HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist

Location: Friday Harbor, WA 98250, United States

Little Libraries

There are no "Little Libraries" within 25 miles.

Local venues

155 Spring Street, Friday Harbor, WA 98250
Harbor Bookstore (0.1 miles)
100 Front Street, Friday Harbor, WA 98250
Serendipity Books (0.1 miles)
223 A St., Friday Harbor, WA 98250
1010 Guard Street, Friday Harbor, WA 98250
1768 Blind Bay Rd, Shaw Island, WA 98286
Islehaven Books (4.8 miles)
210 Lopez Road, Lopez Island, WA 98261
2225 Fisherman Bay Road, Lopez Island, WA 98261
Westsound Books (7.1 miles)
1116 Deer Harbor Road, Eastsound, WA 98245
Island Bound Books (9.0 miles)
419 Quarry Lane, Eastsound, WA 98245
Darvill's Bookstore (12.3 miles)
296 Main Street, Eastsound, WA 98245
500 Rose Street, Eastsound, WA 98245
3840B Cadboro Bay Road, Victoria, BC V8N 4G2 Canada
UVic Bookstore (14.1 miles)
3800 Finnerty Road, Victoria, BC Canada
SUBtext (14.3 miles)
3800 Finnerty Road, Victoria, BC V8P 5C2 Canada
3100 Foul Bay Road, Victoria, BC V8P 5J2 Canada
3950 Cedar Hill Road, Victoria, BC V8P 3Z9 Canada
Tall Tales Books (15.3 miles)
2280 Cadboro Bay Road, Victoria, BC Canada
1442 Monterey Avenue, Victoria, BC V8S 4W1 Canada
Ivy's Book Shop (15.6 miles)
2188 Oak Bay Avenue, Victoria, BC V8R 1G3 Canada
#117-2187 Oak Bay Avenue, Victoria, BC V8R 1G1 Canada
2410 Lee Avenue, Victoria, BC V8R 6V5 Canada
Bolen Books (15.8 miles)
111-1644 Hillside Ave, Victoria, BC V8T 2C5 Canada
Curious Comics (15.9 miles)
Unit F - 1581 Hillside Avenue, Victoria, BC V8T 2C1 Canada
Belfry Theatre (16.7 miles)
1291 Gladstone Avenue, Victoria, BC V8T 1G5 Canada
4636 Elk Lake Drive, Victoria, BC V8Z 7K2 Canada

Local events

Sep
16
Lawrence Hill
Munro's Books, Wednesday, September 16 at 7:30pm
Wednesday, September 16th at 7:30 pm (doors at 7:00 pm), Free in store
The Illegal - Lawrence Hill
Like every boy on the mountainous island of Zantoroland, running is all Keita has ever wanted to do. In one of the poorest nations in the world, running means respect. Running means riches--until Keita is targeted for his father’s outspoken political views and discovers he must run for his family’s survival.
He signs on with notorious marathon agent Anton Hamm, but when Keita fails to place among the top finishers in his first race, he escapes into Freedom State--a wealthy island nation that has elected a government bent on deporting the refugees living within its borders in the community of AfricTown. Keita can stay safe only if he keeps moving and eludes Hamm and the officials who would deport him to his own country, where he would face almost certain death.
This is the new underground: a place where tens of thousands of people deemed to be “illegal” live below the radar of the police and government officials. As Keita trains in secret, eluding capture, the stakes keep getting higher. Soon, he is running not only for his life, but for his sister’s life, too.
From the bestselling author of The Book of Negroes comes a compelling story that casts a satirical eye on people who have turned their backs on undocumented refugees, and urges us to consider the plight of the unseen and the forgotten who live among us.

Call us to reserve your copy (starfishian)
… (more)
Sep
29
Arleen Pare
Munro's Books, Tuesday, September 29 at 7:30pm
Tuesday, September 29th at 7:30 pm (doors at 7:00 pm), Free in store
He Leaves His Face in the Funeral Car - Arleen Pare
Please join us as we launch the new book of poetry from Arleen Paré, the author of last year's Governor General’s Award-winning collection Lake of Two Mountains!
He Leaves His Face in the Funeral Car is elegiac, lyrical, ironic; a series of reflections, recollections; a collection about relationships-to family, clocks, water, trees, ungulates, endings-recognizing that not all relationships are straightforward: a mother's secret false teeth, a teakettle riddled with bullet holes, pears and small knives.
To leave a face in the funeral car is to fall out of time, to fall into history, to ponder the meanings of dust, the quiet records of suicide. This is poetry that covers a broad range, wide and changing, the strangeness of everyday life buoyed by the solace of language, the pleasure of song. Each word in its right place, each poem reflecting beyond surface meaning.
Call us to reserve your copy (starfishian)
… (more)
Sep
30
Margaret MacMillan
Munro's Books, Wednesday, September 30 at 7:30pm
The 2015 CBC Massey Lectures
Wednesday, September 30th at 7:00 pm, McPherson Playhouse, 3 Centennial Square
Tickets available at www.cbc.ca/masseys
History's People
In History's People, internationally acclaimed historian Margaret MacMillan gives her own personal selection of figures of the past, women and men, some famous and some little-known, who stand out for her. Some have changed the course of history and even directed the currents of their times. Others are memorable for being risk-takers, adventurers, or observers. She looks at the concept of leadership through Bismarck and the unification of Germany; William Lyon MacKenzie King and the preservation of the Canadian Federation; Franklin Delano Roosevelt and the bringing of a unified United States into the Second World War. She also notes how leaders can make huge and often destructive mistakes, as in the cases of Hitler, Stalin, and Thatcher. Richard Nixon and Samuel de Champlain are examples of daring risk-takers who stubbornly went their own ways, often in defiance of their own societies. Then there are the dreamers, explorers, and adventurers, individuals like Fanny Parkes and Elizabeth Simcoe who manage to defy or ignore the constraints of their own societies. Finally, there are the observers, such as Babur, the first Mughal emperor of India, and Victor Klemperer, a Holocaust survivor, who kept the notes and diaries that bring the past to life.
History’s People is about the important and complex relationship between biography and history, individuals and their times.
Call us to reserve your copy (starfishian)
… (more)
Event location: McPherson Playhouse, 3 Centennial Square, Victoria BC
Oct
17
Kenneth Oppel
Munro's Books, Saturday, October 17 at 7pm
Saturday, October 17th at 7:00 pm (doors at 6:30 pm), Free in store
The Nest - Kenneth Oppel’s most haunting story yet . . .
She was very blurry, not at all human looking. There were huge dark eyes, and a kind of mane made of light, and when she spoke, I couldn't see a mouth moving, but I felt her words, like a breeze against my face, and I understood her completely.
"We've come because of the baby," she said. "We've come to help."
In this beautiful, menacing novel, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman’s Coraline, an anxious boy becomes convinced that angels will save his sick baby brother. But these are creatures of a very different kind, and their plan for the baby has a twist. Layer by layer, he unravels the truth about his new friends as the time remaining to save his brother ticks down.
With evocative and disquieting illustrations by Caldecott Medal– and Governor General’s Award–winning artist Jon Klassen, The Nest is an unforgettable journey into one boy’s deepest insecurities and darkest fears.
Call us to reserve your copy (starfishian)
… (more)
Nov
8
Alexander McCall Smith
Munro's Books, Sunday, November 8 at 7:30pm
Sunday, November 8th at 7:30 pm at McPherson Playhouse, 3 Centennial Square
Tickets available at www.rmts.bc.ca, 250-386-6121 or the box office
The incomparable Alexander McCall Smith is coming back to Victoria! He's such a delight--you won't want to miss this evening!
Paul Mercs Concerts is pleased to present Alexander McCall Smith, the beloved bestselling author of The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency Series, 44 Scotland Street & The Sunday Philosophy Club Series. Alexander McCall Smith has written and contributed to more than 100 books, including specialist academic titles, short story collections, and a number of immensely popular children’s books. (starfishian)… (more)
Event location: McPherson Playhouse, 3 Centennial Square, Victoria BC
Find venues
address or postal code
small | full page
Friday Harbor, WA 98250, United States
BookstoreLibraryFair/FestivalLittle LibrariesMultiple

Local Settings

Location: Friday Harbor, WA 98250, United States (edit)

Search radius: 25 miles

Show venues: Bookstore, Library, Fair/Festival

Get Readar

The venues and events in LibraryThing can also be found in the handy iPhone Application Readar.

» Get Readar

 
Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 99,151,668 books! | Top bar: Always visible