Big news! LibraryThing is now free to all! Read the blog post and discuss the change on Talk.
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Central News Agency Literary Award

Book awards by cover

Works (44)

The Bull from the Sea by Mary Renault1962
The Seed and the Sower by Laurens van der Post1963
Hofmeyr by Alan Paton1964
Een vir Azazel by Etienne Leroux1966
Het huis van de dove : waarin opgenomen: Die ysterkoei moet sweet, Die huis van die dowe, Kouevuur by Breyten Breytenbach1967
The Hunter and the Whale by Laurens Van der Post1967
The Horse by Siegfried Stander1968
Kouevuur by Breyten Breytenbach1969
The Stonefish by John McIntosh1970
Bonga by Elsa Joubert1971
Siener in die suburbs : 'n spel in drie bedrywe by P. G. Du Plessis1971
The Castaways by Sheila Fugard1972
Apartheid and the archbishop: The life and times of Geoffrey Clayton, Archbishop of Cape Town by Alan Paton1973
Kruis of munt by Elisabeth Eybers1973
The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer1974
The Dark Stream: The Story of Eugène N. Marais by Leon Rousseau1975
Kroniek van Perdepoort by Anna M. Louw1975
Selected Poems (in Ten Years of Small Press Poets - BARRETT) by Guy Butler1975
Border: A novel by Anthony Delius1976
Magersfontein, o Magersfontein! by Etienne Leroux1976
Einder by Elisabeth Eybers1977
In the Heart of the Country by J. M. Coetzee1977
The long journey of Poppie Nongena by Elsa Joubert1978
Rumours of Rain by André Brink1978
Burger's Daughter by Nadine Gordimer1979
Komas uit 'n bamboesstok: Synde die mirakelagtige terugkeer na lewerversaking van ene Marco Polo : bevattende reisbeskry by Diederik Johannes Opperman1979
Waiting for the Barbarians by J. M. Coetzee1980
July's People by Nadine Gordimer1981
A Chain of Voices by André Brink1982
(Yk): Die vierde bundel van die ongedanste dans by Breyten Breytenbach1983
Life & Times of Michael K by J. M. Coetzee1984
Ancestral Voices by Etienne van Heerden1986
Liegfabriek by Etienne van Heerden1989
Memory of Snow and Dust by Breyten BreytenbachEnglish, 1989
White Boy Running by Christopher Hope1989
My Son's Story by Nadine Gordimer1990
Kroniek uit die Doofpot: Polisieroman by John Miles1991
The Beautiful Screaming of Pigs by Damon Galgut1992
Moerland (Afrikaans Edition) by Chris Barnard1993
The Smell of Apples by Mark Behr1993
The Long Walk of Nelson Mandela by Nelson Mandela1994
Triomf by Marlene van Niekerk1994
The Calling of Katie Makanya: A Memoir of South Africa by Margaret McCordnon-fiction category, 1995
Other places by Sarah Rudencreative category, 1995

Award description

The Central News Agency Literary Award (CNA Literary Award, CNA Prize) was a major annual literary award in South Africa. It was named for the CNA chain of bookstores. Founded by Phillip Stein, it recognised works in prose and poetry, and in both the English language and Afrikaans.

The last award was presented in 1996, although CNA later launched a "Book of the Year" award for popular bestsellers of any genre.


Related book awards

Related new series

Related series


bergs47 (42), rsterling (18), gsides78 (15), zmeischa (15), sjmccreary (6), davidgn (5), karenb (5), Shortride (4), homeless (3), MARSlibrary (2), hauptwerk (2), Jordaan (2), jefbra (2), Nuxbal (1), SimoneA (1), auntmarge64 (1), supersidvicious (1), JMK2020 (1), NinieB (1), booklover3258 (1), KingRat (1), _Lana_ (1), hvg (1), bugaderes39 (1), frbrown (1), DorsVenabili (1), danhammang (1), Cecrow (1), n_morrell (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 147,748,315 books! | Top bar: Always visible