Book awards: Theatre Book Prize

Book awards by cover

1–8 of 17 ( next | show all )

Works (17)

Peggy: The Life of Margaret Ramsay, Play Agent by Colin Chambers1997
Threads of Time: Recollections by Peter Brook1998
Garrick by Ian McIntyre1999
Politics, Prudery and Perversions: The Censoring of the English Stage 1901-1968 by Nicholas De Jongh2000
Reflecting the Audience: London Theatregoing, 1840-1880 (Studies in Theatre, History & Culture) (Studies in Theatre History and Culture) by Jim Davis2001
A History of Irish Theatre 1601-2000 by Christopher Morash2002
National Service: Diary of a Decade by Richard Eyre2003
Margot Fonteyn: A Life by Meredith Daneman2004
1599: A Year in the Life of William Shakespeare by James Shapiro2005
John Osborne: A Patriot for Us by John Heilpern2006
State of the Nation by Michael Billington2007
Theatre and Globalization: Irish Drama in the Celtic Tiger Era by Patrick Lonergan2008
Different Drummer: The Life of Kenneth MacMillan by Jann Parry2009
The reluctant escapologist : adventures in alternative theatre by Mike Bradwell2010
Covering McKellen : an understudy's tale. by David Weston2011
Mr Foote's Other Leg: Comedy, tragedy and murder in Georgian London by Ian Kelly2012
The National Theatre Story by Daniel Rosenthal2013

Related tags


Award description

To mark the occasion of its Golden Jubilee in 1998 the Society decided to sponsor an annual Theatre Book Prize, with the first award being made in 1998 to a book published during the calendar year 1997.

Eligibility is confined to books, in English, of original research into any aspect of the history and technique of the British theatre, but not restricted only to authors of British nationality nor to books solely from British publishers.


Related events


jburlinson (13), bergs47 (6), zmeischa (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,723,133 books! | Top bar: Always visible