Book awards: Agnes Lynch Starrett Poetry Prize

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 34 ( next | show all )

Works (34)

Heart of the Garfish by Kathy Callaway1981
Shouting at No One (Pitt Poetry Series) by Lawrence Joseph1982
The White Wave (Pitt Poetry Series) by Kate Daniels1983
Elegy on Independence Day (Pitt Poetry Series) by Arthur Smith1984
The Fire Music (Pitt Poetry Series) by Liz Rosenberg1985
Kingdoms of the Ordinary by Robley Wilson1986
Torque (Pitt Poetry Series) by David Rivard1987
Toluca Street (Pitt Poetry Series) by Maxine Scates1988
The Face in the Water (Pittsburgh Poetry Series) by Nancy Vieira Couto1989
Walking Distance (Pitt Poetry Series) by Debra Allbery1990
Sleeping Preacher by Julia Kasdorf1991
The Domestic Life (Pitt Poetry Series) by Hunt Hawkins1992
Red Under the Skin (Pitt Poetry Series) by Natasha Saje1993
Mad river by Jan Beatty1994
Pears, Lake, Sun by Sandy Solomon1995
Red Peony Night (Pitt Poetry Series) by Helen Conkling1996
City of a Hundred Fires (Pitt Poetry Series) by Richard Blanco1997
Water Between Us (Pitt Poetry Series) by Shara McCallum1998
She Didn't Mean To Do It (Pitt Poetry Series) by Daisy Fried1999
Asylum (Pitt Poetry Series) by Quan Barry2000
A Defense of Poetry (Pitt Poetry Series) by Gabriel Gudding2001
Pulling a dragon's teeth by Shao Wei2002
High Water Mark: Prose Poems (Pitt Poetry Series) by David Shumate2003
Blue on Blue Ground (Pitt Poetry Series) by Aaron Smith2004
Brother Salvage (Pitt Poetry Series) by Rick Hilles2005
Velocity (Pitt Poetry Series) by Nancy Krygowski2006
Dismantling the Hills (Pitt Poetry Series) by Michael McGriff2007
In Praise of Falling (Pitt Poetry Series) by Cheryl Dumesnil2008
Paper Anniversary (Pitt Poetry Series) by Bobby C. Rogers2009
Predatory (Pitt Poetry Series) by Glenn Shaheen2010
Salt Pier (Pitt Poetry Series) by Dore Kiesselbach2011
Keeper (Pitt Poetry Series) by Kasey Jueds2012
Best Bones (Pitt Poetry Series) by Sarah Rose Nordgren2013
Wild Hundreds (Pitt Poetry Series) by Nate Marshall2014

Related tags


Award description

The Agnes Lynch Starrett Poetry Prize is a major American literary award for a first full-length book of poetry in the English language.

This prize of the University of Pittsburgh Press in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA was initiated by Ed Ochester and developed by Frederick A. Hetzel. The prize is named for a former director of the Press. It has recognized and supported emerging poets and made their work available to readers around the world.

The award is open to any poet writing in English who has not had a full-length book published previously. A "full-length book" of poetry is defined as a volume of 48 or more pages published in an edition of 750 or more copies. The prize carries a cash award of $5,000 and publication by the University of Pittsburgh Press in the Pitt Poetry Series. The winner is announced in the fall of each year.


Related series

Related publisher series


jburlinson (14), SilentInAWay (13), bergs47 (8), hipdeep (2), davidgn (1), gilroy (1), catnose (1), KingRat (1)
You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 116,937,141 books! | Top bar: Always visible