This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Peter Seaborg Award for Civil War Scholarship

Book awards by cover

1–8 of 23 ( next | show all )

Works (23)

War at Every Door: Partisan Politics and Guerrilla Violence in East Tennessee, 1860-1869 by Noel C. Fisherwinner, 1997
Confederate Tide Rising: Robert E. Lee and the Making of Southern Strategy, 1861-1862 by Joseph L. Harshwinner, 1998
Perryville : this grand havoc of battle by Kenneth W. Noewinner, 2002
Jesse James, Last Rebel of the Civil War by T. J. Stileswinner, 2003
Justice of Shattered Dreams: Samuel Freeman Miller and the Supreme Court During the Civil War Era (Conflicting Worlds: New Dimensions of the American Civil War) by Michael A. Rosswinner, 2004
After the Glory: The Struggles of Black Civil War Veterans by Donald R. Shafferwinner, 2005
Reforging the White Republic: Race, Religion, And American Nationalism, 1865-1898 by Edward J. Blumwinner, 2006
Confederate Emancipation: Southern Plans to Free and Arm Slaves during the Civil War by Bruce Levinewinner, 2007
Civil War Petersburg by A. Wilson Greenefinalist, 2007
Color-Blind Justice: Albion Tourgee and the Quest for Racial Equality from the Civil War to Plessy v. Ferguson by Mark Elliottfinalist, 2007
John M. Schofield and the Politics of Generalship by Donald B. Connellyfinalist, 2007
No Party Now by Adam I. P. Smithfinalist, 2007
Uncle Tom's Cabin as Visual Culture by Jo-Ann Morganwinner, 2008
Beleaguered Winchester by Richard R. Duncanfinalist, 2008
Diehard Rebels by Jason Phillipsfinalist, 2008
Secessionists Triumphant, 1854-1861 by William W. Freehlingfinalist, 2008
Shenandoah Summer by Scott C. Patchanfinalist, 2008
Capitol Men: The Epic Story of Reconstruction Through the Lives of the First BlackCongressmen by Philip Draywinner, 2009
Awaiting the Heavenly Country: The Civil War and America's Culture of Death by Mark S. Schantzfinalist, 2009
Gustavus Vasa Fox of the Union Navy: A Biography by Ari Hoogenboomfinalist, 2009
The Rifle Musket in Civil War Combat: Reality and Myth by Earl J. Hessfinalist, 2009
Shenandoah 1862: Stonewall Jackson's Valley Campaign by Peter Cozzensfinalist, 2009
John Brown's War Against Slavery by Robert E. McGlone2012

Related tags


  1. The Battle of the Wilderness May 5-6, 1864 by Gordon C. Rhea (1994)
  2. Taken at the Flood: Robert E. Lee and Confederate Strategy in the Maryland Campaign of 1862 by Joseph L. Harsh (1999)
  3. In the Trenches at Petersburg: Field Fortifications and Confederate Defeat by Earl J. Hess (2009)
  4. The Fredericksburg Campaign: Winter War on the Rappahannock by Francis Augustin O'Reilly (2003)
  5. The Shenandoah Valley Campaign of 1862 by Gary W. Gallagher (2003)
  6. From Winchester to Cedar Creek: The Shenandoah Campaign of 1864 by Jeffry D. Wert (1987)
  7. Lincoln's Emancipation Proclamation: The End of Slavery in America by Allen C. Guelzo (2004)
  8. General Lee's Army: From Victory to Collapse by Joseph Glatthaar (2008)
  9. Army of the heartland : The Army of Tennessee, 1861-1862 by Thomas Lawrence Connelly (1967)
  10. Lee and His Generals in War and Memory by Gary W. Gallagher (1998)
  11. Return to Bull Run: The Campaign and Battle of Second Manassas by John J. Hennessy (1993)
  12. The South Vs. The South: How Anti-Confederate Southerners Shaped the Course of the Civil War by William W. Freehling (2001)
  13. Decision in the West: The Atlanta Campaign of 1864 by Albert E. Castel (1992)
  14. Gray Ghosts of the Confederacy: Guerrilla Warfare in the West, 1861-1865 by Richard S. Brownlee (1958)
  15. Race and Reunion: The Civil War in American Memory by David W. Blight (2001)

Award description

Awarded by the George Tyler Moore Center for the Study of the Civil War at Shepherd University
The Peter Seaborg Award is an annual prize which recognizes an outstanding nonfiction book that advances knowledge about the Civil War era of American history. Preference is given to first-time authors. Collections of essays, edited memoirs, journals, or collections of letters are not eligible. Entries are judged on originality of approach or subject, effectiveness of presentation, historical accuracy, and degree of contribution to the field of knowledge. The author of the chosen book receives a $5000 prize.

Originally awarded by the United States Civil War Center (LSU) in 1997 and 1998. Resumed in 2002 under the George Tyler Moore Center
Award website


Related people/characters


alibrarian (23), Bretzky1 (7), walbat (2), bergs47 (1), stephmo (1), KCGordon (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 126,502,985 books! | Top bar: Always visible