Book awards: Books in Canada First Novel Award

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 41 ( next | show all )

Works (41)

Coming Through Slaughter by Michael Ondaatje1976
The Seventh Hexagram by Ian McLachlan1976
Sandbars by Oonah Mcfee1977
Gaining Ground by Joan Barfoot1978
Lunar Attractions by Clark Blaise1979
Gentle Sinners by W. D. Valgardson1980
Obasan by Joy Kogawa1981
Shoeless Joe by W. P. Kinsella1982
Willie : A Romance: Volume 1 of the King Years (King Years, Vol 1) by Heather Robertson1983
Perdue, or, How the west was lost : a novel by Geoffrey Ursell1984
The Story of Bobby O'Malley by Wayne Johnston1985
The Life of Helen Alone by Karen Lawrence1986
The Butterfly Chair by Marion Quednau1987
A Man of Little Faith by Rick Salutin1988
The Missing Child by Sandra Birdsell1989
Lives of the Saints by Nino Ricci1990
Such a Long Journey by Rohinton Mistry1991
The Afterlife of George Cartwright by John Steffler1992
Losing Eddie by Deborah Joy Corey1993
Funny Boy by Shyam Selvadurai1994
Popular Anatomy by Keath Fraser1995
Fugitive Pieces by Anne Michaels1996
Opium Dreams by Margaret Gibson1997
Childhood by André Alexis1998
Before the Flood by Alan R. Wilson1999
Summer Gone by David Macfarlane1999
Necessary Lies by Eva Stachniak2000
Martin Sloane: A Novel by Michael Redhill2001
Crow Lake by Mary Lawson2002
Black Bird by Michel Basilieres2003
Some Great Thing by Colin McAdam2004
Three Day Road by Joseph Boyden2005
Certainty by Madeleine Thien2006
The Outlander by Gil Adamson2007
Reading by Lightning by Joan Thomas2008
Come, Thou Tortoise by Jessica Grant2009
The Rehearsal by Eleanor Catton2010
The Free World by David Bezmozgis2011
Malarky by Anakana Schofield2012
Emancipation Day by Wayne Grady2013
All True Not a Lie in It by Alix Hawley2014

Related tags


Award description

The Books in Canada First Novel Award is a literary award given annually to the best first novel in English published the previous year by a citizen or resident of Canada.

While founded and originally solely managed by the literary magazine Books in Canada, sponsorship changes throughout its history have renamed the award Smithbooks/Books in Canada First Novel Award. Chapters/Books in Canada First Novel Award. Currently, it is the Amazon.ca/Books in Canada First Novel Award.

For the sake of simplicity and organization, the original name has been kept.

The shortlist can be found here.


Related book awards


CKmtl (34), bergs47 (30), zmeischa (20), JonHutchings (13), norabelle414 (8), davidgn (5), stephmo (4), loremistress (4), lottpoet (3), Shortride (3), Tallulah_Rose (3), ripleyy (3), macart3 (3), casaloma (2), Margalioth (2), gsides78 (2), DorsVenabili (2), SqueakyChu (2), sqdancer (1), homeless (1), gilroy (1), theoldanarchist (1), ablachly (1), avatiakh (1), rsterling (1), justablondemoment (1), starfishian (1), souloftherose (1), KingRat (1), frithuswith (1), vpfluke (1), Stbalbach (1), andyl (1), sjmccreary (1), pamtreece (1), SimoneA (1)
You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 114,434,408 books! | Top bar: Always visible