Check out the Pride Celebration Treasure Hunt!
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Barbara Jefferis Award Shortlist

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 40 ( next | show all )

Works (40)

The Anatomy of Wings by Karen Foxlee2008
Burning in by Mireille Juchau2008
The Gospel of Gods and Crocodiles by Elizabeth Stead2008
The Lost Dog by Michelle de Kretser2008
The Seamstress (New Writing) by Geraldine Wooller2008
Addition by Toni Jordan2009
The Good Parents: A Novel by Joan London2009
The Last Sky by Alice Nelson2009
The Lifeboat by Zacharey Jane2009
People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks2009
Headlong: A Novel by Susan Varga2010
The Lost Life by Steven Carroll2010
Pink by Lili Wilkinson2010
Swimming : a novel by Enza Gandolfo2010
A true history of the hula hoop by Judith Lanigan2010
The World Beneath by Cate Kennedy2010
The good daughter by H. M. Brown2011
Indelible Ink by Fiona McGregor2011
Sustenance by Simone Lazaroo2011
Act of Faith by Kelly Gardiner2012
Black Glass by Meg Mundell2012
Cold light by Frank Moorhouse2012
Five Bells by Gail Jones2012
Foal's Bread by Gillian Mears2012
This too shall pass by S. J. Finn2012
Too close to home by Georgia Blain2012
When We Have Wings by Claire Corbett2012
The First Week by Margaret Merrilees2014
The Life and Loves of Lena Gaunt by Tracy Farr2014
The mountain by Drusilla Modjeska2014
Pilgrimage by Jacinta Halloran2014
Sufficient Grace by Amy Espeseth2014
A Guide to Berlin by Gail Jones2016
The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood2016
The Protected by Claire Zorn2016
This Picture of You by Sarah Hopkins2016
From the Wreck by Jane Rawson2018
Goodwood by Holly Throsby2018
Storyland by Catherine Mckinnon2018
Troppo by Madelaine Dickie2018

Award description

The Award, which comprises an annual prize of at least $35,000, is one of Australia's richest literary prizes. It is awarded to "the best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women and girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society".[2] The novel can be in any genre and does not have to be set in Australia.[1] The award does not specify the author's gender. It is administered by the Australian Society of Authors, and is one of Australia's richest literary awards. It is expected to rival the Miles Franklin Award ($42,000) and the biennial Tasmania Pacific Fiction Prize ($40,000).[1]


Related book awards


bergs47 (94), davidgn (14), zmeischa (8), aeclark (4), ablachly (3), gilroy (2), kirkeet (2), rmostman (1), n_morrell (1), inge87 (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 135,478,202 books! | Top bar: Always visible