HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Shannon's Read-Alikes List

Type: Preset list created by sturlington

Description: This is an effort to discover and read read-alikes for my favorite books by women authors.

Members: 8 participating members (show all)

All members' listSort: Score | Title | Author | Date
1
59,607 members, 1,185 reviews
4.39 stars (4.39 stars)
2
12,788 members, 197 reviews
4.11 stars (4.11 stars)

Explanations:

aulsmith (9): This is a little bit of a slog, especially the end. I'm start with Eight Cousins instead.

3
44,555 members, 734 reviews
4.23 stars (4.23 stars)
4
28,786 members, 401 reviews
4.13 stars (4.13 stars)
5
28,490 members, 392 reviews
4.08 stars (4.08 stars)
6
21,806 members, 386 reviews
3.97 stars (3.97 stars)
7
21,495 members, 425 reviews
4.23 stars (4.23 stars)

Explanations:

aulsmith (3): My favorite Austen

8
11,551 members, 215 reviews
3.86 stars (3.86 stars)
9
10,963 members, 269 reviews
4.05 stars (4.05 stars)
10
6,251 members, 294 reviews
4.1 stars (4.1 stars)
11
5,322 members, 282 reviews
3.96 stars (3.96 stars)
12
4,640 members, 216 reviews
4.18 stars (4.18 stars)
13
37,935 members, 548 reviews
3.91 stars (3.91 stars)

Lists: smcwl, sturlington, ahef1963

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): Hated it

sturlington (7): I'm glad I read it, but I didn't like it much.

14
34,323 members, 1,154 reviews
4.11 stars (4.11 stars)
15
29,706 members, 837 reviews
4.11 stars (4.11 stars)
16
28,090 members, 730 reviews
4.07 stars (4.07 stars)
17
24,103 members, 1,093 reviews
4.07 stars (4.07 stars)
18
16,970 members, 308 reviews
3.88 stars (3.88 stars)
19
16,381 members, 338 reviews
3.82 stars (3.82 stars)
20
14,992 members, 453 reviews
4.22 stars (4.22 stars)
21
14,895 members, 266 reviews
4.13 stars (4.13 stars)
22
13,868 members, 242 reviews
3.98 stars (3.98 stars)
23
13,748 members, 336 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)
24
13,602 members, 428 reviews
3.96 stars (3.96 stars)
25
11,051 members, 994 reviews
4.08 stars (4.08 stars)
26
10,983 members, 241 reviews
4.02 stars (4.02 stars)
27
7,644 members, 127 reviews
3.93 stars (3.93 stars)
28
7,354 members, 164 reviews
4.13 stars (4.13 stars)
29
7,165 members, 468 reviews
3.77 stars (3.77 stars)
30
6,031 members, 442 reviews
3.39 stars (3.39 stars)
31
4,686 members, 280 reviews
4.08 stars (4.08 stars)
32
4,527 members, 173 reviews
3.56 stars (3.56 stars)
33
2,480 members, 103 reviews
3.99 stars (3.99 stars)
34
2,238 members, 208 reviews
3.96 stars (3.96 stars)
35
1,896 members, 36 reviews
4.01 stars (4.01 stars)
36
1,764 members, 26 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)

Explanations:

sturlington (46): I have the feeling I've read most of these stories in other collections.

37
1,463 members, 51 reviews
3.88 stars (3.88 stars)
38
1,044 members, 10 reviews
3.81 stars (3.81 stars)
39
1,042 members, 34 reviews
4.02 stars (4.02 stars)
40
955 members, 19 reviews
3.93 stars (3.93 stars)

Explanations:

aulsmith (1): One of my favorites

41
770 members, 38 reviews
3.66 stars (3.66 stars)
42
676 members, 23 reviews
4 stars (4 stars)
43
60,795 members, 1,092 reviews
4.42 stars (4.42 stars)

Lists: sturlington, ahef1963

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): My least favorite Austen. Start with something else.

sturlington (1): This is my favorite Austen, and I think it or Emma would be a great intro. The others need some familiarity with Austen to truly appreciate.

44
6,035 members, 330 reviews
4.2 stars (4.2 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee, sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

45
5,095 members, 431 reviews
3.93 stars (3.93 stars)

Lists: dara85, KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

46
46,719 members, 3,156 reviews
4.35 stars (4.35 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): I liked this but it's young adult

47
14,398 members, 158 reviews
3.87 stars (3.87 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): I really didn't like the shifting points-of-view.

48
11,052 members, 174 reviews
4.08 stars (4.08 stars)

Lists: hipdeep

Thumbs down: sturlington

49
9,640 members, 552 reviews
3.98 stars (3.98 stars)

Lists: hipdeep

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Too long; maybe later

hipdeep (3): It is big, but I found it thoroughly gripping and fast-paced. Not as long a read as it looks (to me).

50
6,883 members, 143 reviews
4.12 stars (4.12 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

51
6,201 members, 396 reviews
4.03 stars (4.03 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

52
4,689 members, 191 reviews
4.01 stars (4.01 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): This is amusing, but I don't understand its reputation.

sturlington (10): Adored this book.

53
4,620 members, 286 reviews
4.33 stars (4.33 stars)

Lists: hipdeep

Thumbs down: sturlington

54
4,411 members, 133 reviews
3.93 stars (3.93 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): I don't like crime books like this. It's a good one in that genre category though

sturlington (17): Great book.

55
4,161 members, 114 reviews
3.95 stars (3.95 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

56
4,062 members, 134 reviews
3.74 stars (3.74 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read for now

57
3,593 members, 257 reviews
4.11 stars (4.11 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read right now.

58
3,544 members, 59 reviews
3.52 stars (3.52 stars)

Lists: KimarieBee

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

59
2,050 members, 56 reviews
4.03 stars (4.03 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): This is in Lilith's brood

aulsmith (15): I didn't like the rest of the trilogy, but this one is great.

60
1,602 members, 17 reviews
3.89 stars (3.89 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): Really big slog. You have to be a real Le Guin fan to get through this one.

sturlington (22): I am a big le Guin fan!

61
960 members, 41 reviews
3.88 stars (3.88 stars)

Lists: sturlington

Thumbs down: aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): I found this to be Darkover fanfic with the labels filed off.

sturlington (24): I enjoyed it.

62
783 members, 22 reviews
3.84 stars (3.84 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Not available at library; a bit too expensive to buy.

63
635 members, 48 reviews
3.94 stars (3.94 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read for now.

aulsmith (22): If you're not interested in Plato's Republic, it's probably a slog.

64
589 members, 9 reviews
3.64 stars (3.64 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

aulsmith (6): I love Marsh. This one is the first one I read. Might want to start a little earlier in the series when Agatha Troy first shows up.

65
200 members, 2 reviews
3.59 stars (3.59 stars)

Lists: aulsmith

Thumbs down: sturlington

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

66
3,420 members, 106 reviews
3.8 stars (3.8 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

aulsmith (0): Vignettes of village life. I got tired and gave up. If you like this try Sarah Orne Jewett's Country of the Pointed Firs.

67
3,090 members, 95 reviews
3.17 stars (3.17 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, KimarieBee

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read

68
1,991 members, 46 reviews
3.9 stars (3.9 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): Just kill yourself instead.

69
770 members, 18 reviews
3.92 stars (3.92 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

aulsmith (0): Badly written

70
282 members, 4 reviews
4.2 stars (4.2 stars)

Thumbs down: sturlington, aulsmith

Explanations:

sturlington (0): Decided not to read.

All members' listSort: Score | Title | Author | Date

About this list

Started by: sturlington (November 2013)

Type: Unnumbered

Related tags

19th century (6,949) 20th century (3,311) American literature (3,304) British (4,535) British literature (4,252) classic (17,823) classics (15,475) dystopia (5,346) England (6,247) English literature (3,865) fantasy (8,939) fiction (84,287) historical fiction (6,998) literature (9,953) love (3,267) mystery (3,577) novel (12,991) own (4,138) read (10,703) romance (11,474) science fiction (20,643) time travel (4,255) to-read (23,141) unread (3,308) young adult (3,453)