Book awards: Young Lions Fiction Award

Book awards by cover

1–8 of 17 ( next | show all )

Works (17)

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski2001
John Henry Days by Colson Whitehead2002
Everything Is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer2003
The Shell Collector: Stories by Anthony Doerr2003
The Book of Salt by Monique Truong2004
The Confessions of Max Tivoli by Andrew Sean Greer2005
Beasts of No Nation by Uzodinma Iweala2006
The Dream Life of Sukhanov by Olga Grushin2007
God Is Dead by Jr. Ron Currie2008
The End by Salvatore Scibona2009
Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned by Wells Tower2010
The Instructions by Adam Levin2011
Swamplandia! by Karen Russell2012
Battleborn by Claire Vaye Watkins2013
Snow Hunters by Paul Yoon2014
The UnAmericans: Stories by Molly Antopol2015
Gutshot: Stories by Amelia Gray2016

Related tags

1001(85) 21st century(169) alligators(95) American(270) American literature(300) coming of age(84) contemporary(117) contemporary fiction(189) experimental(197) family(205) fantasy(193) favorites(92) fiction(3,980) Florida(174) historical fiction(141) Holocaust(374) horror(794) humor(122) Jewish(191) Judaism(121) literary fiction(124) literature(251) magical realism(179) metafiction(142) mystery(95) novel(577) own(175) postmodern(200) postmodernism(84) read(380) Roman(92) Russia(85) short stories(340) signed(129) to-read(1,623) Ukraine(370) unread(250) usa(126) war(128) wwii(272)


Award description

The New York Public Library Young Lions Fiction Award is a $10,000 prize awarded each spring to a writer age 35 or younger for a novel or a collection of short stories.

Established in 2001, this annual award recognizes the work of young authors and celebrates their accomplishments publicly, making a difference in their lives as they continue to build their careers. The Young Lions Fiction Award was founded by  Ethan Hawke, Jennifer Rudolph Walsh, Rick Moody, and Hannah McFarland. The Award is made possible by an endowment created with generous gifts from Russell Abrams, Nina Collins, Hannah and Gavin McFarland, Ethan Hawke, Stephan Loewentheil, Rick Moody, Andrea Olshan and Jennifer Rudolph Walsh.

Each year five young fiction writers are selected as finalists by a reading committee of Young Lions members, writers, editors, and librarians. A panel of award judges selects the winner of the $10,000 prize.




Related book awards


zmeischa (28), bergs47 (23), Shortride (14), davidgn (8), stephmo (8), gsides78 (7), homeless (4), boo-radley (3), Stbalbach (3), lottpoet (3), karenb (2), souloftherose (2), whirled (2), MadmaHord (1), kirkeet (1), DitisSuzanne (1), andyl (1), SJaneDoe (1), pale_fire (1), listreader (1), cavlibrary (1), sjmccreary (1)
About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 119,431,452 books! | Top bar: Always visible