This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Australian/Vogel Literary Award

Book awards by cover

1–8 of 41 ( next | show all )

Works (41)

The Day of the Dog by Archie Weller1980
Al Jazzar by Christopher Matthewsjoint winner, 1981
An Open Swimmer by Tim Wintonjoint winner, 1981
Birds of Passage by Brian Castrojoint winner, 1982
Matilda, My Darling by Nigel Krauthjoint winner, 1982
Shields of Trell by Jenny Summerville1983
Lilian's Story by Kate Grenville1984
Glace Fruits by Robin Walton1986
Ilias by Jim Sakkas1987
Oceana Fine by Tom Flood1988
Mood Indigo by Mandy Sayer1989
The mint lawn by Gillian Mears1990
Praise by Andrew McGahan1991
The Mule's Foal by Fotini Epanomitis1992
The Hand That Signed The Paper by Helen Darville1993
Swimming in Silk by Darren Williams1994
Kindling Does for Firewood by Richard King1995
The Blindman's Hat by Bernard Cohen1996
Hiam by Eva Sallis1997
Pegasus in the suburbs by Jennifer Kremmer1998
Love and Vertigo by Hsu-Ming Teo1999
The Artist Is a Thief by Stephen Graynot in English Common Knowledge2000
Sibyl's Cave by Catherine Padmorejoint winner, 2001
Skins by Sarah Hayjoint winner, 2001
The Alphabet of Light and Dark by Danielle Wood2002
Drown Them in the Sea by Nicholas Angeljoint winner, 2003
Troubled Waters: Borders, Boundaries and Possession in the Timor Sea by Ruth Balintjoint winner, 2003
Road Story by Julienne van Loon2004
Tuvalu by Andrew O'Connor2005
The River Baptists by Belinda Castles2006
I dream of Magda by Stefan Laszczuk2007
Document Z: A Novel by Andrew Croome2008
Night street by Kristel Thornelljoint winner, 2009
Utopian Man by Lisa Langjoint winner, 2009
The Roving Party by Rohan Wilson2011
Eleven seasons by Paul D. Carter2012
After darkness by Christine Pipernot in English Common Knowledge2014
When There's Nowhere Else to Run by Murray Middleton2015
The memory artist by Katherine Brabon2016
The Lost Pages by Marija Pericic2017
The Yellow House by Emily O'Grady2018

Award description

The Australian/Vogel Literary Award is an Australian literary award for unpublished manuscripts by writers under the age of 35. The prize money, currently $20,000 (AUD), is the richest and most prestigious award for an unpublished manuscript in Australia. The rules of the competition include that the winner's work be published by Allen and Unwin. The award was initiated in 1979 by Niels Stevns and is a collaboration between The Australian newspaper, the publisher Allen & Unwin, and Stevns & Company Pty Ltd. Stevns, founder of the company which makes Vogel bread, named the award in honour of Swiss naturopath Alfred Vogel.

There was no prize given in 1985, 2010, and 2013.


Related series


jburlinson (33), bergs47 (27), pellethepoet (13), kaffles (6), zmeischa (5), lottpoet (4), redstardude (2), gsc55 (1), Shortride (1), avatiakh (1), SLofTasmania (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 136,418,055 books! | Top bar: Always visible