Book awards: Eugene M. Emme Astronautical Literature Award

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 30 ( next | show all )

Works (30)

Global talk by Joseph N. Pelton1983
2010: Odyssey Two by Arthur C. Clarke1984
Beachheads in Space by Jerry Grey1985
Pioneering the Space Frontier by Ted Simpson1986
Before Lift-off: The Making of a Space Shuttle Crew by Henry S. F. Cooper Jr.1987
Journey into Space: The First Three Decades of Space Exploration by Bruce C. Murray1989
The Home Planet by Kevin W. Kelley1990
Exploring the Sun: Solar Science since Galileo (New Series in NASA History) by Professor Karl Hufbauer1991
Blueprint for Space, Science Fiction to Science Fact by Frederick Ira Ordway1992
The Sputnik Challenge by Robert A. Divine1993
International Cooperation in Space: The Example of the European Space Agency (Frontiers of Space) by Roger Bonnet1994
Spaceflight revolution: NASA Langley Research Center from Sputnik to Apollo (NASA history series) by James R. Hansen1995
Blind Watchers of the Sky: The People and Ideas that Shaped Our View of the Universe by Rocky Kolb1996
Space and the American Imagination by Howard E. McCurdy1997
This New Ocean: The Story of the First Space Age by William E. Burrows1998
America's Space Sentinels: DSP Satellites and National Security by Jeffrey T Richelson1999
Challenge to Apollo : the Soviet Union and the space race, 1945-1974 by Asif A. Siddiqi2000
Moon Lander by Thomas J. Kelly2001
The Secret of Apollo: Systems Management in American and European Space Programs (New Series in NASA History) by Stephen B. Johnson2002
Leaving Earth: Space Stations, Rival Superpowers, and the Quest for Interplanetary Travel by Robert Zimmerman2003
Right Stuff, Wrong Sex: America's First Women in Space Program by Margaret A. Weitekamp2004
First Man: The Life of Neil A. Armstrong by James R. Hansen2005
Into the Black: JPL and the American Space Program, 1976-2004 by Peter J. Westwick2006
Von Braun: Dreamer of Space, Engineer of War by Michael J. Neufeld2007
Digital Apollo: Human and Machine in Spaceflight by David A. Mindell2008
Ambassadors from Earth: Pioneering Explorations with Unmanned Spacecraft by Jay Gallentine2009
John F. Kennedy and the Race to the Moon (Palgrave Studies in the History of Science and Technology) by John M. Logsdon2010
Spacesuit: Fashioning Apollo by Nicholas de Monchaux2012
The Visioneers: How a Group of Elite Scientists Pursued Space Colonies, Nanotechnologies, and a Limitless Future by W. Patrick McCray2012
Dreams of Other Worlds: The Amazing Story of Unmanned Space Exploration by Chris Impey2013

Related tags


  1. A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts by Andrew Chaikin (1994)
  2. Genesis: The Story Of Apollo 8 by Robert Zimmerman (1998)
  3. Failure is not an Option: Mission Control from Mercury to Apollo 13 and Beyond by Eugene Kranz (2000)
  4. Korolev: How One Man Masterminded the Soviet Drive to Beat America to the Moon by James Harford (1997)
  5. Chariots for Apollo: Untold Story Behind the Race to the Moon by Joshua Stoff (1985)
  6. Apollo 13: The NASA Mission Reports by Robert Godwin (2000)
  7. Deke!: An Autobiography by Donald K. Slayton (1994)
  8. How Apollo Flew to the Moon by W. David Woods (2007)
  9. Stages to Saturn : A Technological History of the Apollo/Saturn Launch Vehicles by Roger E. Bilstein (1996)
  10. The Heavens and the Earth: A Political History of the Space Age by Walter A. McDougall (1985)
  11. Apollo: an Eyewitness Account by Astronaut/Explorer Artist/Moonwalker Alan Bean by Alan Bean (1998)
  12. Moon Shot: The Inside Story of America's Race to the Moon by Alan Shepard (1994)
  13. Lost Moon: The Perilous Voyage of Apollo 13 by Jim Lovell (1994)
  14. Man's Conquest of Space by William Roy Shelton (1968)
  15. Carrying the Fire: An Astronaut's Journeys by Michael Collins (1974)

Award description

The annual Eugene M. Emme Astronautical Literature Award, named for NASA’s first Historian, recognizes outstanding books that advance public understanding of astronautics. They reward originality, scholarship and readability. The award is presented by American Astronautical Society.

No award was presented in 1988.


Related people/characters


Bretzky1 (27), zmeischa (5), bergs47 (4), smcwl (1), hoolyaa (1), karenb (1), cedsaas (1), DromJohn (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,441,495 books! | Top bar: Always visible