Book awards: Heartland Prize

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 52 ( next | show all )

Works (52)

The Big Store by Donald R. KatzNon-Fiction, 1987
An American Memory by Eric LarsenFiction, 1988
Ellen Foster by Kaye GibbonsFiction, 1989
The Broken Cord by Michael DorrisNon-Fiction, 1990
The Things They Carried by Tim O'BrienFiction, 1990
Praying for Sheetrock: A Work of Nonfiction by Melissa Fay GreeneNon-Fiction, 1991
A Thousand Acres by Jane SmileyFiction, 1991
Nature's Metropolis: Chicago and the Great West by William CrononNon-Fiction, 1992
The Shipping News by E. Annie ProulxFiction, 1993
Colored People: A Memoir by Henry Louis Gates Jr.Non-Fiction, 1994
Rattlebone by Maxine ClairFiction, 1994
A Sistermony by Richard SternNon-Fiction, 1995
Cold Mountain by Charles FrazierFiction, 1997
The Undertaking: Life Studies from the Dismal Trade by Thomas LynchNon-Fiction, 1997
The Other Side of the River: A Story of Two Towns, a Death, and America's Dilemma by Alex KotlowitzNon-Fiction, 1998
The Short History of a Prince by Jane HamiltonFiction, 1998
Robert Frost by Jay PariniNon-fiction, 1999
The Last Campaign: How Harry Truman Won the 1948 Election by Zachary KarabellNon-Fiction, 2000
Rails Under My Back by Jeffery Renard AllenFiction, 2000
The Metaphysical Club: A Story of Ideas in America by Louis MenandNon-Fiction, 2001
Off Keck Road by Mona SimpsonFiction, 2001
The Lovely Bones by Alice SeboldFiction, 2002
Will the Circle Be Unbroken? Reflections on Death, Rebirth, and Hunger for a Faith by Studs TerkelNon-Fiction, 2002
Reversible Errors by Scott TurowFiction, 2003
Sons of Mississippi: A Story of Race and Its Legacy by Paul HendricksonNon-Fiction, 2003
Truth & Beauty: A Friendship by Ann PatchettNon-Fiction, 2004
An Unfinished Season by Ward JustFiction, 2004
Arc of Justice: A Saga of Race, Civil Rights, and Murder in the Jazz Age by Kevin BoyleNon-Fiction, 2005
Gilead by Marilynne RobinsonFiction, 2005
At Canaan's Edge: America in the King Years, 1965-68 by Taylor BranchNon-Fiction, 2006
The Painted Drum by Louise ErdrichFiction, 2006
The Age of Lincoln by Orville Vernon BurtonNon-Fiction, 2007
Coal Black Horse by Robert OlmsteadFiction, 2007
Head and Heart: American Christianities by Garry WillsNon-Fiction, 2008
The Lazarus Project by Aleksandar HemonFiction, 2008
What the Gospels Meant by Garry WillsNon-Fiction, 2008
Lark and Termite by Jayne Anne PhillipsFiction, 2009
Methland: The Death and Life of an American Small Town by Nick RedingNon-Fiction, 2009
Anthill by Edward O. WilsonFiction, 2010
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca SklootNon-Fiction, 2010
Freedom by Jonathan FranzenFiction, 2011
The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration by Isabel WilkersonNon-Fiction, 2011
Canada by Richard FordFiction, 2012
Hemingway's Boat: Everything He Loved in Life, and Lost, 1934-1961 by Paul HendricksonNon-Fiction, 2012
Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi AdichieFiction, 2013
The third coast by Thomas L. DyjaNon-Fiction, 2013
The Maid's Version by Daniel WoodrellFiction, 2014
Men We Reaped: A Memoir by Jesmyn WardNon-Fiction, 2014
On Such a Full Sea by Chang-Rae LeeFiction, 2015
Our Declaration: A Reading of the Declaration of Independence in Defense of Equality by Danielle AllenNon-Fiction, 2015
Golden Age by Jane SmileyFiction, 2016
Negroland: A Memoir by Margo JeffersonNonfiction, 2016

Related tags

20th century(476) afterlife(456) American(944) American History(467) American literature(770) biography(903) book club(419) Canada(390) cancer(388) Civil War(923) contemporary fiction(533) death(938) ebook(373) family(1,188) fiction(12,101) heaven(348) historical fiction(1,071) history(1,583) Kindle(363) literature(779) medicine(417) memoir(792) murder(903) mystery(578) Newfoundland(412) non-fiction(2,447) novel(1,756) own(571) Pulitzer(405) Pulitzer Prize(604) race(387) rape(382) read(1,384) science(770) to-read(3,321) unread(583) usa(718) Vietnam(553) Vietnam War(471) war(667)


Award description

The Heartland Prize is a literary prize created in 1988 by the newspaper The Chicago Tribune. It is awarded yearly in two categories: Fiction and Non-Fiction. These prizes are awarded to books that "reinforce and perpetuate the values of heartland America."


Related book awards

Related places


zmeischa (96), bergs47 (42), aethercowboy (30), davidgn (25), stephmo (18), Shortride (11), jburlinson (11), JonHutchings (7), KingRat (7), gsides78 (7), homeless (6), kirkeet (6), rsterling (6), Bretzky1 (5), MsCellophane (4), Stbalbach (4), lorannen (4), norabelle414 (4), justablondemoment (4), DorsVenabili (4), kidzdoc (3), macart3 (3), sjmccreary (3), sduff222 (2), lottpoet (2), _Lana_ (2), Muscogulus (2), NinieB (2), being_blunt (2), zjeszay (2), smcwl (2), legallypuzzled (2), johnmackfreeman (1), gilroy (1), PhoenixTerran (1), sdobie (1), astahlhut (1), rce1nyu (1), TLCrawford (1), pale_fire (1), skittles (1), Nuxbal (1), whirled (1), stortemelk (1), GwynethM (1), kirjen (1), Nickelini (1), andyl (1), timspalding (1), Matteocalosi (1)
You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 115,313,092 books! | Top bar: Always visible