Book awards: Maine Library Association Lupine Award

Book awards by cover

1–5 of 75 ( next | show all )

Works (75)

Brickyard Summer by Paul B. JaneczkoWinner, 1989
Hattie and the Wild Waves: A Story From Brooklyn by Barbara CooneyWinner, 1990
Rosebud and Red Flannel by Ethel PochockiWinner, 1991
Sing to the sun; poems and picturesWinner, 1992
Wild Fox: A True Story by Cherie MasonWinner, 1993
It's Our World, Too!: Young People Who Are Making a Difference: How They Do It - How You Can, Too! by Phillip M. HooseHonor, 1993
A Short Walk Around the Pyramids & Through the World of Art by Philip M. IsaacsonHonor, 1993
Prize in the Snow by Bill EasterlingWinner, 1994
A Year on Monhegan Island by Julia A. DeanWinner, 1995
Nights of the Pufflings by Bruce McMillanHonor, 1995
To Hold This Ground: A Desperate Battle at Gettysburg by Susan Provost BellerHonor, 1995
Grandmother Bryant's Pocket by Jacqueline Briggs MartinWinner, 1996
Marven of the Great North Woods by Kathryn LaskyWinner, 1997
Cocoa Ice by Diana Karter AppelbaumHonor, 1997
Snowflake Bentley by Jacqueline Briggs MartinWinner, 1998
Painters of The Caves (National Geographic Society) by Patricia LauberHonor, 1998
Seal Island School by Susan BartlettWinner, 1999
The Hermit Thrush Sings by Susan ButlerHonor, 1999
Wild Child by Lynn PlourdeHonor, 1999
The Truth About Great White Sharks by Mary M. CerulloWinner, 2000
The Last Book in the Universe by Rodman PhilbrickHonor, 2000
Following Fake Man by Barbara Ware HolmesWinner, 2001
The Lobster War by Ethan HowlandHonor, 2001
Racing the Past by Sis DeansHonor, 2001
Turtle Splash!: Countdown at the Pond by Cathryn FalwellHonor, 2001
Becoming Joe DiMaggio by Maria TestaWinner, 2002
Bloody Jack: Being an Account of the Curious Adventures of Mary "Jacky" Faber, Ship's Boy by L. A. MeyerHonor, 2002
Just Ducky by Kathy MallatHonor, 2002
The Sea Chest by Toni BuzzeoHonor, 2002
The Water Gift and the Pig of the Pig (Bccb Blue Ribbon Picture Book Awards (Awards)) by Jacqueline Briggs MartinWinner, 2003
A Camping Spree With Mr. Magee by Chris Van DusenHonor, 2003
Swan Harbor by Laura RankinHonor, 2003
Timberrr!: A History Of Logging In New England by Mary Morton CowanHonor, 2003
The Race to Save the Lord God Bird by Phillip HooseWinner, 2004
Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary D. SchmidtHonor, 2004
A Kick in the Head: An Everyday Guide to Poetic Forms by Paul B. JaneczkoPicture Book Winner, 2005
Carmine: A Little More Red by Melissa SweetPicture Book Honor, 2005
Stained by Jennifer Richard JacobsonJuvenile/Young Adult Winner, 2005
Broken Song by Kathryn LaskyJuvenile/Young Adult Honor, 2005
For You Are a Kenyan Child by Kelly CunnanePicture Book Winner, 2006
Max's Words by Kate BanksPicture Book Honor, 2006
Kristin's wilderness : a braided trail by Garrett ConoverJuvenile/Young Adult Winner, 2006
Berenice Abbott, Photographer: An Independent Vision by George SullivanJuvenile/Young Adult Honor, 2006
Velma Gratch and the Way Cool Butterfly by Alan MadisonPicture Book Winner, 2007
Sky Sweeper by Phillis GershatorPicture Book Honor, 2007
Dragon's Egg by Sarah L. ThomsonJuvenile/Young Adult Winner, 2007
Rickshaw Girl by Mitali PerkinsJuvenile/Young Adult Honor, 2007
A River of Words: The Story of William Carlos Williams by Jen BryantPicture Book Winner, 2008
How Mama Brought the Spring by Fran ManushkinPicture Book Honor, 2008
The Mostly True Adventures Of Homer P. Figg by Rodman PhilbrickJuvenile/Young Adult Winner, 2008
Season of Ice by Diane Les BecquetsJuvenile/Young Adult Winner, 2008
Brett McCarthy: Work In Progress by Maria PadianJuvenile/Young Adult Honor, 2008
The Circus Ship Big Book (Candlewick Press Big Book) by Chris Van DusenPicture Book Winner, 2009
Bring in the pumpkins by Dahlov Zorach IpcarPicture Book Honor, 2009
Stitches: A Memoir by David SmallJuvenile/Young Adult Honor, 2009
Many Hands: A Penobscot Indian Story by Angeli PerrowPicture Book Winner, 2010
A Balloon for Isabel by Deborah UnderwoodPicture Book Honor, 2010
Touch Blue by Cynthia LordJuvenile/Young Adult Winner, 2010
Henry Aaron's Dream by Matt TavaresJuvenile/Young Adult Honor, 2010
Balloons over Broadway: The True Story of the Puppeteer of Macy's Parade by Melissa SweetPicture Book Winner, 2011
Sammy in the Sky by Barbara WalshPicture Book Honor, 2011
Small as an Elephant by Jennifer Richard JacobsonJuvenile/Young Adult Winner, 2011
Lost Trail: Nine Days Alone in the Wilderness by Donn FendlerJuvenile/Young Adult Honor, 2011
Helen's Big World: The Life of Helen Keller by Doreen RappaportPicture Book Winner, 2012
Eggs 1, 2, 3: Who Will the Babies Be? by Janet HalfmannPicture Book Honor, 2012
The Good Braider by Terry FarishJuvenile/Young Adult Winner, 2012
The Truth about Dangerous Sea Creatures by Mary M. CerulloJuvenile/Young Adult Honor, 2012
Secret Pool (Tilbury House Nature Book) by Kimberly RidleyPicture Book Winner, 2013
Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers' Strike of 1909 by Michelle MarkelPicture Book Honor, 2013
Out of Nowhere by Maria PadianJuvenile/Young Adult Winner, 2013
The Water Castle by Megan Frazer BlakemoreJuvenile/Young Adult Honor, 2013
The Right Word: Roget and His Thesaurus by Jen BryantPicture Book Winner, 2014
Jubilee!: One Man's Big, Bold, and Very, Very Loud Celebration of Peace by Alicia PotterPicture Book Honor, 2014
Zane and the Hurricane: A Story of Katrina by Rodman PhilbrickJuvenile/Young Adult Winner, 2014
Half a Chance by Cynthia LordJuvenile/Young Adult Honor, 2014

Related tags


Award description


Lupine Award History

Since 1989 the Lupine Award has been presented annually by the Youth Services Section Interest Group of the Maine Library Association. In 1993 the committee was given the option of choosing honor books and the following year the Lupine Seal was created. In 2005 at the annual meeting of YSS, it was decided to split the award into two categories; Picture Book and Juvenile/Young Adult. One winner and one honor may be chosen in each category. The Lupine Award is designed to honor a living author or illustrator who is a resident of Maine, or who has created a work whose focus is Maine, as shown through the work’s characterization, plot or setting. An author or illustrator is considered a resident if he or she was born in this state or currently resides in Maine for all or part of the year. Miss Rumphius by Barbara Cooney, the beloved Maine author and artist was the inspiration for the Lupine Award. It is the story of great-aunt Alice Rumphius who as a little girl loved the sea, longed to visit faraway places and wished to do something to make the world more beautiful.


Related book awards

Related publisher series


davidgn (308), inge87 (8), innermurk (4), SJaneDoe (3), gilroy (2), bergs47 (1), zmeischa (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,714,881 books! | Top bar: Always visible