This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Search 1Owlette's books

Random books from 1Owlette's library

Shogun: A Novel of Japan by James Clavell

Empire: What Ruling the World Did to the British by Jeremy Paxman

Mothers and Sons by Colm Toibin

Giving up the Ghost: A memoir by Hilary Mantel

The Painted Drum by Louise Erdrich

Waving at the Gardener: The Asham Award Short-Story Collection by Kate Pullinger

Lost Nation by Jeffrey Lent

Members with 1Owlette's books

Member gallery (7)

(see all 7 pictures)

RSS feeds

Recently-added books

1Owlette's reviews

Reviews of 1Owlette's books, not including 1Owlette's

Helper badges

Common KnowledgeHelperMember RecommendationsFiverTenner

 

Member: 1Owlette

CollectionsYour library (211), Non-Fiction (48), Currently reading (2), To read (22), Read but unowned (33), Reading Very Slowly (5), Favorites (10), On Long-Term Hold (16), Wishlist (32), Japan (3), Favourite Classics (3), Vampires (11), Writing (5), Children's Books (3), To Give Away (4), All collections (342)

Reviews12 reviews

TagsHistory (35), Murder (25), Short Stories (23), Holocaust (22), Journey (22), America (19), World War Two (18), Germany (18), Family (14), Vampires (11) — see all tags

MediaBook (342), Paper Book (334), Ebook (7)

Cloudstag cloud, author cloud, tag mirror

Recommendations44 recommendations

About me"The oldest books are only just out to those who have not read them" — Samuel Butler

Cat-sympathizer, reader and writer.

Interests include:the Second World War; the English Civil War; Gothic, especially vampire fiction; browsing second-hand bookstores and coming away with a bag of books that I wasn't going to get.




You're Les Miserables!

by Victor Hugo

One of the best known people in your community, you have become
something of a phenomenon. People have sung about you, danced in your honor, created all
manner of art in your name. And yet your story is one of failure and despair, with a few
brief exceptions. A hopeless romantic, you'll never stop hoping that more good will come
from your failings than is ever possible. Beware detectives and prison guards bearing
vendettas.


Take the Book Quiz
at the Blue Pyramid.

About my libraryThis library mostly represents my reading over 2009 to the present, though not everything.
My ratings system is personal and not systematic. It's mostly based on how much I liked a book and enjoyed reading it, but doesn't represent a review.

I try not to include any books that I really dislike, so although my ratings may sometimes look low, in context, three and a half stars is pretty high!

Pictures in my gallery are hanging on the walls of my virtual library -- though not necessarily all at the same time.

.resBarOuter {width:75%;height:15px;padding:0;margin:0;background:#eee;border:1px solid #000;text-align:left !important;position:relative;} .resBarInner {text-indent:-9999px;height:15px;background:#d02;font-size:6px;line-height:6px;margin:0;padding:0;position:relative;background-image:linear-gradient(bottom,rgb(221,0,33) 40%,rgb(255,60,86) 74%,rgb(221,0,33) 100%);background-image:-moz-linear-gradient(bottom,rgb(221,0,33) 40%,rgb(255,60,86) 74%,rgb(221,0,33) 100%);background-image:-webkit-linear-gradient(bottom,rgb(221,0,33) 40%,rgb(255,60,86) 74%,rgb(221,0,33) 100%);background-image:-ms-linear-gradient(bottom,rgb(221,0,33) 40%,rgb(255,60,86) 74%,rgb(221,0,33) 100%);} .resBarM {width:35%;float:right;margin-right: 10px;} .resRow {color:#000;background:#fff;clear:both;margin: 5px 0;}} What Kind of Reader Are You? Your Result: Dedicated Reader   You are always trying to find the time to get back to your book. You are convinced that the world would be a much better place if only everyone read more.  Obsessive-Compulsive Bookworm  Literate Good Citizen  Book Snob  Non-Reader  Fad Reader What Kind of Reader Are You?

My 5-Month Challenge:
http://www.librarything.com/topic/161428

December Challenge:
http://www.librarything.com/talktopic.php?topic=161478

Groups50 Book Challenge, A Quieter LibraryThing, Ancient China, Cats, books, life is good., Club Read 2011, Fairy Tales Retold, Fans of Joyce Carol Oates, Geeks who love the Classics, Girlybooks, Japanese Cultureshow all groups

Favorite authorsNadeem Aslam, Vicki Baum, Anton Chekhov, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Louise Erdrich, Ursula Hegi, Victor Hugo, Cormac McCarthy, Toni Morrison, Bruno Schulz, Leo Tolstoy, Edith Wharton (Shared favorites)

VenuesFavorites

Favorite bookstoresFoyles (old Charing Cross branch), Waterstone's Cambridge

Favorite librariesBritish Library, British Museum - Paul Hamlyn Library

MembershipER. LibraryThing Early Reviewers/Member Giveaway

LocationEngland

Account typepublic, lifetime

URLs /profile/1Owlette (profile)
/catalog/1Owlette (library)

Member sinceMar 9, 2009

Currently readingWorldly Goods: New History of the Renaissance by Lisa Jardine
The Industrial Revolutionaries: The Creation of the Modern World 1776-1914 by Gavin Weightman

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 134,916,637 books! | Top bar: Always visible