Book awards: John C. Zacharis First Book Award

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 21 ( next | show all )

Works (21)

Pangs of Love by David Wong Louie1991
What Keeps Us Here: Poems by Allison Joseph1992
Absent Without Leave and Other Stories by Jessica Treadway1993
Sweet Ruin (Brittingham Prize in Poetry) by Tony Hoagland1994
Coconuts for the Saint by Debra Spark1995
Most Way Home: Poems by Kevin Young1996
Don't Erase Me: Stories by Carolyn Ferrell1997
In the Belly (Phoenix Poets Series) by David Gewanter1998
Pilgrims by Elizabeth Gilbert1999
In the Surgical Theatre by Dana Levin2000
The Question of Bruno: Stories by Aleksandar Hemon2001
The Little Field of Self (Phoenix Poets) by Doreen Gildroy2002
Half in Love : Stories by Maile Meloy2003
Hammer: Poems by Mark Turpin2004
Mother of Sorrows by Richard McCann2005
The Maverick Room: Poems by Thomas Sayers Ellis2006
Other Electricities: Stories by Ander Monson2007
On the Vanishing of Large Creatures (Carnegie Mellon Poetry) by Susan Hutton2008
Once the Shore by Paul Yoon2009
Post Moxie: Poems (Kathryn a. Morton Prize in Poetry) by Julia Story2010
Portraits of a Few of the People I've Made Cry by Christine Sneed2011

Related tags


Award description

The John C. Zacharis First Book Award honors the best first book of poetry or fiction by a Ploughshares writer. The award carries a cash prize of $1,500, and feature publication in the "Postscripts" section of the Winter issue. It was started in 1991


Related people/characters


bergs47 (21), hipdeep (6), davidgn (5), zmeischa (3), supersidvicious (3), Conkie (1), Shortride (1), gilroy (1), SqueakyChu (1), stephmo (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,718,773 books! | Top bar: Always visible