HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist

Books & Company

1039 Summit Ave
Oconomowoc, WI 53066

United States

262-567-0106; infoBooksco.com

Type: Bookstore — Not set

Web site: http://www.booksco.com/

Events: http://www.booksco.com/event

Amenities: food/drink

Description: Hours (open seven days)

Directions

Member of the Midwest Booksellers Assoc.

Added by: karenb.  Contacted: Not contacted.  Venue ID: 15237

Members

Favorites: LauraBrook, jimgysin, Jooly, private

Visited: None

Comment wall

Upcoming events

May
26
KNITTERS NIGHT (Tuesday, May 26 at 7pm)
Knitters Night Open to the Community Tuesday, May 26, 2015 from 7:00 p.m- 8:00 p.m. Join a wonderful and lively group of knitters, spinners, and crocheters for an evening of knitting, chatting, and sharing ideas.

Location: Street: 1039 Summit Ave City: Oconomowoc, Province: Wisconsin Postal Code: 53066-4457 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
May
27
MYSTERY BOOK GROUP (Wednesday, May 27 at 7pm)
Mystery Book Group Open to the Community Wednesday, May 27, 2015 7:00-8:00 p.m. Books & Company Beth will be leading a discussion on The Cold Dish by Craig Johnson (June 24~ City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett) Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, in which New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson introduces Sheriff Walt Longmire of Wyoming’s Absaroka County. Johnson draws on his deep attachment to the American West to produce a literary mystery of stunning authenticity, and full of memorable characters. After twenty-five years as sheriff of Absaroka County, Walt Longmire’s hopes of finishing out his tenure in peace are dashed when Cody Pritchard is found dead near the Northern Cheyenne Reservation. Two years earlier, Cody has been one of four high school boys given suspended sentences for raping a local Cheyenne girl. Somebody, it would seem, is seeking vengeance, and Longmire might be the only thing standing between the three remaining boys and a Sharps .45-70 rifle. With lifelong friend Henry Standing Bear, Deputy Victoria Moretti, and a cast of characters both tragic and humorous enough to fill in the vast emptiness of the high plains, Walt Longmire attempts to see that revenge, a dish best served cold, is never served at all.

Location: Street: 1039 Summit Ave City: Oconomowoc, Province: Wisconsin Postal Code: 53066-4457 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
Jun
18
AFTERNOON BOOK GROUP (Thursday, June 18 at 1pm)
Afternoon Book Group Open to the Community Thursday, June 18, 2015 1:00-2:00 p.m. Books & Company Ken will be leading the discussion on Wives of Los Alamos by Tarashea Nesbit (July~TBD) They arrived in New Mexico ready for adventure, or at least resigned to it. But hope quickly turned to hardship as they were forced to adapt to a rugged military town where everything was a secret-including what their husbands were doing at the lab. Though they were strangers, they joined together-adapting to a landscape as fierce as it was absorbing, full of the banalities of everyday life and the drama of scientific discovery. While the bomb was being invented, babies were born, friendships were forged, children grew up, and Los Alamos gradually transformed into a real community: one that was strained by the words they couldn't say out loud or in letters, and by the freedom they didn't have. But the end of the war would bring even bigger challenges, as the scientists and their families struggled with the burden of their contribution to the most destructive force in the history of mankind.

Location: Street: 1039 Summit Ave City: Oconomowoc, Province: Wisconsin Postal Code: 53066-4457 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
Jun
24
PRADAS BOOK GROUP (Wednesday, June 24 at 6:30pm)
PRADAS (A Group for Adults Reading Teen Novels) Open to the Community Wednesday, June 24, 2015 6:30-7:30 p.m. (*Note the date change) Books & Company (July~TBD) Lisa N. will lead a discussion on The Diviners by Libba Bray Evie O'Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City--and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It's 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult. Evie worries he'll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer. As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfurl in the city that never sleeps. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened....

Location: Street: 1039 Summit Ave City: Oconomowoc, Province: Wisconsin Postal Code: 53066-4457 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
Jun
24
MYSTERY BOOK GROUP (Wednesday, June 24 at 7pm)
Mystery Book Group Open to the Community Wednesday, June 24, 2015 7:00-8:00 p.m. Books & Company Beth will be leading a discussion on City of stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett (July~No Book Discussion. August 26~ Converging Parallels by Timothy Williams) The city of Bulikov once wielded the powers of the gods to conquer the world, enslaving and brutalizing millions—until its divine protectors were killed. Now Bulikov has become just another colonial outpost of the world's new geopolitical power, but the surreal landscape of the city itself—first shaped, now shattered, by the thousands of miracles its guardians once worked upon it—stands as a constant, haunting reminder of its former supremacy. Into this broken city steps Shara Thivani. Officially, the unassuming young woman is just another junior diplomat sent by Bulikov's oppressors. Unofficially, she is one of her country's most accomplished spies, dispatched to catch a murderer. But as Shara pursues the killer, she starts to suspect that the beings who ruled this terrible place may not be as dead as they seem—and that Bulikov's cruel reign may not yet be over.

Location: Street: 1039 Summit Ave City: Oconomowoc, Province: Wisconsin Postal Code: 53066-4457 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
Aug
15
Untitled event (Saturday, August 15 at 7pm)
Aug
26
MYSTERY BOOK GROUP (Wednesday, August 26 at 7pm)
Mystery Book Group Open to the Community Wednesday, August 26, 2015 7:00-8:00 p.m. Books & Company Beth will be leading a discussion on Converging Parallels by Timothy Williams (September~TBD) Northern Italy, 1978: Commissario Piero Trotti, trusted senior police investigator in an anonymous provincial city off the River Po, has two difficult cases to solve. A dismembered body has been found in the river, and it’s up to Trotti to figure out who the murder victim is. At the same time, an estranged friend approaches Trotti with a desperate personal plea: his six-year-old daughter—Trotti’s own goddaughter—has been kidnapped. In the wake of the high-profile kidnapping of Aldo Moro, president of Italy’s majority party, faith in law enforcement is at an all-time low, and it’s no surprise the distraught father isn’t willing to take this matter to the police.

Location: Street: 1039 Summit Ave City: Oconomowoc, Province: Wisconsin Postal Code: 53066-4457 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
Aug
15
Untitled event (Monday, August 15, 2016 at 7pm)

No Local Book Search

Not integrated with LibraryThing's Local Book Search. (find out more)

Find venues
address or postal code
small | full page
Vicinity of Books & Company
BookstoreLibraryFair/FestivalLittle LibrariesMultiple

Get Readar

The venues and events in LibraryThing can also be found in the handy iPhone Application Readar.

» Get Readar

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 97,172,333 books! | Top bar: Always visible