This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Premio Aztlán Literary Prize

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 13 ( next | show all )

Works (13)

The Mystery of Survival: And Other Stories by Alicia Gaspar de Alba1993
Face of an Angel by Denise Chávez1994
Canícula: Snapshots of a Girlhood en la Frontera by Norma Elia Cantu1995
Centaur of the North: Stories by Wendell Mayo1996
House of Houses by Pat Mora1997
Giuseppe Rocco by Ronald L. Ruiz1998
The Last Tortilla & Other Stories by Sergio Troncoso1999
The Fifth Sun by Mary Helen Lagasse2004
Cottonwood Saints by Gene Guerin2005
Across a Hundred Mountains by Reyna Grande2006
twin time: or, how death befell me by Veronica Gonzalez2007
Ghosts of El Grullo by Patricia Santana2008
Sweet Nata: Growing Up in Rural New Mexico by Gloria Zamora2009

Award description

The Premio Aztlán Literary Prize is a national literary award for emerging Chicana/o Chicano authors, founded in 1993 by Rudolfo and Patricia Anaya.[1] The award was originally sponsored by the University of New Mexico, but was moved in 2008 to the National Hispanic Cultural Center.

The award is limited to short-story collections and novels (but not children's or young-adult novels) published by a professional press during the previous calendar year. Moreover, the author must be living and must not have published more than two books. The winner receives $1,000 and presents a lecture at that year's National Latino Writers Conference.


Related people/characters

Related places


bergs47 (14), SergioTroncoso (5), gilroy (2), ablachly (1), MadmaHord (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 134,773,247 books! | Top bar: Always visible