Book awards: Amaury Talbot Prize for African Anthropology

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 39 ( next | show all )

Works (39)

Nigerian images;: The splendor of African sculpture by William Buller Fagg1963
Africa in Social Change by P. C. Lloyd1967
Double descent in an African society; the Afikpo village-group by Simon Ottenberg1968
Custom & politics in urban Africa; a study of Hausa migrants in Yoruba towns by Abner Cohen1969
Technology, tradition, and the state in Africa by Jack Goody1971
The King in Every Man: Evolutionary Trends in Onitsha Ibo Society and Culture by Richard Henderson1972
Masked rituals of Afikpo, the context of an African art : [published in connection with an exhibition shown at the Henry Art Gallery, University of Washington, May 24-June 21, 1975] by Simon Ottenberg1975
Nigeria : its archaeology and early history by Thurstan Shaw1978
Parenthood and social reproduction : fostering and occupational roles in West Africa by Esther N. Goody1982
Yoruba Medicine by Anthony D. Buckley1985
Patrons and Power: Creating a Political Community in Metropolitan Lagos (International African Library) by Sandra Barnes1986
Gender, Culture, and Empire: European Women in Colonial Nigeria by Helen Callaway1987
The Listening Ebony: Moral Knowledge, Religion, and Power among the Uduk of Sudan by Wendy Jamesco-winner, 1988
TEARS OF THE DEAD PB (International African Library Series) by WERBNER RICHARDco-winner, 1991
Beyond The Stream: Islam & Society In A West African Town by Robert Launay1992
African Art in Transit (Cambridge Studies in Social & Cultural Anthropology) by Christopher B. Steiner1993
Nuer prophets : a history of prophecy from the Upper Nile in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries by Douglas H. Johnsonco-winner, 1994
When We Began, There Were Witchmen: An Oral History from Mount Kenya (Los Alamos Series in Basic and Applied Sciences, 13) by Jeffrey A. Fadimanco-winner, 1994
Purity and Exile: Violence, Memory, and National Cosmology among Hutu Refugees in Tanzania by Liisa H. Malkki1995
Misreading the African Landscape: Society and Ecology in a Forest-Savanna Mosaic by James Fairheadco-winner, 1996
Nuer Dilemmas: Coping with Money, War, and the State by Sharon E. Hutchinsonco-winner, 1996
Questioning Misfortune: The Pragmatics of Uncertainty in Eastern Uganda (Cambridge Studies in Medical Anthropology) by Susan Reynolds Whyte1997
People are not the same : leprosy and identity in twentieth-century Mali by Eric Silla1998
Marxist modern : an ethnographic history of the Ethiopian revolution by Donald L. Donhamco-winner, 1999
Remotely Global: Village Modernity in West Africa by Charles Piotco-winner, 1999
Religious Encounter and the Making of the Yoruba (African Systems of Thought) by J. D. Y. Peel2000
Contingent Lives: Fertility, Time, and Aging in West Africa (Lewis Henry Morgan Lecture Series) by Caroline H. Bledsoe2002
Dan Ge Performance: Masks and Music in Contemporary CÃ'te d'Ivoire (African Expressive Cultures) by Daniel B. Reedco-winner, 2003
Somalia: Economy Without State by Peter D. Littleco-winner, 2003
Kupilikula: Governance and the Invisible Realm in Mozambique by Harry G. Westco-winner, 2005
The Pan-African Nation: Oil and the Spectacle of Culture in Nigeria by Andrew Apterco-winner, 2005
Prisoners of Freedom: Human Rights and the African Poor by Harri Englund2006
The Man-Leopard Murders: History and Society in Colonial Nigeria by David Pratten2007
Routes of Remembrance: Refashioning the Slave Trade in Ghana by Bayo Holsey2008
Love in the Time of AIDS: Inequality, Gender, and Rights in South Africa by Mark Hunter2009
The Masons of Djenné (African Expressive Cultures) by Trevor H. J. Marchandco-winner, 2009
The Enculturated Gene: Sickle Cell Health Politics and Biological Difference in West Africa by Duana Fullwiley2011
The Modernity Bluff: Crime, Consumption, and Citizenship in Côte d’Ivoire by Sasha Newell2012
Unmasking the State: Making Guinea Modern by Mike McGovern2013

Related tags


Award description

The Amaury Talbot Prize for African Anthropology is awarded by the Royal Anthropological Institute. The prize was first awarded in 1962. No award was made in 1964, 1973, 1976, 1979, 1980, 1981, 1984, or 1990.


Related events


Bretzky1 (38), bergs47 (6)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,366,234 books! | Top bar: Always visible