HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
34,795 (54,314)1,279221 (4)2643
Works by Garth Nixorganize | filter
Also by Garth Nixorganize | filter
Members

Top members (works)

Member favorites

Members: i_devour_books, dwsmac, danialysa, LACatron, readbetweentheferns, daniel.leary, shanaqui, stretch867, TheHaleyBird, amazeika, Calanthe, private member, Plexchan, nov13670, private member, BookMystique, lordoffluff, Hathorre, private member, jmorbug (show 244 more), ooshwiggity, HHolland, mcbonet, SiegeFX, 3sth3r, nickdella, needtoreadgottowatch, Katharine_Ann, Sunshinemkc, dylanesque, estherlimtf, SidheOfAvalon, private member, reiki74h, TurtleStampede, Kixie, hanear21, Chakari, CochinBreaker, cyderry, csmaccath, nathanisamazing, rhastings18, cboliver, Drakonee, sarahbest, _adonai_, private member, Jen448, theghostsyoudraw, OmegaRuins, tophile, BrynDahlquis, RileyDragon, feefeefrog, Kitriana, TrustMeh_, joenba7, library_cat, meow9th, aralis11, Punkerthanyourmother, bluehighlighter, ShannonStubbs, ginny.sweeney, sabbel, holeyone, Whoompis, Aridy, lairyfights, makesthings, ractatma, Forcast, tuckerfrye, Nefertori, ochobbitjan, akimble77, Domisqueek, kw50197, krau0098, AthenAltena, TheOriginalArchetype, susiesharp, Zombieaddict, Rapplescallion, Imshi, PV_Lundqvist, lizbandit, alainaniala, bonje, sevilator, apachecat, lyrrael, Demonwing, Ros_Smith, Koenix, iansay, SparrowSong, bcpederson, VioletBramble, ClockworkHeart, Lirra, gomushin, N.R.B., hannelore, FeatherCharm, pinkflutey, carduelinae, jayde1599, rachelick, meggie77, ChocoholicBec, ninas, eme221, aeleone, KangarooRat, irisclara, gherardesci, shewhowearsred, MattG987, private member, HuntersMoon, budgie_alison, kcpavlik, rosebudinbloom, Aerrin99, majikkuinki, BrittyLilith, thefunkylama, Annilee100, Motleyluke, Unexpected, meroko, ViolainesDreams, ronincats, wombatdeamor, sequeena, oerdnj, SamuelW, ryvre, skullduggery, eror, Tterrats, hilaryschmidt, in3rdperson, lizah, vintage_books, timorousme, Chans, ccahill, PaulaGATeacher, Vivaa, crimson-tide, wphilbrook, greyladyrvnclw, Kaylyn, darklorelei, wosret, Ganimede, BatsAndSpiders, lohengrin, RMcCownUNL, katya.konkle, lambada, Goldengrove, Biteswhenprovoked, mockturtle, AmethystFaerie, robk84, private member, nnicole, InformationMagpie, EmScape, jcm2080, Araldia, RMANG, XxCelestexX, kalafudra, faerywings, TyburnBlossom, MinaKelly, Homechicken, reeby10, AnnaRichenda, wookiebender, tiamatq, Mumi79, psychlops, lis.lueninghoener, konallis, supermoon10, runreadrepeat, bobmcconnaughey, ch1lee, errantdreams, Flit, squirrel14, maxsumillion, lalawe, private member, veevoxvoom, vidroth, Beary_Bookwormish, Jetton, JimPAX, meerka, AtomicGirl, samiejane, racergal12, JFenton, JHGHendriks, Elidoria, lelumarie, ceili_woman, WillaCather, Maiyrhia, cattermune, acajjou, private member, marcia_g, relinquishedworm, periwinkled, Releanna, parelle, WosretBast, pitchergirl25, outofcheese, Matt_J_O, pumpkin_samurai, amarain, invaderjodie, lettp, reidt, jadelennox, Caffy, bholfeltz, Evigail, Vierran, kholmden, ElizaJane, miriam2k, battlinjack, usin, lazyhedwig, aplomb1, private member, danimal, Ardath, TooHotty, ethelmertz, Vacula, Trismegistus, Shanshad, purpledragon42, typesetjez, GeraniumCat, Nerilka, satiecrackers, mangochris, geophile, shadrach_anki, euuw, allthesedarnbooks, RuzNuz

Add to favorites
Related tags
abhorsen (552) adventure (439) anthology (1,000) Australian (184) australian author (154) children (220) children's (474) children's fiction (163) children's literature (126) death (286) ebook (177) fantasy (7,799) fantasy fiction (125) fiction (3,197) garth nix (297) horror (224) Keys to the Kingdom (579) magic (940) necromancy (416) NIX (137) novel (170) old kingdom (147) own (224) paperback (135) read (590) science fiction (844) series (762) Seventh Tower (130) sf (198) sff (361) short stories (1,136) steampunk (131) teen (277) to-read (743) unread (321) YA (1,386) YA fantasy (147) young adult (1,963) young adult fiction (216) zombies (140)
Events on LibraryThing Local

Garth Nix has 3 upcoming events.

Oct
23
Youth: Fireside Chat with GARTH NIX and MICHAEL GRANT
Kepler's Books, Thursday, October 23 at 7pm
Fireside Chat with Garth Nix and Michael Grant

Thursday, October 23, 7:00 p.m. Fantasy readers and action junkies rejoice! Garth Nix, one of the most beloved names in fantasy, is back with the long-awaited fourth book in the New York Times bestselling Old Kingdom series. And he will be chatting with Michael Grant, New York Times bestselling author of the Gone Series. Two store favorites, two huge talents, two great new books. Don't miss this conversation between fan favorites. Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen Garth Nix returns to The Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world-building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic, and is perfect for fans of Game of Thrones. Messenger of Fear

Michael Grant’s Messenger of Fear is a haunting narrative that examines the nature of good and evil in every human. Fans of Michelle Hodkin’s Mara Dyer trilogy and Stephen King will love this satisfyingly twisted series.

Location: Street: 1010 El Camino Real City: Menlo Park, Province: California Postal Code: 94025-4349 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)

Garth Nix has 9 past events. (show)

Common Knowledgehistory Creative Commons License
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Gender
Nationality
Country (for map)
Birthplace
Place of death
Places of residence
Education
Occupations
Relationships
Organizations
Awards and honors
Agents
Short biography
Garth Nix was born in 1963 in Melbourne, Australia, to the sound of the Salvation Army band outside playing 'Hail the Conquering Hero Comes' or possibly 'Roll Out the Barrel'. Garth left Melbourne at an early age for Canberra (the federal capital) and stayed there till he was nineteen, when he left to drive around the UK in a beat-up Austin with a trunk full of books and a Silver-Reed typewriter.

Despite a wheel literally falling off the Austin, Garth survived to return to Australia and study at the University of Canberra. After finishing his degree in 1986 he worked in a bookshop, then as a book publicist, a publisher's sales representative, and editor. Along the way he was also a part-time soldier in the Australian Army Reserve, serving in an Assault Pioneer platoon for four years. Garth left publishing to work as a public relations and marketing consultant from 1994-1997, till he became a full-time writer in 1998. He did that for a year before becoming a part-time literary agent in 1999. In January 2002 Garth went back to writing full time again, despite his belief that full-time writing explains the strange behaviour of many authors.

Garth currently lives in a beach suburb of Sydney, with his wife Anna, a publisher.
Disambiguation notice

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

Member ratings

Average: (4)
0.5 6
1 89
1.5 29
2 320
2.5 143
3 1821
3.5 723
4 3603
4.5 488
5 3179

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Garth Nix is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.

Includes

Garth Nix is composed of 9 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,635,873 books! | Top bar: Always visible