HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Shannon's Read-Alikes List

Type: Preset list created by sturlington

Description: This is an effort to discover and read read-alikes for my favorite books by women authors.

Members: 8 participating members (show all)

All members' listSort: Score | Title | Author | Date
1
58,422 members, 1,171 reviews
4.39 stars (4.39 stars)
2
12,320 members, 190 reviews
4.11 stars (4.11 stars)

Explanations:

aulsmith (9): This is a little bit of a slog, especially the end. I'm start with Eight Cousins instead.

3
43,703 members, 723 reviews
4.23 stars (4.23 stars)
4
28,271 members, 395 reviews
4.13 stars (4.13 stars)
5
27,972 members, 388 reviews
4.08 stars (4.08 stars)
6
21,399 members, 376 reviews
3.97 stars (3.97 stars)
7
21,008 members, 417 reviews
4.23 stars (4.23 stars)

Explanations:

aulsmith (3): My favorite Austen

8
11,361 members, 216 reviews
3.86 stars (3.86 stars)
9
10,644 members, 257 reviews
4.06 stars (4.06 stars)
10
6,165 members, 287 reviews
4.11 stars (4.11 stars)
11
5,032 members, 265 reviews
3.96 stars (3.96 stars)
12
4,543 members, 204 reviews
4.18 stars (4.18 stars)
13
37,266 members, 541 reviews
3.91 stars (3.91 stars)

Lists: smcwl, sturlington, ahef1963

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): Hated it

sturlington (7): I'm glad I read it, but I didn't like it much.

14
34,069 members, 1,151 reviews
4.11 stars (4.11 stars)
15
28,887 members, 811 reviews
4.11 stars (4.11 stars)
16
27,533 members, 715 reviews
4.07 stars (4.07 stars)
17
23,742 members, 1,077 reviews
4.08 stars (4.08 stars)
18
16,678 members, 299 reviews
3.88 stars (3.88 stars)
19
16,059 members, 335 reviews
3.82 stars (3.82 stars)
20
14,593 members, 441 reviews
4.22 stars (4.22 stars)
21
14,575 members, 263 reviews
4.12 stars (4.12 stars)
22
13,587 members, 234 reviews
3.98 stars (3.98 stars)
23
13,512 members, 336 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)
24
13,383 members, 419 reviews
3.96 stars (3.96 stars)
25
10,838 members, 238 reviews
4.02 stars (4.02 stars)
26
10,707 members, 980 reviews
4.08 stars (4.08 stars)
27
7,597 members, 125 reviews
3.93 stars (3.93 stars)
28
7,146 members, 156 reviews
4.13 stars (4.13 stars)
29
6,891 members, 459 reviews
3.77 stars (3.77 stars)
30
6,045 members, 442 reviews
3.39 stars (3.39 stars)
31
4,450 members, 260 reviews
4.07 stars (4.07 stars)
32
4,435 members, 170 reviews
3.56 stars (3.56 stars)
33
2,430 members, 103 reviews
3.99 stars (3.99 stars)
34
2,228 members, 203 reviews
3.96 stars (3.96 stars)
35
1,858 members, 34 reviews
4.02 stars (4.02 stars)
36
1,777 members, 27 reviews
3.93 stars (3.93 stars)

Explanations:

sturlington (46): I have the feeling I've read most of these stories in other collections.

37
1,437 members, 50 reviews
3.88 stars (3.88 stars)
38
1,041 members, 10 reviews
3.81 stars (3.81 stars)
39
1,034 members, 34 reviews
4.04 stars (4.04 stars)
40
949 members, 18 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)

Explanations:

aulsmith (1): One of my favorites

41
726 members, 35 reviews
3.66 stars (3.66 stars)
42
648 members, 23 reviews
4 stars (4 stars)
43
59,660 members, 1,083 reviews
4.42 stars (4.42 stars)

Lists: sturlington, ahef1963

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): My least favorite Austen. Start with something else.

sturlington (1): This is my favorite Austen, and I think it or Emma would be a great intro. The others need some familiarity with Austen to truly appreciate.

44
5,954 members, 325 reviews
4.2 stars (4.2 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee, sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

45
4,991 members, 417 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)

Lists: dara85, KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

46
45,607 members, 3,128 reviews
4.35 stars (4.35 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): I liked this but it's young adult

47
14,155 members, 158 reviews
3.87 stars (3.87 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): I really didn't like the shifting points-of-view.

48
10,861 members, 171 reviews
4.08 stars (4.08 stars)

Lists: hipdeep

Thumbs down: sturlington

49
9,409 members, 546 reviews
3.98 stars (3.98 stars)

Lists: hipdeep

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Too long; maybe later

hipdeep (3): It is big, but I found it thoroughly gripping and fast-paced. Not as long a read as it looks (to me).

50
6,756 members, 138 reviews
4.12 stars (4.12 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

51
6,119 members, 388 reviews
4.03 stars (4.03 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

52
4,608 members, 190 reviews
4.02 stars (4.02 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): This is amusing, but I don't understand its reputation.

sturlington (10): Adored this book.

53
4,498 members, 283 reviews
4.33 stars (4.33 stars)

Lists: hipdeep

Thumbs down: sturlington

54
4,325 members, 133 reviews
3.93 stars (3.93 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): I don't like crime books like this. It's a good one in that genre category though

sturlington (17): Great book.

55
4,077 members, 110 reviews
3.95 stars (3.95 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

56
3,978 members, 131 reviews
3.74 stars (3.74 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read for now

57
3,519 members, 60 reviews
3.52 stars (3.52 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

58
3,288 members, 246 reviews
4.12 stars (4.12 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read right now.

59
1,988 members, 54 reviews
4.03 stars (4.03 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): This is in Lilith's brood

aulsmith (15): I didn't like the rest of the trilogy, but this one is great.

60
1,583 members, 17 reviews
3.89 stars (3.89 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): Really big slog. You have to be a real Le Guin fan to get through this one.

sturlington (22): I am a big le Guin fan!

61
961 members, 39 reviews
3.88 stars (3.88 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): I found this to be Darkover fanfic with the labels filed off.

sturlington (24): I enjoyed it.

62
765 members, 22 reviews
3.84 stars (3.84 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Not available at library; a bit too expensive to buy.

63
609 members, 43 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read for now.

aulsmith (22): If you're not interested in Plato's Republic, it's probably a slog.

64
581 members, 8 reviews
3.64 stars (3.64 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

aulsmith (6): I love Marsh. This one is the first one I read. Might want to start a little earlier in the series when Agatha Troy first shows up.

65
197 members, 2 reviews
3.63 stars (3.63 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

66
3,340 members, 105 reviews
3.8 stars (3.8 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

aulsmith (0): Vignettes of village life. I got tired and gave up. If you like this try Sarah Orne Jewett's Country of the Pointed Firs.

67
3,070 members, 93 reviews
3.16 stars (3.16 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, KimarieBee

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

68
1,940 members, 44 reviews
3.93 stars (3.93 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): Just kill yourself instead.

69
757 members, 19 reviews
3.93 stars (3.93 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): Badly written

70
280 members, 4 reviews
4.2 stars (4.2 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

All members' listSort: Score | Title | Author | Date

About this list

Started by: sturlington (November 2013)

Type: Unnumbered

Related tags

19th century (6,891) 20th century (3,277) American literature (3,232) British (4,529) British literature (4,177) classic (17,692) classics (15,269) dystopia (5,255) England (6,188) English literature (3,792) fantasy (8,797) fiction (83,578) historical fiction (6,872) literature (9,805) love (3,255) mystery (3,513) novel (12,754) own (4,120) read (10,521) romance (11,300) science fiction (20,305) time travel (4,219) to-read (21,856) unread (3,311) young adult (3,404)