HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Confessions of Zeno by Italo (Roditi Svevo,…
Loading...

Confessions of Zeno (edition 1962)

by Italo (Roditi Svevo, Edouard)

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
2,163283,004 (3.81)53
Member:CliffBurns
Title:Confessions of Zeno
Authors:Italo (Roditi Svevo, Edouard)
Info:Penguin Books Ltd. (1962), Unknown Binding, 448 pages
Collections:Your library
Rating:
Tags:None

Work details

Zeno's Conscience by Italo Svevo

  1. 30
    The Posthumous Memoirs of Bras Cubas by Joaquim Maria Machado de Assis (DieFledermaus, fspyck, StevenTX)
    fspyck: Ik vond er eenzelfde terughoudenheid in, Machado de Assis is misschien wat grimmiger, en speelt nog meer met vorm en intertekstualiteit, Svevo is ietwat hilarischer
  2. 30
    The Late Mattia Pascal by Luigi Pirandello (roby72)
  3. 30
    Journey to the End of the Night by Louis-Ferdinand Céline (S_Meyerson)
  4. 00
    The Lost Steps by Alejo Carpentier (caju)
Loading...

Sign up for LibraryThing to find out whether you'll like this book.

No current Talk conversations about this book.

» See also 53 mentions

English (20)  Italian (5)  French (2)  German (1)  Dutch (1)  All languages (29)
Showing 1-5 of 20 (next | show all)
It required more concentration than I'm used to giving a book--the wit was densely packed into each sentence and took some un-packing to appreciate. I enjoyed making the effort. It struck me as some maniacal blend of David Sedaris and Dostoevsky. ( )
  poingu | Jan 29, 2015 |
Svevo (an alias) was long unremarkable before James Joyce tutored him in English while in Trieste. Joyce promoted this work and got it translated into French. The book would have obviously, I can now see, languished forever without the boost. Passages here and there are astute, but the book itself is a rambling, self-conscious kind of ode to Freudian-style analysis. ( )
  JamesMScott | Jan 11, 2015 |
"I want you to record your thoughts, Zeno. It'll be part of your therapy."
"Really, Doctor? Well, if you say so."
That's what the book is about. We discover who Zeno is by reading his entries. An interesting technique, but not very memorable. ( )
  JVioland | Jul 14, 2014 |
This is an amazing book. Svevo was discovered by James Joyce who considered this book brilliant and helped Svevo find a publisher. A wonderfully done unreliable narrator. ( )
  Maryka | Oct 21, 2013 |
Written in a journal style, this is a rather interesting psychological novel with a very neurotic narrator. It is also a very good account of a time period and of a city (Trieste). Funny bits. Overall, though, I wouldn't go as far as saying this is the best early 20th-century Italian litterature has to offer... ( )
1 vote Miguelnunonave | Aug 16, 2013 |
Showing 1-5 of 20 (next | show all)
no reviews | add a review

» Add other authors (53 possible)

Author nameRoleType of authorWork?Status
Italo Svevoprimary authorall editionsconfirmed
Benco, SilvioAfterwordsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Contini, GabriellaIntroductionsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Saccone, EduardoForewordsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
Tuin, JennyTranslatorsecondary authorsome editionsconfirmed
You must log in to edit Common Knowledge data.
For more help see the Common Knowledge help page.
Series (with order)
Canonical title
Original title
Alternative titles
Original publication date
People/Characters
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Important places
Important events
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Related movies
Information from the Portuguese (Brazil) Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Awards and honors
Epigraph
Dedication
First words
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
Io sono il dottore di cui in questa novella si parla talvolta con parole poco lusinghiere. Chi di psico-analisi s'intende, sa dove piazzare l'antipatia che il paziente mi dedica.
Quotations
Misunderstanding women is a clear sign of scant virility.
Last words
Information from the Italian Common Knowledge. Edit to localize it to your language.
(Click to show. Warning: May contain spoilers.)
Disambiguation notice
Publisher's editors
Blurbers
Publisher series
Original language

References to this work on external resources.

Wikipedia in English (1)

Book description
Haiku summary

Amazon.com Product Description (ISBN 0375727760, Paperback)

Long hailed as a seminal work of modernism in the tradition of Joyce and Kafka, and now available in a supple new English translation, Italo Svevo’s charming and splendidly idiosyncratic novel conducts readers deep into one hilariously hyperactive and endlessly self-deluding mind. The mind in question belongs to Zeno Cosini, a neurotic Italian businessman who is writing his confessions at the behest of his psychiatrist. Here are Zeno’s interminable attempts to quit smoking, his courtship of the beautiful yet unresponsive Ada, his unexpected–and unexpectedly happy–marriage to Ada’s homely sister Augusta, and his affair with a shrill-voiced aspiring singer. Relating these misadventures with wry wit and a perspicacity at once unblinking and compassionate, Zeno’s Conscience is a miracle of psychological realism.

(retrieved from Amazon Mon, 30 Sep 2013 13:51:31 -0400)

(see all 4 descriptions)

Zenos Conscience (previously translated as Confessions of Zeno) is at once a comedy of errors, a sly testimonial to the joys of procrastination, and a surpassingly lucid vision of human nature. Italo Svevo tells the story of a hapless, doubting, guilt-ridden man paralyzed by fits of despair and ecstasy and tickled by his own cleverness. His doctor advises him, as a form of therapy, to write his memoirs; and in doing so, Zeno reconstructs and ultimately reshapes the events of his life into a palatable reality for himself - a reality, however, founded on compromise, delusion, and rationalization.… (more)

(summary from another edition)

» see all 2 descriptions

Quick Links

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.81)
0.5
1 4
1.5 1
2 30
2.5 8
3 86
3.5 32
4 128
4.5 19
5 101

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 96,194,060 books! | Top bar: Always visible