HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist

Stendhal (1783–1842)

Author of The Red and the Black

Includes the names: Stendhal, Stendhal, Stendhal, Stendhal, Stendhal, Stendhal, Stendhal, Stendhal H, L Stendhal, M Stendhal ... (see complete list), Henri Beyle, De Stendhal, M. De Stendhal, Henri Stendhal, henri stendhal, pseud. Stendhal, Стендаль, Beyle Destendhal, Henri de Stendhal, Stendahl Stendahl, Marie-Henri Beyle, Par M. De Stendhal, スタンダール, Henri Beye Stendhal, seudónimo Stendhal, Henry Beyle Stendahl, Henri Boyle Stendhal, Henri-Beyle Stendahl, Henri Beyle Stendhal, Henry Beyle Stendhal, Marie-Henri Stendhal, Friedrich v. Stendhal, Paul Stendhal; Valery, Henri Stendhal; Beyle, Stendahl (Henri Beyle), Stendhal (Henri Beyle), Henry de Stendhal-Beyle, Henri Beyle dit Stendhal, Stendhall Laurent Jacques, Stendhal (Henri de Beyle), Marie-Henri Beyle Sthendal, Stendhal alias Henry Beyle, Marie-Henri Beyle Stendahl, Marie Henri Boyle Stendhal, Marie-Henri Beyle Stendhal, Stendal (Marie-Henri Beyle), Stendhal Marie-Henri Beyle., Henrie Marie Beyle Stendhal, Marie-Henri Stendhal) Beyle, Marie-Henri Beyle (Stendhal), Stendahl (Marie Henri Beyle), Stendhal (Henri Marie Beyle), Stendhal aka Marie Henri Beyle, Stendhal and the Lady Mary Loyd, Stendhal; Louise Varese (trans), H. (Editor) Stendhal; Martineau, psevd. for Henri Beyle Stendhal, Stendhal; Shaw. M.R.B. (transl.), Roger Stendhal; Preface de Nimier, Richard N. (transl.) Stendhal; Coe, Stendhal; Translated By T. W. Earp, Frankreich Schriftsteller Stendhal, Friedrich von [Henry Beyle Stendhal, John (translator) Stendhal; Sturrock, Stendahl; Translated By Joan Charles, Charles (translator) Stendhal; Tergie, Stendhal; pseud for Marie-Henri Beyle, Lloyd C. (translator) Stendhal; Parks, Joan Stendhal; (translated by) Charles, Henri-Marie Beyle Stendhal (1783-1842), Margaret R. B. (Editor) Stendahl; Shaw, Stendhal; translated by Richard N. Coe, Friedrich v. d.i. Henry Beyle). STENDHAL, Stendhal; Translated By Haakon Chevalier, Richard Translator Henri; Howard Stendhal, Stendhal / Translated by Elisabeth Abbott, Stendhal (Author); Rene Ternois (Edited by), Stendhal - Appareil Critique D'Henri Martineau, Stendahl. (with illustrations by Mette Ivers)., Stendahl.; Ann Jefferson; C. K Scott Moncrieff, Stendhal;Editor&IntroductionGeoffreyStrickland, Stendhal; Translated with Intro By Margaret R. B., Beyle Marier-Henri Stendhal, (Trans) Loyd,Lady Ma, Robert An Richard; Illustrations by Parker Howard, Marie-Henri (Stendhal); Translated By C.K. Scott-M, translated by C.K. Scott Moncrieff Stendahl Marie-, trans. C.K. Scott Moncrieff Stendhal (Henri Beyle), Stendhal; Translated and Edited By Robert M. Adams, Stendahl (Marie Henri Beyle); Translated By C.K. S, C.K. (tr. Stend Marie Henry Beyle; Scott-Moncrieff, Stendhal. Translated by Charles Tergie. Illustrati, Stendhal (Henri Beyle). Introduction by Emmanuel B, Stendhal; Translators Jean Stewart And B.C.J.G. Kn, Translator Stendhal. Marie-Henri Beyle. C. K. Scot, Marie Henri de Stendhal and translated by C.K. Sco, Stendhal; translated by Elisabeth Abbott with an i, Stendhal; (Marie-Henri Beyle); Translator C.K. Sco, Stendhal / Présenté Par Roger Nimier, Stendhal (Marie-Henri Beyle) Introduction By Hamilton Basso, Marie-Henri Beyle (Stendhal). Translated by C.K. Scott-Moncrief. Introduction by

If you like Stendhal you may like...

Help LibraryThing improve these recommendations by rating them below. As members add ratings, they move recommendations up and down, on and off the list. Be sure to rate the recommendation, not just the author recommended. All things being equal, more than three stars sends it up, less than three stars sends it down.

  1. Honoré de Balzac

    All: ***** (2 members)
  2. Gustave Flaubert

    All: ***** (2 members)
  3. Émile Zola

    All: ****1/2 (2 members)
  4. Thomas Mann

  5. Marcel Proust

    All: **** (2 members)
  6. Joseph Conrad

    All: **** (1 member)
  7. Ivan Turgenev

    All: ***** (1 member)
  8. André Gide

    All: ****1/2 (1 member)
  9. Guy de Maupassant

    All: ***** (1 member)
  10. Giuseppe Tomasi di Lampedusa

    All: ****1/2 (2 members)
  11. Denis Diderot

    All: ***** (1 member)
  12. Giovanni Boccaccio

    All: **** (1 member)
  13. Henry Fielding

    Author of Tom Jones, Amelia
    All: ***** (1 member)
  14. Henry James

  15. Joseph Roth

    All: **** (1 member)
  16. Nikolai Gogol

  17. Laurence Sterne

    All: **** (1 member)
  18. Jean-Jacques Rousseau

    All: **1/2  (1 member)
  19. André Malraux

    All: **1/2  (1 member)
  20. Marguerite Yourcenar

Member ratings

Average: (3.85)
0.5 4
1 24
1.5 3
2 93
2.5 46
3 319
3.5 104
4 502
4.5 75
5 442

Author pictures (2)

   

(see all 2 author pictures)

Improve this author

Combine/separate works

Author division

Stendhal is currently considered a "single author." If one or more works are by a distinct, homonymous authors, go ahead and split the author.

Includes

Stendhal is composed of 101 names. You can examine and separate out names.

Combine with…

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 89,491,921 books! | Top bar: Always visible