Book awards: Premio Aztlán Literary Prize

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 13 ( next | show all )

Works (13)

The Mystery of Survival: And Other Stories by Alicia Gaspar de Alba1993
Face of an Angel by Denise Chávez1994
Canícula: Snapshots of a Girlhood en la Frontera by Norma Elia Cantu1995
Centaur of the North: Stories by Wendell Mayo1996
House of Houses by Pat Mora1997
Giuseppe Rocco by Ronald L. Ruiz1998
The Last Tortilla & Other Stories by Sergio Troncoso1999
The Fifth Sun by Mary Helen Lagasse2004
Cottonwood Saints by Gene Guerin2005
Across a Hundred Mountains by Reyna Grande2006
twin time: or, how death befell me by Veronica Gonzalez2007
Ghosts of El Grullo by Patricia Santana2008
Sweet Nata: Growing Up in Rural New Mexico by Gloria Zamora2009

Related tags


Award description

The Premio Aztlán Literary Prize is a national literary award for emerging Chicana/o Chicano authors, founded in 1993 by Rudolfo and Patricia Anaya.[1] The award was originally sponsored by the University of New Mexico, but was moved in 2008 to the National Hispanic Cultural Center.

The award is limited to short-story collections and novels (but not children's or young-adult novels) published by a professional press during the previous calendar year. Moreover, the author must be living and must not have published more than two books. The winner receives $1,000 and presents a lecture at that year's National Latino Writers Conference.


Related people/characters

Related places


bergs47 (14), SergioTroncoso (5), gilroy (2), MadmaHord (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,609,986 books! | Top bar: Always visible