Book awards: Robert Livingston Schuyler Prize

Book awards by cover

1–7 of 9 ( next | show all )

Works (9)

Britain's Post Office; a history of development from the beginnings to the present day by Howard Robinson1951
King James VI and I by David Harris Willson1956
The Image of Africa by Philip D. Curtin1966
Edward VI, the Threshold of Power by W. K. Jordan1971
Edward VI, the Young King by W. K. Jordan1971
Macaulay, the Shaping of the Historian by John Leonard Clive1976
English Culture and the Decline of the Industrial Spirit, 1850-1980 by Martin J. Wiener1981
The Rise and Fall of the Political Press in Britain by Stephen E. Koss1986
Class Formation and Urban-Industrial Society by Theodore Koditschek1991

Related tags


Award description

Awarded by the American Historical Association (1951-1991) A quinquennial prize established by the Taraknath Das Foundation (Columbia U.), the Schuyler Prize recognized the best published work in the field of modern British, British imperial, or British Commonwealth history written by a citizen of the United States. The prize is named in honor of Robert Livingston Schuyler (d. 1966), president of the Association in 1951, a historian of British legal history at Columbia U. and a life member of the AHA. The Schuyler Prize was superseded by the Robert Livingston Schuyler Prize website
Award in 1971 given to two works by W.K. Jordan



alibrarian (9), casaloma (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,452,730 books! | Top bar: Always visible