This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Book awards: Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize

Book awards by cover

Works (30)

The Round Tower by Catherine Cookson1968
The Humming-Bird Tree by Ian McDonald1969
Fireflies by Shiva Naipaul1970
Last Cool Days by John Stewart1971
Articles of faith. by Ronald Harwood1973
I Didn't Know You Cared by Peter Tinniswood1973
The Pandora valley by Graham King1974
Black Faces, White Faces by Jane Gardam1975
Fire on the Mountain by Anita Desai1977
The Stone Arrow by Richard Herley1978
The long journey of Poppie Nongena by Elsa Joubert1980
A Pale View of Hills by Kazuo Ishiguro1982
Waterland by Graham Swift1983
Nation of Fools: Scenes from Indian Life by Balraj Khanna1984
The Bridge by Maggie Hemingway1986
The Blindfold Horse: Memories of a Persian Childhood by Shusha Guppy1988
Fludd by Hilary Mantel1989
Lives of the Saints by Nino Ricci1990
O Caledonia by Elspeth Barker1991
Ulverton by Adam Thorpe1992
The Lights Below by Carl MacDougall1993
Signals of Distress by Jim Crace1994
Archangel by Paul Watkins1995
A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry1996
Traplines by Eden Robinson1997
The Last King of Scotland by Giles Foden1998
Our fathers by Andrew O'Hagan1999
Kit's Law by Donna Morrissey2000
No Bones by Anna Burns2001
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood by Alexandra Fuller2002

Award description

Renamed the Ondaatje Prize.

The Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize is an annual literary award given by the Royal Society of Literature. The £10,000 award is given for a work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry which evokes the "spirit of a place", and which is written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.

The prize bears the name of Christopher Ondaatje. Prior to 2003, it was called the Winifred Holtby Memorial Prize.


Related book awards


Rivendell (28), zmeischa (17), bergs47 (16), stephmo (9), supersidvicious (8), Shortride (7), andyl (7), homeless (5), rsterling (5), gsides78 (4), norabelle414 (3), TheoClarke (3), davidgn (3), sjmccreary (3), jburlinson (3), SqueakyChu (2), timspalding (2), hahehei (2), SilentInAWay (2), avatiakh (1), Cecrow (1), lottpoet (1), antisyzygy (1), betsytacy (1), mmignano11 (1), JonHutchings (1), CKmtl (1), NinieB (1), auntmarge64 (1), Smiler69 (1), Imprinted (1), westher (1), Cynfelyn (1), kevinashley (1), Opinionated (1), Jordaan (1), whirled (1), Avron (1), christiguc (1), JMK2020 (1), Nuxbal (1), Margalioth (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 150,657,700 books! | Top bar: Always visible