Book awards: Golden Lion

Book awards by cover

1–5 of 5 ( show all )

Works (5)

Forbidden Games [1952 film] by René Clément1952
Ordet [1955 film] by Carl Theodor Dreyer1955
Last Year at Marienbad [1961 film] by Alain Resnais1961
Ivan's Childhood [1962 film] by Andrei Tarkovsky1962
Belle de Jour [1967 film] by Luis Buñuel1967

Related tags


Award description

The Leone d’Oro (English: Golden Lion) is the highest prize given to a film at the Biennale Venice Film Festival. The prize was introduced in 1949 by the organizing committee and is now regarded as one of the film industry's most distinguished prizes. In 1970, a second Golden Lion was introduced; this is an honorary award for people who have made an important contribution to cinema. The prize was introduced in 1949 as the Golden Lion of St. Mark. Previously, the equivalent prize was the Gran Premio Internazionale di Venezia (Grand International Prize of Venice), awarded in 1947 and 1948. Before that, from 1934 until 1942, the highest awards were the Coppa Mussolini (Mussolini Cups) for Best Italian Film and Best Foreign Film. No Golden Lions were awarded between 1969 and 1979. According to the Biennale's official website, this hiatus was a result of the 1968 Lion being awarded to the radically experimental Die Artisten in der Zirkuskuppel: Ratlos; the website says that the awards "still had a statute dating back to the fascist era and could not side-step the general political climate. Sixty-eight produced a dramatic fracture with the past."


Related publisher series


jburlinson (5), Ogygia (3), sneuper (1), Pfanner (1), guyalice (1), whirled (1), longway (1)
You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 115,179,967 books! | Top bar: Always visible