This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Winifred Foley (1914–2009)

Author of A Child in the Forest

Includes the names: Winifred Foley

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
135 (182)2101,923 (3.76)10
No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Winifred Foley, née Mason, was born in the pit village of Brierley, near Cinderford, in the Forest of Dean. Her father was a coal miner and often out of work; the family lived in grinding poverty during her childhood. She left school at age 14 and went off to work as as domestic servant in London. She married Syd Foley, a woodman, with whom she had four children. After World War II, they went to live in an isolated cottage on the fringes of the Forest of Dean. She began writing her memoirs in exercise books and sent one to the Bristol office of BBC radio's popular "Woman's Hour" program. This led to a Woman's Hour serial adaptation in 1973, followed by the publication of Winifred's first book, A Child in the Forest (1974). It became the first of three celebrated memoirs, along with No Pipe Dreams for Father (1977) and Back to the Forest (1981) -- published together as The Forest Trilogy by Oxford University Press (1992). Her final collection of memoirs was In and Out of the Forest (1984). Winifred's story also inspired the BBC Television drama Abide with Me (1977).

It was re-made in 2001 as Child of the Forest for HTV West. At the age of 86, Winifred began a new career as a romantic novelist with Village Fates (2000), followed by Prejudice and Pride (2005), To Kill for Love (2006), and Two Men and a Maiden (2007).
Disambiguation notice

Member ratings

Average: (3.76)
1 1
2 1
3 7
3.5 3
4 10
4.5 1
5 6

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Winifred Foley is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.


Winifred Foley is composed of 2 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 129,551,129 books! | Top bar: Always visible