Book awards: Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry

Book awards by cover

1–8 of 14 ( next | show all )

Works (14)

Inner Room by James Merrill1990
Ararat by Louise Glück1992
The Continuous Life : poems by Mark Strand1992
Garbage: A Poem by A. R. Ammons1994
One Train by Kenneth Koch1996
Desire: Poems by Frank Bidart1998
Of No Country I Know: New and Selected Poems and Translations (Phoenix Poets Series) by David Ferry2000
Felt: Poems by Alice Fulton2002
Early Occult Memory Systems of the Lower Midwest: Poems by B. H. Fairchild2004
Present Company by W. S. Merwin2006
This Clumsy Living (Pitt Poetry Series) by Bob Hicok2008
Inseminating the Elephant (Lannan Literary Selections) by Lucia Perillo2010
Early Collected Poems: 1965-1992 by Gerald Stern2012
Shoulda Been Jimi Savannah by Patricia Smith2014

Related tags


Award description

The Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry is awarded biennially by the Library of Congress on behalf of the nation in recognition for the most distinguished book of poetry written by an American and published during the preceding two years.

The $10,000 prize winner is chosen by a three-member jury appointed by a selection committee composed of the Librarian of Congress, the Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry, a publisher named by the Academy of American Poets and a literary critic nominated by the Bobbitt family. Awarded for "the Most Distinguished Book of Poetry Published in 2006 or 2007, OR For Lifetime Achievement in Poetry", nomininations come from publishers, and is given only to living American poets. The criteria for the award are that a nomination must be a poet's first poetry book or a book composed of new work of any length. Collected or selected works qualify only if they include at least thirty new poems previously unpublished in book form with prior publication in print media being acceptable.

At the sole discretion of the judging panel, they may instead award the Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Prize for Lifetime Achievement in Poetry.

Mrs. Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt was the eldest sister of Lyndon B. Johnson, 36th President of the United States.


Related publisher series


jburlinson (11), bergs47 (3), davidgn (1), zmeischa (1), NinieB (1)
You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 117,109,466 books! | Top bar: Always visible