This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.
MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
74 (215)8169,376 (3.83)00

Top members (works)

Member favorites

Members: None

Add to favorites
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Henrietta Dorothy Everett (1851 - 1923), who wrote under the nom de plume 'Theo Douglas', began her writing career at the age of forty-four. During the next twenty-five years, from 1896 to 1920, twenty-two books appeared bearing the name Theo Douglas, published by seventeen different publishers. Her true identity wasn't revealed until 1910. The Death-Mask and Other Ghosts was first published in 1920 and it is one of her only books to omit the name 'Theo Douglas'.


At least half her 22 novels had fantasy and supernatural content. In Iras: A Mystery (1896) an egyptologist unwraps an ancient Mummy, the beautiful Iras, who awakens from suspended animation. They fall in love and marry, but Iras is gradually transformed back into a mummy as seven magic pendants are removed individually from her necklace by various means. The Soul of the heroine of Nemo (1900) possesses and animates an Automaton against her will. One or Two (1907) is a grotesque account of the success of a fat woman in making herself thin by spiritualist means. Malevola (1914) is a psychic-Vampire story: the mysterious Madame Thérèse Despard is able to draw into herself the beauty and vitality of another during the process of massage. TD reverted to her own name for her final book, a collection of traditional Ghost Stories, The Death-Mask, and Other Ghosts (1920; exp 1995). Other works include Three Mysteries (1904); A White Witch (1908); Cousin Hugh (1910); White Webs (1912); Hadow of Shaws (1913); The Grey Countess (1913).
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.83)
3 8
3.5 5
4 7
5 6

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

H.D. Everett is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


H.D. Everett is composed of 4 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 134,115,297 books! | Top bar: Always visible