the Governor General's Award for English language fiction and won the Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award. It was also a finalist for the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award, and the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction.

His 2005 novel The Time in Between won the Scotiabank Giller Prize, received a coveted starred review in the Kirkus Reviews trade magazine, and was recently longlisted for the 2007 IMPAC Award. In 2008 he published his fifth novel, The Retreat, which was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and which won the McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award, and the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction. In 2010 he was shortlisted again for the Scotiabank Giller Prize for his sixth novel, The Matter with Morris.

He is also the author of a collection of short fiction, Sitting Opposite My Brother (1993), which was a finalist for the Manitoba Book of the Year.

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alum

David Bergen's book The Retreat was available from LibraryThing Early Reviewers.

Sign up to get a pre-publication copy in exchange for a review.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

Member ratings

Average: (3.38)
1 5
2 23
2.5 11
3 48
3.5 22
4 62
4.5 8
5 13

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

"David Bergen" is composed of at least 2 distinct authors, divided by their works. You can edit the division.

Name disambiguation

Go to the disambiguation page to edit author name combination and separation.


David Bergen is composed of 3 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 115,086,399 books! | Top bar: Always visible