Big news! LibraryThing is now free to all! Read the blog post and discuss the change on Talk.
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Aristeion

Book awards by cover

Works (21)

Chopin's Move by Jean EchenozLiterary, 1990
Poems of Paul Celan by Paul Celannot in English Common KnowledgeTranslation, 1990
Frasi e incisi di un canto salutare by Mario LuziLiterary, 1991
London Bridge by Louis-Ferdinand Célinenot in English Common KnowledgeTranslation, 1991
Galíndez by Manuel Vázquez MontalbánLiterary, 1992
Ulysses by James Joycenot in English Common KnowledgeTranslation, 1992
The Following Story by Cees NooteboomLiterary, 1993
The Principle of Hope (3-volume set) by Ernst Blochnot in English Common KnowledgeTranslation, 1993
In Search of Lost Time by Marcel Proustnot in English Common KnowledgeTranslation, 1994
Shanghai Nights by Juan MarséLiterary, 1994
A Barbarian in Asia by Henri Michauxnot in English Common KnowledgeTranslation, 1995
The Land of Green Plums by Herta MüllerLiterary, 1995
Ausgesetzt auf den Bergen des Herzens : Gedichte aus den Jahren 1906 - 1926 by Rainer Maria Rilkenot in English Common KnowledgeTranslation, 1996
The Dog King by Christoph RansmayrLiterary, 1996
The Moor's Last Sigh by Salman RushdieLiterary, 1996
The Butcher Boy by Patrick McCabenot in English Common KnowledgeTranslation, 1997
Pereira Declares: A Testimony by Antonio TabucchiLiterary, 1997
De geruchten by Hugo ClausLiterary, 1998
Too Far Afield by Günter Grassnot in English Common KnowledgeTranslation, 1998
Cuaderno de Nueva York by Jose HierroLiterary, 1999
The Third Policeman by Flann O'Briennot in English Common KnowledgeTranslation, 1999

Award description

The Aristeion Prize is a European prize, awarded for significant contributions to contemporary literature, and exceptional translations of contemporary literature.
The prize was awarded in a different Capital of Culture each year.
The prize was first awarded in Glasgow, 1990 and was awarded every year until 1999, when it was discontinued, to be replaced by the European Union's Culture 2000 programme.


Related book awards

Related new publisher series


supersidvicious (118), zmeischa (33), davidgn (11), SilentInAWay (11), bergs47 (5), rsterling (4), souloftherose (4), norabelle414 (4), avatiakh (3), Jordaan (3), Shortride (2), NinieB (2), gsides78 (2), stephmo (2), JMK2020 (1), Cecrow (1), sjmccreary (1), Hughie2 (1), s.e.c. (1), FAMeulstee (1), RMXtreme (1), Agrammatos (1), beaniebear (1), ivan.frade (1), Trifolia (1), cataclysm (1), stortemelk (1), jlelliott (1), andyl (1), peterbrown (1), Stbalbach (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 148,072,674 books! | Top bar: Always visible