This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Mary Agnes Hamilton (1) [1884–1966]

This page covers the author of The story of Abraham Lincoln.

For other authors named Mary Agnes Hamilton, see the disambiguation page.

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
51 (53)0224,705 (5)10

Top members (works)

Member favorites

No events listed. (add an event)
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Country (for map)
Place of death
Places of residence
Awards and honors
Short biography
Mary Agnes Hamilton, née Adamson, was born in Withington, a suburb of Manchester, one of six children of Robert Adamson, a professor of logic at Glasgow University. She graduated with an honours degree in economics from Cambridge University. She embarked on a career as a journalist and writer to support herself after a failed marriage. She wrote several novels, beginning in 1916 with Dead Yesterday. She joined the Labour Party as a young woman, and after two failed campaigns, she was elected a Member of Parliament for Blackburn in 1929. She was appointed private secretary to Clement Attlee, then the Postmaster-General, and later the Prime Minister. Mary Agnes Hamilton also served as governor of the British Broadcasting Corporation from 1933 to 1937. She was a prolific writer whose novels provided insight into the topics that concerned her in public life, such as politics, pacifism, and women's rights. Her many nonfiction works included books of history, geography, political analysis of the Labour Party and the trade unions, and biographies of several famous contemporaries. She also wrote two volumes of politically-charged memoirs entitled Remembering My Good Friends (1944) and Uphill All the Way (1953). She was awarded the CBE in 1949.

Member ratings

Average: (5)
5 1

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

"Mary Agnes Hamilton" is composed of at least 2 distinct authors, divided by their works. You can edit the division.

Name disambiguation

Go to the disambiguation page to edit author name combination and separation.


Mary Agnes Hamilton is composed of 2 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…


About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 134,863,572 books! | Top bar: Always visible