Book awards: Prix Albert Londres

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 15 ( next | show all )

Works (15)

J'étais un correspondant de guerre by Marcel Picard1946
[Débarquement à Haïphong] by Blanchet André1947
Russie de Staline by Dominique Pado1947
En vol : journal d'une hôtesse de l'air by Alix d' Unienville1950
Retour de Corée: récits de quatre correspondants de guerre français sur le front de Corée... Cartes... by Serge Bromberger1951
Envoyé spécial dans la cage aux fauves by Armand Gatti1954
Tempête sur le Congo by Marcel Niedergang1961
La revolution sensuelle by Victor Franco1963
Quand le vent souffle en Angola: ou le dialogue pathétique du Portugal et de l'Afrique by José Hanu1964
Israël attaque (5 juin 1967) by Yves Cuau1968
Le Japon : monstre ou modèle? by Jean François Delassus1971
Cambodge : la révolution de la forêt by François Debré1977
Le bonheur d'être Français by Christine Clerc1982
La ligne de front by Jean Rolin1989
Chienne de Guerre: A Woman Reporter Behind the Lines of the War in Chechnya by Anne Nivat2000

Related tags


Award description

The Albert Londres Prize is the highest French journalism award, named in honor of journalist Albert Londres. Created in 1932, it was first awarded in 1933 and is considered the French equivalent of the Pulitzer Prize. However, unlike its American counterpart, it is only awarded to two laureates each year. The main prize goes to the year's "best reporter in the written press". Since 1985, a second prize is also been awarded to the "best audiovisual reporter".

On the death of Albert Londres, on 16 May 1932, his daughter, Florise Martinet-London, decided to create an award in his memory. From 1933, the Albert Londres prize is awarded every year on May 16, to a young journalist under the age of forty.

Florise Martinet-London died in 1975. The Albert Londres Prize is administered by the Association of Albert Londres Prize, comprising the various winners. Chaired for 21 years by Henri Amouroux, it is chaired since May 2006 by Josette Alia. The prize is awarded by a jury of 19 journalists and winners of the previous year. In 1985, under the influence of Henri de Turenne, also a director, a prize was created for the audiovisual documentary. Since then, the association has been administered by the Civil Society of Multimedia Authors (SCAM), a grouping of authors of documentaries.


Related publisher series


davidgn (31)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,703,997 books! | Top bar: Always visible