HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist

Shannon's Read-Alikes List

Type: Preset list created by sturlington

Description: This is an effort to discover and read read-alikes for my favorite books. Voting is fine--and it helps me decide what to read next.

Members: 8 participating members (show all)

All members' listSort: Score | Title | Author | Date
1
55,185 members, 1,109 reviews
4.4 stars (4.4 stars)
2
41,250 members, 693 reviews
4.23 stars (4.23 stars)
3
26,719 members, 381 reviews
4.13 stars (4.13 stars)
4
26,465 members, 365 reviews
4.09 stars (4.09 stars)
5
20,363 members, 347 reviews
3.97 stars (3.97 stars)
6
19,862 members, 401 reviews
4.23 stars (4.23 stars)

Explanations:

aulsmith (3): My favorite Austen

7
10,991 members, 209 reviews
3.86 stars (3.86 stars)
8
9,850 members, 236 reviews
4.06 stars (4.06 stars)
9
5,827 members, 276 reviews
4.11 stars (4.11 stars)
10
4,377 members, 227 reviews
3.97 stars (3.97 stars)
11
32,963 members, 1,133 reviews
4.12 stars (4.12 stars)
12
26,442 members, 691 reviews
4.11 stars (4.11 stars)
13
23,059 members, 1,060 reviews
4.08 stars (4.08 stars)
14
15,697 members, 276 reviews
3.88 stars (3.88 stars)

Explanations:

sturlington (51): Not on Kindle; may read at some point.

15
15,164 members, 314 reviews
3.82 stars (3.82 stars)
16
13,706 members, 403 reviews
4.22 stars (4.22 stars)
17
12,989 members, 324 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)
18
12,701 members, 402 reviews
3.96 stars (3.96 stars)
19
11,431 members, 179 reviews
4.11 stars (4.11 stars)

Lists: smcwl, aulsmith, ahef1963

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Chose not to reread

aulsmith (9): This is a little bit of a slog, especially the end. I'm start with Eight Cousins instead.

20
9,541 members, 919 reviews
4.08 stars (4.08 stars)
21
7,236 members, 119 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)
22
6,619 members, 142 reviews
4.14 stars (4.14 stars)
23
6,299 members, 433 reviews
3.77 stars (3.77 stars)
24
5,712 members, 431 reviews
3.39 stars (3.39 stars)
25
4,240 members, 168 reviews
3.56 stars (3.56 stars)
26
3,726 members, 224 reviews
4.06 stars (4.06 stars)
27
2,335 members, 98 reviews
4 stars (4 stars)
28
2,066 members, 191 reviews
3.97 stars (3.97 stars)
29
1,749 members, 33 reviews
4.01 stars (4.01 stars)
30
1,391 members, 49 reviews
3.88 stars (3.88 stars)
31
982 members, 32 reviews
4.04 stars (4.04 stars)
32
873 members, 17 reviews
3.95 stars (3.95 stars)

Explanations:

aulsmith (1): One of my favorites

33
706 members, 21 reviews
4 stars (4 stars)
34
667 members, 29 reviews
3.64 stars (3.64 stars)
35
56,920 members, 1,034 reviews
4.42 stars (4.42 stars)

Lists: ahef1963, sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): My least favorite Austen. Start with something else.

sturlington (8): This is my favorite Austen, and I think it or Emma would be a great intro. The others need some familiarity with Austen to truly appreciate.

36
9,900 members, 231 reviews
4.02 stars (4.02 stars)
37
6,707 members, 149 reviews
3.69 stars (3.69 stars)
38
5,970 members, 113 reviews
3.83 stars (3.83 stars)
39
5,609 members, 311 reviews
4.2 stars (4.2 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee, sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

40
5,079 members, 433 reviews
4.02 stars (4.02 stars)
41
4,428 members, 331 reviews
3.89 stars (3.89 stars)
42
4,425 members, 395 reviews
4.1 stars (4.1 stars)
43
4,313 members, 384 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)

Lists: dara85, KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

44
3,257 members, 91 reviews
4.03 stars (4.03 stars)
45
2,776 members, 59 reviews
4.17 stars (4.17 stars)
46
2,283 members, 150 reviews
4.06 stars (4.06 stars)
47
1,148 members, 41 reviews
3.89 stars (3.89 stars)
48
466 members, 30 reviews
3.37 stars (3.37 stars)
49
352 members, 10 reviews
3.84 stars (3.84 stars)
50
42,721 members, 3,030 reviews
4.36 stars (4.36 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): I liked this but it's young adult

51
35,362 members, 517 reviews
3.91 stars (3.91 stars)

Lists: smcwl, ahef1963

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

sturlington (0): I'm glad I read it, but I didn't like it much.

aulsmith (0): Hated it

52
13,733 members, 242 reviews
4.12 stars (4.12 stars)

Lists: ahef1963

Thumbs down: sturlington

53
10,471 members, 227 reviews
4.03 stars (4.03 stars)

Lists: ahef1963

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Didn't care for it.

54
8,840 members, 527 reviews
3.98 stars (3.98 stars)

Lists: hipdeep

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Too long; maybe later

hipdeep (3): It is big, but I found it thoroughly gripping and fast-paced. Not as long a read as it looks (to me).

55
6,343 members, 127 reviews
4.12 stars (4.12 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

56
5,648 members, 375 reviews
4.04 stars (4.04 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

57
4,458 members, 180 reviews
4.02 stars (4.02 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): This is amusing, but I don't understand its reputation.

sturlington (2): Adored this book.

58
4,032 members, 123 reviews
3.93 stars (3.93 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): I don't like crime books like this. It's a good one in that genre category though

sturlington (21): Great book.

59
3,940 members, 107 reviews
3.95 stars (3.95 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

60
3,653 members, 119 reviews
3.75 stars (3.75 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read for now

61
3,388 members, 57 reviews
3.53 stars (3.53 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

62
2,398 members, 195 reviews
4.13 stars (4.13 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read right now.

63
1,800 members, 53 reviews
4.05 stars (4.05 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): This is in Lilith's brood

aulsmith (15): I didn't like the rest of the trilogy, but this one is great.

64
1,580 members, 24 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): I have the feeling I've read most of these stories in other collections.

65
1,461 members, 17 reviews
3.88 stars (3.88 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): Really big slog. You have to be a real Le Guin fan to get through this one.

sturlington (19): I am a big le Guin fan!

66
989 members, 10 reviews
3.82 stars (3.82 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Didn't finish reading

67
894 members, 37 reviews
3.87 stars (3.87 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): I found this to be Darkover fanfic with the labels filed off.

sturlington (6): I enjoyed it.

68
724 members, 20 reviews
3.84 stars (3.84 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Not available at library; a bit too expensive to buy.

69
552 members, 8 reviews
3.65 stars (3.65 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

aulsmith (6): I love Marsh. This one is the first one I read. Might want to start a little earlier in the series when Agatha Troy first shows up.

70
506 members, 37 reviews
3.97 stars (3.97 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read for now.

aulsmith (22): If you're not interested in Plato's Republic, it's probably a slog.

71
185 members, 2 reviews
3.61 stars (3.61 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

72
13,479 members, 147 reviews
3.87 stars (3.87 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to reread

aulsmith (0): I really didn't like the shifting points-of-view.

73
3,133 members, 100 reviews
3.8 stars (3.8 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

aulsmith (0): Vignettes of village life. I got tired and gave up. If you like this try Sarah Orne Jewett's Country of the Pointed Firs.

74
2,985 members, 90 reviews
3.17 stars (3.17 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, KimarieBee

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

75
1,841 members, 41 reviews
3.93 stars (3.93 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): Just kill yourself instead.

76
728 members, 19 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): Badly written

77
279 members, 4 reviews
4.2 stars (4.2 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

All members' listSort: Score | Title | Author | Date

About this list

Started by: sturlington (November 2013)

Type: Unnumbered

Related tags

19th century (6,957) 20th century (3,210) American literature (3,216) British (4,388) British literature (4,038) classic (17,164) classics (14,477) dystopia (5,509) England (6,097) English literature (3,671) fantasy (5,837) fiction (81,645) historical fiction (6,297) literature (9,607) love (3,109) mystery (3,346) novel (12,335) own (3,827) read (10,000) romance (11,111) science fiction (17,990) time travel (3,125) to-read (19,402) unread (3,321) women (3,095)