HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist

Location: Charlotte, NC 28212, United States

Little Libraries

There are 3 "Little Libraries" within 25 miles.

Local venues

6000 Conference Dr, Charlotte, NC 28212
LibraryThing is collection-aware
Dynasty Bookstore (2.2 miles)
5471 Central Ave, Charlotte, NC 28212
1848 Galleria Blvd Ste B, Charlotte, NC 28270
1133 N Wendover Road, Charlotte, NC 28211
330 South Sharon Amity Rd, Charlotte, NC 28211
5935 Hickory Grove Road, Charlotte, NC 28215
LibraryThing is collection-aware
11100 Monroe Road, Matthews, NC 28105
2101 Carmel Road, Charlotte, NC 28226
230 Matthews Station St., Matthews, NC 28105
LibraryThing is collection-aware
Book Buyers (4.7 miles)
1306 The Plaza, Charlotte, NC
1957 East 7th Street, Charlotte, NC 28204
7015 Morrison Blvd, Charlotte, NC 28211
LibraryThing is collection-aware
1623 Central Ave, Charlotte, NC 28205
LibraryThing is collection-aware
1361 Queens Rd, Charlotte, NC 28207
LibraryThing is collection-aware
6840 Matthews - Mint Hill Rd, Mint Hill, NC 28227
LibraryThing is collection-aware
1900 Selwyn Ave, Charlotte, NC 28207
White Rabbit Books (5.3 miles)
920 Central Ave, Charlotte, NC 28204
1220 Elizabeth Avenue, Charlotte, NC 28204
5141 Sharon Road, Charlotte, NC 28210
1201 Elizabeth Ave., Charlotte, NC 28235
3117 Whiting Ave., Charlotte, NC 28205
2800 Campus Ridge Road, Matthews, NC 28105
Park Road Books (5.8 miles)
4139 Park Rd, Charlotte, NC 28209
Strapbooks Inc (5.9 miles)
1300 Old Pond Lane, Matthews, NC 28105
3327 Pineville-Matthews Rd, Charlotte, NC 28226

Local events

Jun
27
TLW Book Club
The Last Word, Monday, June 27 at 6:30pm
"Get in Trouble"
by Kelly Link

We will be reading literature, classics, non-fiction, graphic novels, and a smattering of science fiction. For more info / discussion visit:

Our Facebook Group
https://www.facebook.com/groups/thelastwordcharlotte/

Our Goodreads Group
https://www.goodreads.com/group/show/40527-the-last-word-book-club (thelastwordcharlotte)
… (more)
Jul
8
Kids Book Club: Ages 8-12*
The Last Word, Friday, July 8 at 11am
The ​Tiger Rising
by Kate DiCamillo​

Kids Book Club: Ages 8-12 (not strict on ages) will be our "intermediate" group and will meet on the 2nd Friday of each month from 11:00-12:00.

About the meetings:
Groups will meet to discuss their chosen book once a month and groups will be led by volunteer leaders from each age group. Volunteer leaders will lead the discussion and help the group select a new book for the next meeting. These groups will ideally be student-led (with help from us!), and it will be up to students to bring their own books. We have a cozy book club spot where kids can feel at home.

No matter whether kids have been able to read the selected book before the group meeting or not, ALL kids are welcome to come and be a part of the discussion and to help select the next book! (thelastwordcharlotte)
… (more)
Jul
9
Book Signing by Kristopher Triana
The Last Word, Saturday, July 9 at 2pm
The Ruin Season
by Kristopher Triana

​About the Book:

Jake Leonard has more than his share of trouble.

He’s close to forty now and still suffers from bipolar disorder and the painful memories of the psychotic episodes that derailed his life and sent him behind bars as a youth. He lives in the rural south where he spends his days breaking horses and his nights training dogs in solitude. His nineteen-year-old girlfriend, Nikki, is the daughter of the sheriff, and she’s just getting worse with drugs, alcohol and satanic metal, eventually leading into heroin and low-budget porn. When Jake reconnects with his ex-wife, things become even more complicated, and the limits of love and sanity get pushed to the breaking point.

The Ruin Season is a haunting tale of a mentally ill man struggling in a violent and heartless world. It is a story of unrequited love, rage, and bloody revenge. It moves forward in the style of gritty southern gothic novels, in the tradition of Larry Brown, Harry Crews, Daniel Woodrell, Cormac McCarthy and Flannery O’Conner. It shows both the tender and horrible sides of insanity as well as the seedy underbelly of the American, backwoods suburbs.

About the Author:

Kristopher Triana is the author of the short story collection Growing Dark, which Rue Morgue Magazine called “a must-read”. His new novel The Ruin Season debuts this June and his second novel Body Art comes out later this year. His work has appeared in countless magazines and anthologies including D.O.A.II, The Ghost Is the Machine and Selfies from the End of the World. Recently Publisher’s Weekly praised his short story Dead End, hailing it as one of the highlights of the Comet Press collection Year’s Best Hardcore Horror. Some of his work has also been translated into Russian. He works as a professional dog trainer and lives in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Pick up a copy here: http://perpetualpublishing.com/product/the-ruin-season/

Website: http://kristophertriana.com/ (thelastwordcharlotte)
… (more)
Jul
23
Book Signing by Erika Dawkins
The Last Word, Saturday, July 23 at 12pm
"​52 Weeks of Self Reflection" & "Let Your Greatest Struggles Provide Your Greatest Opportunities: The Confessions and Reflections of a Real Single Mom"
by Erika Dawkins

About the Books:

52 Weeks of Self Reflection

​This reflective journal will provide the inspiration you need to ignite self-reflection through writing. Each week you will be introduced to a new topic that you will either reflect on immediately or incorporate throughout your week, and reflect at the close of the week. No matter your goal, you will have a clear, refreshing reflection of self at the completion of your 52 weeks.

Let Your Greatest Struggles Provide Your Greatest Opportunities: The Confessions and Reflections of a Real Single Mom

Everyone has the ability to shape his or her personal growth. You do this by changing the way you think and look at life. Learning to let go of the negative things to chase after the things you want is substantial in seeing growth in your life. Your success and happiness are all dependent upon how determined you are to transform yourself. The author of Let Your Greatest Struggles Provide Your Greatest Opportunities will introduce you to her struggles and a method of reflection that will help you look at your struggles differently and find ways to avoid letting them shape who you become. This will help you take your struggles and use them as opportunities to become a stronger, positive and more successful person. Keep your pencil and pen handy because you will have the opportunity to reflect on your very own struggles to find your opportunities for growth.

About the Author:

Erika Dawkins is the author of Let Your Greatest Struggles Provide Your Greatest Opportunities: The Confessions and Reflections of a Real Single Mom and 52 Weeks of Self Reflection. Erika’s writing focuses on self-help and development, while encouraging readers to look within themselves to create the lives they want and need.

Erika currently lives in Columbia, SC. With a bachelor’s degree in journalism and a master’s degree in media communications, Erika began writing professionally in 2008 and later started her business, It’s Only Write Communications, in 2009. Through her business she helps individuals and businesses build and grow themselves with her teachings of effective business communication and content.

Erika recently decided to focus her writing on a more specific group, women and mothers! This new focus is what lead Erika to write her first book. This book explores her challenges of life, struggle after struggle, while encouraging you to use situations that challenge you to make you stronger. In her most recent book, launched June 2016, Erika introduced a guided self-reflection journal, 52 Weeks of Self Reflection, which provides a year worth of reflection prompts for readers to focus on and develop. (thelastwordcharlotte)
… (more)
Find venues
address or postal code
small | full page
Charlotte, NC 28212, United States
BookstoreLibraryFair/FestivalLittle LibrariesMultiple

Local Settings

Location: Charlotte, NC 28212, United States (edit)

Search radius: 25 miles

Show venues: Bookstore, Library, Fair/Festival

Get Readar

The venues and events in LibraryThing can also be found in the handy iPhone Application Readar.

» Get Readar

 
Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 106,792,950 books! | Top bar: Always visible