HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist

Francine Prose

Author of Reading Like a Writer

Includes the names: Francine Prose

MembersReviewsPopularityRatingFavorited   Events   
6,977 (11,229)1031,606 (3.56)166
Works by Francine Proseorganize | filter
Also by Francine Proseorganize | filter
Members
Related tags
20th century (34) 21st century (34) American (59) anthology (214) art (73) biography (147) books (99) books about books (125) creative writing (40) death (34) ebook (41) essays (147) fairy tales (110) feminism (43) fiction (889) Francine Prose (34) grief (37) history (37) Holocaust (37) Kindle (41) librarians (40) libraries (66) library (34) literary criticism (138) literature (147) non-fiction (538) novel (110) own (43) read (109) reading (194) reference (39) short stories (349) to-read (317) travel (62) unread (95) wishlist (46) women (45) writing (537) YA (38) young adult (47)
Events on LibraryThing Local

Francine Prose has 6 upcoming events.

May
1
Free Library of Philadelphia - Francine Prose - Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932 - Mona Simpson - Casebook
Joseph Fox Bookshop, Thursday, May 1 at 7:30pm
Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932 Francine Prose Known as a satirist in the tradition of Swift, Francine Prose creates a fictional world of absurd situations and sardonic humor, intelligence, compassion, and grief. A respected novelist, critic, and essayist, she is the author of nearly 30 books, including the National Book Award Finalist Blue Angel. She is former President of the PEN American Center and the recipient of a Guggenheim fellowship, a Fulbright fellowship, and two National Endowment for the Arts grants, among many other honors. Her new novel, Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932 is based on a photograph taken by Hungarian photographer Brassai, “Lesbian Couple at Le Monocle.” Casebook Mona Simpson Award-winning novelist Mona Simpson is the author of Anywhere But Here, adapted for a film starring Natalie Portman and Susan Sarandon; The Lost Father; A Regular Guy; Off Keck Road, a PEN/Faulkner Award finalist and recipient of the Heartland Prize of the Chicago Tribune; and My Hollywood. Her many honors include a Whiting Writer’s Award, a Guggenheim grant, and an Academy Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters. In her new novel, an eavesdropping boy tries to understand his unraveling family, and instead uncovers the burdens of his parents’ private lives. Parkway Central Library 1901 Vine Street Philadelphia, PA 19103 (between 19th and 20th Streets on the Parkway) This is a TICKETED event; $15 General Admission, $7 Students. For more information, please call 215-567-4341, or click here

Location: Street: Free Library of Philadelphia Additional: 1901 Vine Street City: Philadelphia, Province: Pennsylvania Postal Code: 19103-5207 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
May
8
FRANCINE PROSE
Malaprop's Bookstore & Cafe, Thursday, May 8 at 7pm
Francine Prose is the author of many bestselling books of fiction, including A Changed Man and Blue Angel, which was a finalist for the National Book Award, and the nonfiction New York Times bestseller Reading Like a Writer. Her novel, Household Saints, was adapted for a movie by Nancy Savoca. Another novel, The Glorious Ones, has been adapted into a musical of the same name by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, which ran at the Mitzi E. Newhouse Theatre at Lincoln Center in New York City in the Fall of 2007. Her latest novel, Goldengrove, was published in September 2008. She is the president of PEN American Center. She lives in New York City.

Prose meant to write a nonfiction book about Hungarian photographer George Brassai, but it turned into this novel. At its tumultuous heart is the Chameleon Club, a shadowy jazz venue that attracts notorious cross-dressing lesbian Lou Villars, Hungarian photographer Gabor Tsenyi, upper-crust art patron Baroness Lily de Rossignol, and sharp-tongued American novelist Lionel Maine.

Location: Street: 55 Haywood St City: Asheville, Province: North Carolina Postal Code: 28801 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
May
10
AUTHOR EVENT: Francine Prose - "Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932"
Oblong Books & Music - Millerton, Saturday, May 10 at 7pm
This event will be held at Oblong Books & Music, 6422 Montgomery St., Rhinebeck, NY.

Share this event on Facebook!

Francine Prose's highly anticipated latest novel Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932 is a richly imagined and stunningly inventive literary masterpiece of love, art, and betrayal, exploring the genesis of evil, the unforeseen consequences of love, and the ultimate unreliability of storytelling itself.

In the novel, Paris shimmers with excitement, dissipation, and freedom. It is a place of intoxicating ambition, passion, art, and discontent, where louche jazz venues like the Chameleon Club draw expats, artists, libertines, and parvenus looking to indulge their true selves.

“A dark and glorious tour de force…In an intricately patterned, ever-morphing, lavishly well-informed plot spanning the French countryside and reaching to Berlin, Prose intensifies our depth perception of that time of epic aberration and mesmerizing evil ...” --Booklist (starred review)

Francine Prose is the author of many bestselling books of fiction, including A Changed Man and Blue Angel, which was a finalist for the National Book Award, and the nonfiction New York Times bestseller Reading Like a Writer. Her novel, Household Saints, was adapted for a movie by Nancy Savoca. Another novel, The Glorious Ones, has been adapted into a musical of the same name by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, which ran at the Mitzi E. Newhouse Theatre at Lincoln Center in New York City in the Fall of 2007. Prose is a graduate of Radcliffe College and a Guggenheim fellow. She served as president of PEN American Center - a literary society of writers, editors and translators, that works to advance literature, defend free expression, and foster international literary fellowship. and is currently Visiting Professor of Literature at Bard College.

Photo By Stephanie Berger

Location: Street: 6422 Montgomery St., Suite 6 City: Rhinebeck, Province: New York Postal Code: 12572-0482 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
Apr
28
Francine Prose, Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932
Porter Square Books, Monday, April 28 at 7pm
“A reading experience like none other-a shimmering library of possible truths and forking pathways…Readers of this extraordinary novel become Villars’ co-biographers, piecing through ‘official’ and underground accounts as ample (and as unreliable) as the human library of memory. I was addicted to this book.” Karen Russell, author of Swamplandia “An engrossing literary mystery…Refracting the vivid, villainous life of Louisianne Villars through letters, memoirs, and the recreations of a biographer, Prose coaxes into kaleidoscopic view both a tortured human being and bohemian Paris before and during the Nazi occupation… she cleverly exploits the vain, self-serving nature of memory itself.” Jennifer Egan, Pulitzer Prize winning author of A Visit From the Goon Squad Francine Prose is the author of many bestselling books of fiction, including A Changed Man and Blue Angel, which was a finalist for the National Book Award, and the nonfiction New York Times bestseller Reading Like a Writer. Her novel, Household Saints, was adapted for a movie by Nancy Savoca. Another novel, The Glorious Ones, has been adapted into a musical of the same name by Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty, which ran at the Mitzi E. Newhouse Theatre at Lincoln Center in New York City in the Fall of 2007. Her latest novel, Goldengrove, was published in September 2008. She is the president of PEN American Center. She lives in New York City.

Location: Street: Porter Square Shopping Center Additional: 25 White Street City: Cambridge, Province: Massachusetts Postal Code: 02140 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
May
13
FRANCINE PROSE
Kepler's Books, Tuesday, May 13 at 7:30pm
Credit: Stephanie Berger

Francine Prose

Tuesday, May 13, 7:30 p.m. Lovers at the Chameleon Club, Paris 1932: A Novel

Paris in the 1920s shimmers with excitement, dissipation, and freedom. It is a place of intoxicating ambition, passion, art, and discontent, where louche jazz venues like the Chameleon Club draw expats, artists, libertines, and parvenus looking to indulge their true selves. It is at the Chameleon where the striking Lou Villars, an extraordinary athlete and scandalous cross-dressing lesbian, finds refuge among the club’s loyal denizens, including the rising Hungarian photographer Gabor Tsenyi.

“Brilliant and wicked and funny and right on-never has Europe been done with such savage precision…Every bit funny and appalling, at the end especially, of course. There’s not a French affectation, hypocrisy or depravity left untouched. I love it!” (Diane Johnson, author of LE MARIAGE and L'AFFAIRE)

Francine Prose is the author of twenty works of fiction. Her novel A Changed Man won the Dayton Literary Peace Prize, and Blue Angel was a finalist for the National Book Award. Her most recent works of nonfiction include the highly acclaimed Anne Frank: The Book, The Life, The Afterlife, and the New York Times bestseller Reading Like a Writer. She's recipient of numerous grants and honors, including a Guggenheim and a Fulbright.

Location: Street: 1010 El Camino Real City: Menlo Park, Province: California Postal Code: 94025-4349 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)

Francine Prose has 1 media appearance.

May
19
A conversation with Francine Prose
Charlie Rose, Friday, May 19, 2000
Francine Prose

Novelist, critic, and satirist Francine Prose talks about her novel (timspalding)

Francine Prose has 8 past events. (show)

Common Knowledgehistory Creative Commons License
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Canonical name
Legal name
Other names
Date of birth
Date of death
Burial location
Gender
Information from the Esperanto Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to the English one.
Nationality
Country (for map)
Birthplace
Place of death
Places of residence
Education
Occupations
Relationships
Organizations
Awards and honors
Agents
Short biography
Disambiguation notice

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

Member ratings

Average: (3.56)
0.5 7
1 23
1.5 8
2 130
2.5 51
3 444
3.5 177
4 509
4.5 66
5 229

Author pictures (3)

  

(see all 3 author pictures)

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Francine Prose is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.

Includes

Francine Prose is composed of 2 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 89,430,127 books! | Top bar: Always visible