This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Olive Schreiner Prize Prose

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 18 ( next | show all )

Works (18)

20 days that autumn: 21st March-9th April, 1960, a novel by Anna M. Louw1964
The Castaways by Sheila Fugard1973
Outside life's feast: Short stories by Sheila Roberts1976
Hajji and Other Stories by Ahmed Essop1979
Another Year in Africa by Rose Zwi1982
A State of Fear by Menan Du Plessis1985
The Arrowing of the Cane by John Conyngham1988
Missing Persons (Africasouth Paperbacks) by Ivan Vladislavić1991
Ways of Dying by Zakes Mda1997
Country of My Skull: Guilt, Sorrow, and the Limits of Forgiveness in the New South Africa by Antjie Krog2000
Bandiet: Seven Years in a South African Prison by Hugh Lewin2003
Garden of the Plagues by Russel Brownlee2006
Of Wild Dogs (Fiction Africa) by Jane Taylor2006
This Carting Life by Rustum Kozainpoetry, 2007
For the Sake of Silence by Michael Cawood Green2009
Notes from the Dementia Ward by Finuala Dowling2010
Bird of Heaven: The Story of a Swazi Sangoma by Peter Dunseith2013
The Thunder That Roars by Imran Garda2015

Award description

Olive Schreiner Prize is awarded annually in one of the following categories: Poetry, Drama or Prose, as encouragement for work of great promise in these genres. It is awarded for original literary work in English written by a citizen of a Southern African country and published in Southern Africa.


Related series

Related people/characters

Related places


bergs47 (21), davidgn (3), zmeischa (2), rsterling (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 130,719,212 books! | Top bar: Always visible