Book awards: Kirby Award

Book awards by cover

1–5 of 5 ( show all )

Works (5)

Beowulf by Jerry BinghamBest Graphic Album, 1985
Swamp Thing, Vol. 1: Saga of the Swamp Thing by Alan MooreBest Art Team, 1985
Crisis on Infinite Earths (novel) by Marv WolfmanBest Art Team, 1986
The Rocketeer: All 5 Action Chapters! by Dave StevensBest Graphic Album, 1986
Batman: The Dark Knight Returns by Frank MillerBest Graphic Album, Best Art Team, 1987

Related tags


Award description

The Jack Kirby Award for achievement in comic books was presented from 1985-1987 by Amazing Heroes magazine, and managed by Dave Olbrich. It is named after the pioneering writer and artist Jack Kirby, and voted on by comic-book professionals.
In 1987, a dispute arose when Olbrich and Fantagraphics, publisher of Amazing Heroes, each claimed ownership of the awards. A compromise was reached, and starting in 1988, the Kirby Award was discontinued and two new awards were created: the Eisner Award, managed by Olbrich and named after Will Eisner; and the Fantagraphics-managed Harvey Award, named for Harvey Kurtzman.



Shortride (4), stephmo (4), mrbudyhed (3), jburlinson (3), guyalice (2), karenb (1), andyl (1), lampbane (1), I-_-I (1)
You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 117,045,768 books! | Top bar: Always visible