HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist

Help LibraryThing improve these recommendations by voting their validity below. As members rate, recommendations move up and down, on and off the list. Be sure to rate the validity of the recommendation, not the quality of author recommended.

  1. Charles William Eliot

    How valid? —
  2. Charles Dickens

    How valid? — All: (4 members)
  3. Robert Louis Stevenson

    How valid? — All: (3 members)
  4. Thomas Hardy

    How valid? — All: (2 members)
  5. Rudyard Kipling

    How valid? — All: (2 members)
  6. George Eliot

    How valid? — All: (2 members)
  7. Anthony Trollope

    How valid? — All: (1 member)
  8. Joseph Conrad

    How valid? — All: (3 members)
  9. Mark Twain

    How valid? — All: (1 member)
  10. Jules Verne

    How valid? — All: (2 members)
  11. Henry Fielding

    How valid? — All: (1 member)
  12. Henry James

    How valid? — All: (2 members)
  13. Mary Macnab

    How valid? —
  14. H. G. Wells

    How valid? —
  15. Alexandre Dumas, père

    How valid? —
  16. James Fenimore Cooper

    How valid? — All: (2 members)
  17. D. H. Lawrence

    How valid? — All: (1 member)
  18. Sir Walter Scott

    How valid? — All: (2 members)
  19. Jonathan Swift

    How valid? — All: (2 members)
  20. William Makepeace Thackeray

    How valid? —
  21. Lewis H. Lapham

    How valid? —
  22. E. M. Forster

    How valid? —
  23. Reader's Digest

    How valid? —
  24. Tobias Smollett

    How valid? —
  25. Fanny Burney

    How valid? —
  26. Wilkie Collins

    How valid? —
  27. Johann David Wyss

    How valid? —
  28. Samuel Richardson

    How valid? —
  29. Laurence Sterne

    How valid? —
  30. Margaret E. Martignoni

    How valid? —
  31. Jack London

    How valid? —
  32. Herman Melville

    How valid? —
  33. Charlotte Brontë

    How valid? — All: (1 member)
  34. Nathaniel Hawthorne

    How valid? —
  35. Arthur Conan Doyle

    How valid? —
  36. Stephen Crane

    How valid? —
  37. Companion Library

    How valid? —
  38. Victor Hugo

    How valid? —
  39. Elizabeth Gaskell

    How valid? —
  40. Robert Louis Stevenson

    Author of
    How valid? — All: (1 member)

Member ratings

Average: (3.57)
0.5 13
1 105
1.5 25
2 310
2.5 91
3 1129
3.5 263
4 1282
4.5 110
5 676

Author pictures (3)

  

(see all 3 author pictures)

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Daniel Defoe is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.

Includes

Daniel Defoe is composed of 41 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,019,080 books! | Top bar: Always visible