HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist

J. Robert Lennon

Author of Mailman

Includes the names: J. R. Lennon, J. Robert Lennon, J. Robert Lennon

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
1,010 (1,989)4711,456 (3.53)21
Works by J. Robert Lennonorganize | filter
Also by J. Robert Lennonorganize | filter
Members
Related tags
Events on LibraryThing Local

J. Robert Lennon has 1 upcoming event.

Nov
21
Kathryn Davis & J. Robert Lennon
Porter Square Books, Friday, November 21 at 7pm
"Beautiful, mysterious, and philosophical, with a voice for landscape as lush as any Romantic, Davis has written one of my favorite books of the year. A novel that bends physics, warps time, and stretches myths, Duplex is a wise exploration of the passage of life into death. And there are robots. And a sorcerer. And at least one apocalypse. Maybe four." -- Josh, staff pick

On what seems like a fairly ordinary suburban street, the familiar resides with the unusual. A young girl falls in love with the boy next door, a kind teacher walks her dachshund down the sidewalk, a young man works toward a career in professional baseball, a family of robots prepare for their daughter’s first day of school, and a sorcerer speeds his flashy car down the street and zaps souls in exchange for making dreams come true. In the tradition of Kazuo Ishiguro’s Never Let Me Go and Heidi Julavits’s The Vanishers, Duplex seamlessly blends elements of fantasy, science fiction, horror, and fairy tale, to deliver a truly unforgettable novel.

Kathryn Davis is the author of six novels. She has received the Kafka Prize, the Morton Dauwen Zabel Award, a Guggenheim Fellowship, and the Lannan Foundation Literary Award. She teaches at Washington University, and lives in Vermont and St. Louis, Missouri.

"Little stories with huge impact -- try reading them out loud to a friend and you will be laughing or gasping and always wanting more. They are short but not always sweet. They are sly, amusing, and moving. 'Fingers' is shocking, 'Directions' is quite funny, and 'Kiss' is almost sweet. All are very addicting, and a pleasure to read." -- Megan, staff pick for J. Robert Lennon's Pieces for the Left Hand

"I guess the things that scare you are the things that are almost normal," observes one narrator in this collection of effervescent and often uncanny stories. Drawing on fifteen years of work, See You in Paradise is the fullest expression yet of J. Robert Lennon’s distinctive and brilliantly comic take on the pathos and surreality at the heart of American life. In Lennon's America, a portal to another universe can be discovered with surprising nonchalance in a suburban backyard, adoption almost reaches the level of blood sport, and old pals return from the dead to steal your girlfriend.

J. Robert Lennon is the author of seven novels, including Familiar, Castle, and Mailman, and a story collection, Pieces for the Left Hand. His fiction has appeared in The Paris Review, Granta, Harper’s Magazine, Playboy, and The New Yorker. He lives in Ithaca, New York, where he teaches writing at Cornell University.

Location: Street: Porter Square Shopping Center Additional: 25 White Street City: Cambridge, Province: Massachusetts Postal Code: 02140 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)

J. Robert Lennon has 2 past events. (show)

Common Knowledgehistory Creative Commons License
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Gender
Nationality
Country (for map)
Birthplace
Place of death
Places of residence
Education
Occupations
Relationships
Organizations
Awards and honors
Agents
Short biography
Disambiguation notice

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

Member ratings

Average: (3.53)
0.5 1
1 5
1.5 3
2 31
2.5 10
3 94
3.5 32
4 107
4.5 11
5 47

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

J. Robert Lennon is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.

Includes

J. Robert Lennon is composed of 4 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 92,678,594 books! | Top bar: Always visible