This site uses cookies to deliver our services, improve performance, for analytics, and (if not signed in) for advertising. By using LibraryThing you acknowledge that you have read and understand our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. Your use of the site and services is subject to these policies and terms.

Search freepressbooks's books

Organization: Publisher

freepressbooks is one of more than 5,000 organizations on LibraryThing.

Members with freepressbooks's books

RSS feeds

Recently-added books

freepressbooks's reviews

Reviews of freepressbooks's books, not including freepressbooks's

Helper badges



Member: freepressbooks

CollectionsYour library (50)



MediaBook (50), Paper Book (25), Audiobook (1), Ebook (24)

Cloudsauthor cloud, tag mirror

About meFree Press is one of six imprints that comprise the Adult Trade Division of Simon & Schuster, Inc. Led by Publisher Martha K. Levin and Editor-in-Chief Dominick V. Anfuso since 2001, Free Press publishes approximately 80 new titles per year and boasts a stellar list of bestselling and award-winning authors.

With a distinguished history that spans 65 years of publishing ground-breaking and influential books, Free Press publishes nonfiction and fiction for the general reader in hardcover, paperback, and ebook. The imprint has a well-deserved reputation for publishing thought leaders in a wide range of categories including politics and current affairs, biography and memoir, history, science, religion, business, and self help as well as fiction by some of today’s most cutting-edge writers.

Free Press titles generate news and win critical acclaim. The Denial of Death by Ernest Becker won the Pulitzer Prize for General Nonfiction in 1974. In 2003, Free Press published two of the five finalists for the nonfiction National Book Award, one of which, Waiting for Snow in Havana by Carlos Eire, won. Finalists for National Book Critics Circle awards include Ron Powers’s Mark Twain, James Tobin’s Ernie Pyle’s War, John D’Emilio’s Lost Prophet, Joshua Clark’s Heart Like Water. In 2012, Mira Bartók’s The Memory Palace was the National Book Critics Circle winner for autobiography. A first novel, The White Tiger by Aravind Adiga, won the 2008 Man Booker Prize, and the 2011 Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award winner was Brando Skyhorse for his novel The Madonnas of Echo Park. With more than 120 New York Times bestsellers in the last ten years, Free Press has demonstrated a consistent commitment to publishing the very best authors and books.

Free Press has always benefitted from the leadership and vision of its editors and publishers. Ultimately, however, it is the Free Press authors and their ideas that have allowed Free Press to continue publishing great works. Thinking strategically, anticipating change, questioning received wisdom, recognizing the relevance of the public intellectual—these are all lessons our authors have taught us.



Also onTwitter

Membership LibraryThing Early Reviewers/Member Giveaway

LocationNew York, NY

Favorite authorsNot set

Account typepublic, free

URLs /profile/freepressbooks (profile)
/catalog/freepressbooks (library)

Member sinceOct 12, 2012

About | Contact | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 128,022,083 books! | Top bar: Always visible