Book awards: Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books

Book awards by cover

1–6 of 6 ( show all )

Works (6)

The wave watcher's companion by Gavin Pretor-PinneyGeneral, 2011
The Information: A History, a Theory, a Flood by James GleickGeneral, 2012
Stuff Matters: Exploring the Marvelous Materials That Shape Our Man-Made World by Mark Miodownik2014
Adventures in the Anthropocene: A Journey to the Heart of the Planet we Made by Gaia Vince2015
The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt's New World by Andrea WulfGeneral, 2016
Testosterone Rex: Myths of Sex, Science, and Society by Cordelia Fine2017

Related tags


Award description

The Royal Society gives an annual prize for new popular science writing for a general adult readership. The prize is open to science books written for a non-specialist audience. The winner receives £25,000 and the authors of the short listed books £2,500.

The name of the prize has changed over the years:
1988-1989: Science Book Prize
1990-2000: Rhône-Poulenc Prize for Science Books
2001-2006: Aventis Prize for Science Books
2007-2010: Royal Society Prize for Science Books
2011-date: Royal Society Winton Prize for Science Books

More details of the prize are available at longlist and the shortlist.


Related publisher series


Cynfelyn (12), zmeischa (8), souloftherose (2), bergs47 (2), gilroy (1), inge87 (1), peterbrown (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,443,873 books! | Top bar: Always visible