HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Confessions of Zeno by Italo (Roditi Svevo,…
Loading...

Confessions of Zeno (edition 1962)

by Italo (Roditi Svevo, Edouard)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2,085253,170 (3.81)48
Member:CliffBurns
Title:Confessions of Zeno
Authors:Italo (Roditi Svevo, Edouard)
Info:Penguin Books Ltd. (1962), Unknown Binding, 448 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Zeno's Conscience by Italo Svevo

  1. 30
    The Posthumous Memoirs of Bras Cubas by Joaquim Maria Machado de Assis (DieFledermaus, fspyck, StevenTX)
    fspyck: Ik vond er eenzelfde terughoudenheid in, Machado de Assis is misschien wat grimmiger, en speelt nog meer met vorm en intertekstualiteit, Svevo is ietwat hilarischer
  2. 30
    The Late Mattia Pascal by Luigi Pirandello (roby72)
  3. 30
    Journey to the End of the Night by Louis-Ferdinand Céline (S_Meyerson)
  4. 00
    The Lost Steps by Alejo Carpentier (caju)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 48 mentions

English (18)  Italian (4)  French (2)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  All languages (26)
Showing 1-5 of 18 (next | show all)
"I want you to record your thoughts, Zeno. It'll be part of your therapy."
"Really, Doctor? Well, if you say so."
That's what the book is about. We discover who Zeno is by reading his entries. An interesting technique, but not very memorable. ( )
  JVioland | Jul 14, 2014 |
This is an amazing book. Svevo was discovered by James Joyce who considered this book brilliant and helped Svevo find a publisher. A wonderfully done unreliable narrator. ( )
  Maryka | Oct 21, 2013 |
Written in a journal style, this is a rather interesting psychological novel with a very neurotic narrator. It is also a very good account of a time period and of a city (Trieste). Funny bits. Overall, though, I wouldn't go as far as saying this is the best early 20th-century Italian litterature has to offer... ( )
1 vote Miguelnunonave | Aug 16, 2013 |
http://nwhyte.livejournal.com/2144710.html

This is supposedly one of the great twentieth century novels, the tale of Trieste businessman Zeno Cosini, his smoking, his father, his wife and mistress, and his largely unsuccessful business dealings. James Joyce, who had taught the author English in Trieste, boosted it and it's pretty clear that Zeno Cosini is a very close ancestor of Leopold Bloom's and that the novel is consciously placed in the wider Proust / Woolf / Joyce tradition.

It's not really as good, though. Zeno is difficult to like or sympathise with; he is the author of his own misfortunes, but not in a terribly interesting or engaging way. The stories are presented as if published by his psychiatrist, who warns that they are full of lies; but if so, we never really find out what the lies are, which I find a weakness. However the detailed depiction of Trieste in the last years of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, brick by brick, is very good and again is something Joyce drew on later. Recommended for fans of early twentieth century literature. ( )
  nwhyte | Jul 20, 2013 |
"Forse traverso una catastrofe inaudita prodotta dagli ordigni ritorneremo alla salute. Quando i gas velenosi non basteranno piú, un uomo fatto come tutti gli altri, nel segreto di una stanza di questo mondo, inventerà un esplosivo incomparabile, in confronto al quale gli esplosivi attualmente esistenti saranno considerati quali innocui giocattoli. Ed un altro uomo fatto anche lui come tutti gli altri, ma degli altri un po’ piú ammalato, ruberà tale esplosivo e s’arrampicherà al centro della terra per porlo nel punto ove il suo effetto potrà essere il massimo. Ci sarà un’esplosione enorme che nessuno udrà e la terra ritornata alla forma di nebulosa errerà nei cieli priva di parassiti e di malattie." ( )
  JuliaBoechat | Mar 30, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 18 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (53 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Italo Svevoprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Benco, SilvioAfterwordsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Contini, GabriellaIntroductionsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Saccone, EduardoForewordsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Tuin, JennyTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to the English one.
Important places
Important events
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to the English one.
Related movies
Information from the Portuguese (Brazil) Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to the English one.
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to the English one.
Io sono il dottore di cui in questa novella si parla talvolta con parole poco lusinghiere. Chi di psico-analisi s'intende, sa dove piazzare l'antipatia che il paziente mi dedica.
Quotations
Misunderstanding women is a clear sign of scant virility.
Last words
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to the English one.
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0375727760, Paperback)

Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zeno’s interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected–and unexpectedly happy–marriage to Ada’s homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zeno’s Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:51:31 -0400)

(see all 4 descriptions)

Zenos Conscience (previously translated as Confessions of Zeno) is at once a comedy of errors, a sly testimonial to the joys of procrastination, and a surpassingly lucid vision of human nature. Italo Svevo tells the story of a hapless, doubting, guilt-ridden man paralyzed by fits of despair and ecstasy and tickled by his own cleverness. His doctor advises him, as a form of therapy, to write his memoirs; and in doing so, Zeno reconstructs and ultimately reshapes the events of his life into a palatable reality for himself - a reality, however, founded on compromise, delusion, and rationalization.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.81)
0.5
1 4
1.5 1
2 29
2.5 8
3 83
3.5 32
4 122
4.5 18
5 98

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 91,691,148 books! | Top bar: Always visible