Search polutropos's books

Random books from polutropos's library

Through Black Spruce by Joseph Boyden

Earthly Possessions by Anne Tyler

Unreasonable Hours (Passport Books (Series).) by Julio Cortazar

The Testament by John Grisham

Saville by David Storey

Hope Was Here (r/i) by Joan Bauer

Members with polutropos's books

RSS feeds

Recently-added books

polutropos's reviews

Reviews of polutropos's books, not including polutropos's

Helper badges

Fiver

Site design selection

Use the new design

Use the old design

The old design is no longer fully supported nor does it get full attention when we roll out new features. We strongly recommend using the new design.

 

Member: polutropos

CollectionsYour library (1,213)

Reviews47 reviews

Tags1001 list (141), signed (82), literary criticism (74), Czech (56), Russia (46), thrillers (46), France (44), poetry (20), YA (20), mystery (10) — see all tags

MediaNot set (19), Book (1,194), Paper Book (1,080), Audiobook (7)

Cloudstag cloud, author cloud, tag mirror

About me“The purpose of art is the lifelong construction of a state of wonder.” Glenn Gould

--------------------------------------------------​
I am rarely here now, am writing as much as I possibly can. Did want one and all to know that one of my stories, "The Year of the Dog" was nominated for the Pushcart Prize. The link to the story is here http://www.thiszine.org/fiction/the-year-of-the-dog-stancek?utm_source=Contribut...

I'd be delighted to talk to anyone interested about my writing.

--------------------------------------------------​

Polutropos, my LT name, is the key characterization of Odysseus by Homer. Some of its meanings: the man of many journeys, of many turns of mind, of many turns of language, of many figures of speech, of many twists and turns. We see through this word Odysseus’s lies but also his wisdom, his wanderings and his resourcefulness.

About my libraryEclectic. In constant flux. Only a fraction currently on LT.

Groups1001 Books to read before you die, Audiobooks, Author Theme Reads, Book Nudgers, Club Read 2009, Club Read 2010, Club Read 2011, Crime, Thriller & Mystery, Fans of Joyce Carol Oates, Group Reads - Literatureshow all groups

Favorite authorsJane Austen, Albert Camus, Karel Čapek, Joseph Conrad, Fyodor Dostoevsky, Gustave Flaubert, E. M. Forster, Jaroslav Hašek, Homer, Alistair MacLeod, Cormac McCarthy, George Orwell, Annie Proulx, Salman Rushdie, J. D. Salinger, William Saroyan, Leo Tolstoy (Shared favorites)

VenuesFavorites

Favorite bookstoresBook City (Annex)

Membership LibraryThing Early Reviewers/Member Giveaway

Account typepublic, lifetime

URLs /profile/polutropos (profile)
/catalog/polutropos (library)

Member sinceMar 28, 2008

You are using the new servers! | About | Privacy/Terms | Help/FAQs | Blog | Store | APIs | TinyCat | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | Common Knowledge | 115,162,069 books! | Top bar: Always visible