Book awards: Justin Winsor Prize

Book awards by cover

1–8 of 11 ( next | show all )

Works (11)

Sectionalism and Representation in South Carolina by William August Schaper1900
Georgia and State Rights by Ulrich Bonnell Phillips1901
The history of events resulting in Indian consolidation west of the Mississippi by Annie Heloise Abel1906
The Negro in Pennsylvania by Edward Raymond Turner1910
Anglo-American Isthmian Diplomacy, 1815-1915 by Mary Wilhelmine Williams1914
Connecticut in Transition, 1775-1818 by Richard J. Purcell1916
The Colonial Merchants and the American Revolution, 1763-1776 by Arthur M. Schlesinger1918
American Loyalist: Jared Ingersoll by Lawrence Henry Gipson1922
The Organization and Administration of the Union Army, 1861-1865 by Fred Albert Shannon1928
Royal Government in America by Leonard Woods Labaree1930
Cities in the Wilderness: The First Century of Urban Life in America, 1625-1742 by Carl Bridenbaugh1937

Related tags


Award description

Awarded by the American Historical Association (1896-1930 and 1936-1938)

The Justin Winsor Prize was the first prize established by the American Historical Association. Initially awarded in 1896, it was offered annually thereafter until 1906 and then biennially until 1930, when it was discontinued. The Winsor Prize was revived in 1936 only to be cancelled in 1938. Justin Winsor Prize website
No award made 1897-1899 and in 1905

This award is distinct from the annual Justin Winsor Prize given since 1979 by the American Library Association for the best essay on library history.


Related people/characters


alibrarian (10), longway (1), Muscogulus (1), bw42 (1)
You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 115,075,389 books! | Top bar: Always visible