This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism

Book awards by cover

1–8 of 21 ( next | show all )

Works (21)

The Given and the Made: Strategies of Poetic Redefinition by Helen Vendler1996
Paul Celan: poet, survivor, Jew by John Felstiner1997
Revenge Tragedy: Aeschylus to Armageddon by John Kerrigan1998
Romantic Poets, Critics, and Other Madmen by Charles Rosen1999
Dreaming By the Book by Elaine Scarry2000
Still the New World: American Literature in a Culture of Creative Destruction by Philip Fisher2000
Proust Among the Stars by Malcolm Bowie2001
Irish Classics (Convergences: Inventories of the Present) by Declan Kiberd2002
Finders Keepers: Selected Prose, 1971-2001 by Seamus Heaney2003
Poetry and the Fate of the Senses by Susan Stewart2004
A New Theory for American Poetry: Democracy, the Environment, and the Future of Imagination by Angus Fletcher2005
The Geoffrey Hartman reader by Geoffrey H. Hartman2006
A Temple of Texts by William H. Gass2007
The long life by Helen Small2008
Collected critical writings by Geoffrey Hill2009
Children's Literature: A Reader's History from Aesop to Harry Potter by Seth Lerer2010
The Program Era: Postwar Fiction and the Rise of Creative Writing by Mark McGurl2011
A Jury of Her Peers: American Women Writers from Anne Bradstreet to Annie Proulx by Elaine Showalter2012
Stranger Magic: charmed states and The Arabian Nights by Marina Warner2013
The Antinomies Of Realism by Fredric Jameson2014
The Immortal Evening: A Legendary Dinner with Keats, Wordsworth, and Lamb by Stanley Plumly2015

Related tags


Award description

The Truman Capote Award for Literary Criticism is awarded for literary criticism by the University of Iowa on behalf of the estate of Truman Capote. The value of the award is $30,000 (USD).

The $30,000 award—the largest annual cash prize in English-language literary criticism—is administered for the Truman Capote Estate by the University of Iowa Writers' Workshop.

The Truman Capote Estate announced the establishment of the Truman Capote Literary Trust in 1994, during a breakfast at Tiffany's in New York City, on the 40th anniversary of the publication of Capote’s novella Breakfast at Tiffany's. The establishment of the Trust was stipulated in the author's will and the annual award reflects Capote's frequently expressed concern for the health of literary criticism in the English language. The awards are designed to reward and encourage excellence in the field.

Newton Arvin, in whose memory the award was established, was one of the critics Capote admired. However, Arvin's academic career at Smith College was destroyed in the late 1940s when his homosexuality was exposed.

The award-winning book is chosen by an international panel of prominent critics and writers—each of whom nominates two books. Books of general literary criticism in English, published during the last four years, are eligible for nomination. After reading all the nominated books, each critic ranks the nominees.



bergs47 (14), inge87 (4), davidgn (4), zmeischa (3), kristilabrie (1), TerenceHearsay (1), hipdeep (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 126,351,353 books! | Top bar: Always visible