This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: National Academies Communication Awards Winner

Book awards by cover

Works (17)

Eye of the Albatross: Visions of Hope and Survival by Carl Safina2003
Nature via Nurture: Genes, Experience and What Makes Us Human by Matt Ridley2004
The Great Influenza: The Story of the Deadliest Pandemic in History by John M. Barry2005
1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus by Charles C. Mann2006
In Search of Memory: The Emergence of a New Science of Mind by Eric R. Kandel2007
Einstein: His Life and Universe by Walter Isaacson2008
Your Inner Fish: A Journey into the 3.5-Billion-Year History of the Human Body by Neil Shubin2009
The Age of Wonder: How the Romantic Generation Discovered the Beauty and Terror of Science by Richard Holmes2010
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot2011
Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman2012
The Forest Unseen: A Year's Watch in Nature by David George Haskell2013
Toms River: A Story of Science and Salvation by Dan Fagin2014
Stuff Matters: Exploring the Marvelous Materials That Shape Our Man-Made World by Mark Miodownik2015
The Narrow Edge: A Tiny Bird, an Ancient Crab, and an Epic Journey by Deborah Cramer2016
Hidden Figures: The American Dream and the Untold Story of the Black Women Mathematicians Who Helped Win the Space Race by Margot Lee Shetterly2017
The Death and Life of the Great Lakes by Dan Egan2018
She Has Her Mother's Laugh: The Powers, Perversions, and Potential of Heredity by Carl Zimmer2019

Award description

An annual prize bestowed in recognition of creative works that help the public understand topics in science, engineering or medicine. The awards were established in 2003 and are administered by the Keck Futures Initiative, a project of the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering and the Institute of Medicine that is funded by the W.M. Keck Foundation. A $20,000 prize is awarded in each of four categories: Book, Film/Radio/TV, Magazine/Newspaper, and Online. The Online category was created in 2009.


Related book awards

Related people/characters


bergs47 (19), jburlinson (1), JonHutchings (1), surly (1), homeless (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 150,678,641 books! | Top bar: Always visible