Book awards: Richard W. Leopold Prize

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 17 ( next | show all )

Works (17)

A Patron for Pure Science by J. Merton England1984
History of the Office of the Secretary of Defense, Vol. 1: The Formative Years, 1947-1950 by Steven L. Rearden1986
The United States and Italy, 1940-1950: The Politics and Diplomacy of Stabilization by James Edward Miller1988
A History of the United States Atomic Energy Commission, Vol. 3: Atoms for Peace and War, 1953-1961 by Richard G. Hewlett1990
Press Gallery by Donald A. Ritchie1992
The Origins of SDI, 1944-1983 by Donald R. Baucom1994
Elements of Controversy: The Atomic Energy Commission and Radiation Safety in Nuclear Weapons Testing, 1947-1974 by Barton C. Hacker1996
To see the unseen : a history of planetary radar astronomy by Andrew J. Butrica1998
Reporting Vietnam: Media and Military at War by William M. Hammond2000
An Ocean in Common: American Naval Officers, Scientists, and the Ocean Environment by Gary E. Weirco-winner, 2002
Spies and Commandos: How America Lost the Secret War in North Vietnam by Kenneth Conboy and Dale Andradeco-winner, 2002
American Soldiers: Ground Combat in the World Wars, Korea, and Vietnam by Peter S. Kindsvatter2004
Breaking the Color Barrier: The U.S. Naval Academy's First Black Midshipmen and the Struggle for Racial Equality by Robert J. Jr. Schneller2006
Von Braun: Dreamer of Space, Engineer of War by Michael J. Neufeld2008
The Road to Yucca Mountain: The Development of Radioactive Waste Policy in the United States by J. Samuel Walker2010
Freedom by the Sword: The U.S. Colored Troops, 1862-1867 (CMH Publication 30-24-1) by William A. Dobak2012
The Wars for Asia, 1911-1949 by S. C. M. Paine2014

Related tags


Award description

The Richard W. Leopold Prize was designed to improve contacts and interrelationships within the historical profession where an increasing number of history-trained scholars hold distinguished positions in governmental agencies. This prize recognizes the significant historical work being done by historians outside academe. The Leopold Prize is given by the Organization of American Historians every two years for the best book on foreign policy, military affairs, the historical activities of the federal government or biography by a government historian. These subjects cover the concerns and the historical fields of activity of the late Professor Leopold, who was President of the Organization of American Historians 1976-1977.

The winner must have been employed in a government position for at least five years. If the author has accepted an academic position, the book must have been published within two years from the time of the change.


Related people/characters


Bretzky1 (16), hoolyaa (2), bergs47 (2), surly (1), zmeischa (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,620,075 books! | Top bar: Always visible