HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist

Schuler Books & Music - Okemos

1982 Grand River Ave
Okemos, Michigan 48864

United States

1-517-349-8840; galerschulerbooks.com

Type: Bookstore — Not set

Web site: http://www.schulerbooks.com/

Events: http://www.schulerbooks.com/instore.events/ok… (updated February 2009)

Twitter account: @SchulerBooks

Amenities: food/drink

Description: STORE HOURS:

9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m. Mon-Thur
9:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m. Fri - Sat
10:00 a.m. - 7:00 p.m. Sunday

Added by: aqualectrix.  Contacted: Not contacted.  Venue ID: 9662

Members

Cataloged

Arl_Fish (16), cthulhuslibrarian (5), alsvidur (3)

Comment wall

Upcoming events

Jul
23
The Path to Publishing: Panel Discussion (Okemos) (Wednesday, July 23 at 7pm)
Join us for a discussion about the different paths a writer can take to becoming a published author, featuring three working authors with unique paths of their own.

Robin Devereaux-Nelson grew up in rural Michigan and has been a writer all her life. She has worked as a program developer and grant writer for the past twenty-five years, creating programs that focus on community arts for youth and for individuals with disabilities. In Violet’s Wake, a 2013 Fabri Prize Winner published by Soft Skull Press, is her first novel.

Jenny Milchman's journey to publication took thirteen years, after which she hit the road for seven months with her family on what Shelf Awareness called "the world's longest book tour". Her debut novel, Cover of Snow, was chosen as an Indie Next and Target Pick, reviewed in the New York Times and San Francisco Journal of Books, and nominated for a Mary Higgins Clark award. Jenny is also the founder of Take Your Child to a Bookstore Day and chair of International Thriller Writers' Debut Authors Program. Jenny's second novel,Ruin Falls, also an Indie Next Pick, just came out, and she and her family are back on the road.

Rick Murcer is a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author from Michigan. An MSU alum, his first book, Caribbean Moon, a police procedural featuring Detective Manny Williams, found breakout success and was followed by five other books in the series, including the May 2014 release Vegas Rain.

Location: Street: 1982 Grand River Ave City: Okemos, Province: Michigan Postal Code: 48864 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
Jul
25
Magic: The Gathering M15 Booster Draft (Okemos) (Friday, July 25 at 6:30pm)
We're kicking off the release of the new set M15 with a booster draft. To attend this event, you must buy 3 Magic 2015 Booster Packs ($3.99 each) at the start of the event. Lands and prizes are included. Note: This will be multiplayer draft. Additionally, all magic products beyond those bought for the draft will be 20% off during the event.

Location: Street: 1982 Grand River Ave City: Okemos, Province: Michigan Postal Code: 48864 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)… (more)
Aug
5
Get-A-Clue Mystery Reading Group presents Linwood Barclay (Okemos) (Tuesday, August 5 at 7pm)
Get-A-Clue Mystery Reading Group presents Linwood Barclay

Bestselling thriller writers like Stephen King, Lisa Gardner, and Tess Gerritsen rave about Barclay’s smart, propulsive, and twisty thrillers, which have landed at the top of bestseller lists around the world, making Barclay a #1 bestselling author in countries like the UK and Canada. In fact, Stephen King is such a fan that when he joined Twitter, @Linwood_Barclay was one of the first 16 people he followed…and one of only a few writers.

New novel No Safe House is chock-full of Barclay’s hallmark blend of twisted and complex plotting, smart dialogue, and compelling characters. Seven years ago, Terry Archer and his family -- who first appeared in No Time for Goodbye -- experienced a horrific ordeal that nearly cost them their lives. Today, the echoes of that fateful night are still audible, and Terry is trying to keep his family together -- a hard task after a substantial fight with teenage daughter Grace causes his wife to move out. But one wrong move on Grace’s part puts her family in dire danger, and they not only need each other, but need to run to stay alive. As the body count rises in their seemingly idyllic town, the Archers are in the middle of a dangerous web of criminals who will stop at nothing to get what they’ve been plotting for. To stay alive, the Archers may have to do the unthinkable.

With Barclay’s signature didn’t-see-it-coming gasp-inducing ending, No Safe House is another remarkable thriller from “a suspense master” (Stephen King).

Location: Street: 1982 Grand River Ave City: Okemos, Province: Michigan Postal Code: 48864 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
Aug
6
Magic: The Gathering: Freeplay (Okemos) (Wednesday, August 6 at 7:30pm)
Bring a Magic: The Gathering deck and play! No format requirements. If you haven't played before and are interested in learning, this is a great event to come to. Don't worry about buying anything blindly--learner decks will be available. Additionally, all magic products will be 20% off during the event.

Location: Street: 1982 Grand River Ave City: Okemos, Province: Michigan Postal Code: 48864 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)… (more)
Aug
20
Local Authors Night! (Okemos) (Wednesday, August 20 at 7pm)
Local Author Night Panel

Join us for a panel discussion featuring a number of esteemed Michigan authors! This time our panel features award-winning romance author J.R. Armstrong (Beg(ga) (he)r); cozy mystery author Lia Farrell (Two Dogs Lie Sleeping); public historian Liz Homer (Pioneers, Reformers, and Millionaires); Pushcart nominee Douglas Trevor (Girls I Know); and mystery author K.M. Zahrt (Odd Man Outlaw)

Location: Street: 1982 Grand River Ave City: Okemos, Province: Michigan Postal Code: 48864 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
Aug
22
Magic: The Gathering: Mixed Booster Draft (Okemos) (Friday, August 22 at 6:30pm)
We're going to try something new--a mixed booster draft. This will be 3 pack multiplayer draft.

However, this time there's no specific set. Each attendee can mix and match their 3 booster packs out of those we have on hand. Or--if you want--you can buy two packs with us and bring your third on your own. Any set is legal, as long as the booster pack is unopened. Lands and prizes are included.

Location: Street: 1982 Grand River Ave City: Okemos, Province: Michigan Postal Code: 48864 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)
Aug
28
Talk & Signing with The Incredible Dr. Pol! (Okemos) (Thursday, August 28 at 7pm)
Talk & Signing with The Incredible Dr. Pol!

Meet the star of Nat Geo Wild’s The Incredible Dr. Pol, as he talks about his new memoir Never Turn Your Back on an Angus Cow: My Life as a Country Vet! In the past 40 years as a veterinarian in rural Michigan, Dr. Jan Pol has seen it all: patients ranging from mice and snakes to cows and 2600 lb horses – and everything in between. In his memoir, he shares his amusing tales of caring for a menagerie of animals. There is not a domestic animal Dr. Pol has not treated – or doesn’t have a story about.

In the vein of All Creatures Great and Small, Never Turn Your Back on an Angus Cow is a unique look at country life––the trials and tribulations of livestock and our family friends––as well as a story that will delight animal lovers everywhere.

Location: Street: 1982 Grand River Ave City: Okemos, Province: Michigan Postal Code: 48864 Country: United States (added from IndieBound)
… (more)

No Local Book Search

Not integrated with LibraryThing's Local Book Search. (find out more)

Find venues
address or postal code
small | full page
Vicinity of Schuler Books & Music - Okemos
BookstoreLibraryFair/FestivalLittle LibrariesMultiple

Get Readar

The venues and events in LibraryThing can also be found in the handy iPhone Application Readar.

» Get Readar

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,474,678 books! | Top bar: Always visible