HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World…
Loading...

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking (edition 2012)

by Susan Cain

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
4,841295956 (4.05)278
Gorgeous book. I didn't realize I was an introvert. But it's very clear, after reading this, that I am.
My only complaint is that Cain is a little biased (in a sense) towards introverts...which I enjoyed emotionally but intellectually found a little less satisfying. It creates a tilt in the book that left me with a number of questions about extroverts. I found myself, though, really wondering if this lens (introvert/extrovert) could be a useful filter for analyzing the leadership strengths and weaknesses. ( )
1 vote JerryColonna | Apr 5, 2012 |
Showing 1-25 of 302 (next | show all)
Part validation and part legitimate research, this book was everything I needed.

I am a textbook introvert. Growing up, I always felt like something was wrong with me because I'd rather stick with my close friends than chat up the new people. In college, I couldn't handle partying all night like my friends could; an hour or two and I'd be done. In my classes, my professors and TAs would ask me why I didn't like to open up during discussions -- did I feel that my opinion wasn't as valid as everybody else's? I was passed over for jobs I was qualified for because I just wasn't bubbly enough. Recently, though, I've learned to fake it to get ahead. I cheerfully talk to strangers all day at my job in a doctor's office. I take hundreds of phone calls a week while maintaining an unwavering smile. I coordinate lunches and run staff meetings and act charming and friendly and I am exhausted every night when I go home.

This book gave me some insight into why exactly I'm like that. It helped me realize that it's ok to fake being extroverted for a little while as long as I get some time to myself to unwind. It told me that it's ok and not weird at all to need to take my lunch alone in a quiet room sometimes. And it has some really good advice for what to do when your employer requires you to act the complete opposite of how you feel.

My only qualm is that, well, it was almost too pro-introvert. The author does tell us that she too is an introvert. She's managed to overcome it when necessary, but she spends a good part of the book talking about the awesome advantages of being an introvert and how it's so much better than being extroverted. It's nice reassurance, sure, but I can see how it could be off-putting for an extrovert trying to gain insight into the introvert's mind.

All in all, it's a good book and an interesting read. I'll be recommending it to my introvert friends. ( )
  Sara.Newhouse | Feb 11, 2016 |
Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain
333 pages

★★★★

I am an introvert. It’s the way I’ve always been. I don’t know how often people try to “comfort” me with “Oh, you don’t seem like one at all, don’t worry!” Well 1) I am comfortable with who I am, people don’t need to make me feel better about something I never felt bad about and 2) Yes, I fooled you – it’s called acting in public and I can rock it. But what those people don’t realize that after I day of being super friendly and extroverted (such as at my job at the museum which I love) I am ready to go home, curl up with a book and not interact with anyone for the rest of the week – I hit my quota, thank you very much. The point is - this book proves I am far from alone and this book talked to me. I read this page for page wondering if this author personally knew me somehow.

I think this was a well written, wonderful read. While it benefited me as an introvert, I believe it could just as easily be read by an extrovert. The author did a lot of research. She writes of many recent studies that are being done on personality types (is it a nurture or nature situation?), she uses real life situations and scenarios, and also gives great advice and tips throughout. Not a quick read for me just because I’m in quite the reading slump but definitely worth the time it took me to finish this book. Very enlightening in my opinion.
( )
  UberButter | Feb 9, 2016 |
Why would a book about introversion become a bestseller? Would the author have anything to say about this topic that I didn't already know from experience?

The four sections of the book are “The Extrovert Ideal”, “Your Biology, Your Self?”, “Do All Cultures Have an Extrovert Ideal?”, and “How to Love, How to Work”. The middle sections seemed to drag for me. There was more biology and physiology than I wanted or needed to know. On the other hand, I was very interested in her comments about introverts in the church, at work, and at school. The generic congregant, employee, and student for whom these environments are designed are extroverts. Many introverts may feel like something is wrong with them if they don't perform as expected in these environments, and many extroverts would probably agree with them. Cain succeeds at explaining why introverts often don't work well in open plan offices and why introverted students often don't perform well in group work. Cain suggests ways that introverts can adapt their circumstances or schedules to make these situations work for them, as well as ways that employers or educators can accommodate the needs of their introverted employees or students.

The author doesn't break any new ground in this book. She just summarizes others' research. The value in the book is in the awareness it fosters and the conversations it stimulates. Introverted readers will realize that they're not alone in their experience of the world. Extroverts will realize that there isn't something “wrong” with introverts; they just process their experiences differently. Cain points out the gorilla in the room and gets readers to pay attention to it. ( )
4 vote cbl_tn | Feb 7, 2016 |
An enlightening and thought-provoking read. As an introvert myself, I found myself relating to many of the author's anecdotes, gaining new insight into myself along the way. This book not only encouraged me to accept myself as I am, but also it helped to remind me I am not alone in my quieter world. I absolutely adored this novel, for it challenged me to reevaluate my perceptions of myself and others of both introverted and extroverted natures. ( )
1 vote ashniclayton | Feb 6, 2016 |
This is an important book. I am glad Cain wrote it. I am sorry for her, though, that she had such poor editors--and to read her acknowledgement pages shows she had more than just several. I say this up front because of a "fact" that she introduced as an example early on, which simply is untrue. This colored my acceptance of the rest of the book. And, then, at the end (by which time I had mostly gotten over the original glaring error), she used an extremely awkward metaphor! I will list both of these at the end of this review.

Introversion and extraversion are misunderstood in general. No matter how many times I have taken a Myers-Briggs test, I come out as an ISFJ, much to my original surprise, and to those who know me. But as I learned more about introversion, the pieces to my particular personality puzzled clicked into place.

Cain explains many facets of why we tick the way we do, and how to encourage ourselves and others to fully explore our strengths and to minimize our weaknesses. To borrow the old army slogan, to "be all that we can be."

I recommend this book highly to parents, family members, co-workers, bosses...well, to everyone!

But, here is the glaring mistake which really needs to be addressed!

Pg 109 (kindle app):
"Low reactive, extroverted [sic] children, if raised by attentive families in safe environments, can grow up to be energetic achievers with big personalities--the Richard Bransons and Oprahs of this world. But give those same children negligent caregivers or a bad neighborhood, say some psychologists, and they can turn into bullies, juvenile delinquents, or criminals."

According to Wikipedia, Winfrey was born into poverty to a single, teenaged mother, was raped at nine, and at age 14 gave birth to a child who died in infancy.

This is not to say that Cain was making the case that ALL extraverted children who grow up disadvantaged will become jd's....but what a poor example to use to make her point.

The metaphor? Pg 264, kindle version:
"[introverts' can help you]...spot canaries in your coal mine." Really? Before or after they've keeled over dead?

Also, why deliberately misspell a word? It is extravert and introvert. ( )
1 vote kaulsu | Feb 3, 2016 |
Narrated by Kathe Mazur. Introverts, rejoice! This is the book that will affirm your true self and help you understand why you don't have to keep up with an extroverted society. Extroverts, learn how you can support your introverted friends, family and colleagues so that they can contribute as their best selves to society. There is a great chapter on how parents can support and encourage their introverted kids...also very useful for adults who work with kids. In the audio version, Mazur reads in a quiet, soothing tone just right for learning about and contemplating the topic. ( )
  Salsabrarian | Feb 2, 2016 |
This book pretty much validates my existence, so it should surprise no one when I say it was a very worthwhile read. My introversion is a big part of who I am, but I never realized how deeply it affects my personality, hobbies, and interests. It could explain why I don't like violent movies, why I stuck to learning to play the piano when most of my friends gave up after a few years, and why I have chosen to pursue a career that aligns with my passions rather than pursue one where the big money is.

Introverts don't often speak up for themselves, so it was gratifying seeing an entire, well-researched book that defends the virtues of introverts. Yes, it gets a little preachy in some spots, but after a lifetime of watching the virtues of extroverts get all the praise and attention, I had no problem with Cain pushing out her own introvert-biased agenda. Some would argue that the book is a self-help book for introverts (they've got a valid point there), but I think anyone—introvert or extrovert—would benefit from reading this book. ( )
1 vote AngelClaw | Feb 2, 2016 |
Excellent book. The first half is very, very interesting. The last third starts to meander a bit as it covers parenting details. ( )
1 vote deldevries | Jan 31, 2016 |
At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking, reading to partying; who invent and create but prefer not to pitch their own ideas; who favor working on their own over brainstorming in teams. Although they are often labeled “quiet,” it is to introverts we owe many of the great contributions to society — from Van Gogh’s sunflowers to the invention of the personal computer. Passionately argued, impressively researched, and filled with the indelible stories of real people, Quiet shows how dramatically we undervalue introverts, and how much we lose in doing so. ( )
  rds4smith | Jan 27, 2016 |
9 audio discs

"...neither e=mc2 nor Paradise Lost was dashed off by a party animal" (from Quiet)

4.5*

celebration of the introvert ( )
1 vote pennsylady | Jan 26, 2016 |
A fascinating book - very encouraging for those of us who are surrounded by people who feel they have to make noise to significant. So much of the noise is pointless, ill-considered and often made without taking the time to listen to others. Yet the noisy are successful simply because they are loud and confident. This book restores the balance a little. ( )
  rosiezbanks | Jan 25, 2016 |
What a wonderful book! I highly recommend it not just to fellow introverts, but to teachers, parents, or anyone who would like to gain a better understanding of introversion and extroversion. ( )
1 vote Gingermama | Jan 24, 2016 |
Good book for quiet people. Helps us understand ourselves a little more. I would welcome a student version of this book. ( )
  ddbrown201 | Jan 23, 2016 |
Quiet was a validating read for me. So many things about myself make much more sense after reading this book. I am definitely an introvert. I most enjoyed reading about the studies on introversion and extroversion. ( )
1 vote HeatherWP | Jan 19, 2016 |
I can't even explain why this book struck me so powerfully, but it was so encouraging to be shown that introverts have an essential function in society. Fantastic details, examples, and writing.

P.S. The audio version is read beautifully. ( )
1 vote Connie-D | Jan 17, 2016 |
I thought this book presented introverts in a way that would help others understand them. In our highly extroverted culture, introverts are easily overrun and overlooked. They are not broken. They do not need to be fixed. They do have something to contribute: often they are the ones who will stick with a problem and look at it from all angles to come up with a solution. They also are a check and balance on the impulsive decision making nature of extroverts who tend to get caught up in the chase. Both types are needed in our society. ( )
1 vote JenniferRobb | Jan 17, 2016 |
The description is "At least one-third of the people we know are introverts. They are the ones who prefer listening to speaking, reading to partying; who innovate and create but dislike self-promotion; who favor working on their own over brainstorming in teams. Although they are often labeled "quiet," it is to introverts that we owe many of the great contributions to society. Passionately argued, impressively researched, and filled with indelible stories of real people, Quiet shows how dramatically we undervalue introverts, and how much we lose in doing so. Finally, she offers invaluable advice on everything from how to better negotiate differences in introvert-extrovert relationships to how to empower an introverted child to when it makes sense to be a "pretend extrovert."
This was a great read. I'm an introvert myself, although after reading the book I believe I am a highly reactive introvert, which means I can play the role of an extrovert when there is something I am passionate about. I felt the research and write up of the research on personality types was interesting and easy to read, unlike some books were the research portion puts me to sleep, Cain wrote in a manner that kept me interested and awake. There were many parts of the book where she was describing introversion, and I went "Ah yes, that is me" or "Ah yes, that total sense." There were some great tips on how to get along in an extroverted world, but to still be true to your introverted self. Remember, Introversion doesn't mean Anti-Siocial, it just means limited dosages or smaller portions of social interactions.

For additional reviews please see my blog at www.adventuresofabibliophile.blogspot.com
  Serinde24 | Jan 17, 2016 |
Being a natural born introvert, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking grabbed my attention straight away. Author Susan Cain covers intro and extroversion in great detail here and as I read I could relate time and again to what she was saying.

Famous introverts such as Rosa Parks and Eleanor Roosevelt are highlighted in this book. Cain shares how their quiet strength helped changed the course of history.

I have always been quiet, it is just my way. “You are too quiet” and “You need to come out of your shell” and other comments like those have been tossed my way all my life. In high school one of the popular girls once told me “You are too pretty to be so quiet”. I never forgot that because I wondered why she thought attractiveness with chattiness went together.

Susan Cain points out that there is a kind of guilt associated with introverted people, because they are made to feel that there is something inherently wrong with being quiet. It is very true, when we live in a world that pushes being outgoing and where the loudest take center stage, being introverted can be a daily challenge; many times introverts are overlooked.

This was an interesting read as Cain gives various different examples, ranging from age groups and different cultures to people at work and couples. She discusses introverted children and how extroverted parents interact with them and vice versa.

A book like this can make you think about the different relationships in your life in regards to who is introverted and who is extroverted.

This book also made me think about introverts and extroverts in regards to how they interact on social media. Social media almost gets many of us to seem extroverted doesn’t it? All that interaction and chatting online, but what if we were all face to face? How different would these interactions be?

As I read Quiet, I really felt a kind of validation. It was very nice. I enjoyed how the author brings the strengths of introverts to light without pitting them against extroverts. It is more of a yin and yang thing.

read my review in full here
https://bookwormnai.wordpress.com/2016/01/16/quiet-the-power-of-introverts-in-a-world-that-cant-stop-talking-by-susan-cain/

Disclaimer: This review is my honest opinion. I did not receive any kind of compensation for reading and reviewing this book. I am under no obligation to write a positive review. I purchased my copy of Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking by Susan Cain. ( )
1 vote bookworm_naida | Jan 16, 2016 |
Susan Cain is not a psychologist or research scientist, but she is an introvert (and a corporate lawyer). The differences between introverts and extroverts and how they are perceived by society interested her so much that she spent five years researching and writing this book. It consists of a mix of discussions of other people's scientific research into personality traits and personal anecdotes from the author's own life and from other people she interviewed. While there is a lot of information in the book, her major conclusions are that both introverts and extroverts contribute positively to society and that they should be more understanding and accepting of the differences between them.

As a card-carrying introvert, this book was very interesting to me because I saw myself in a lot of the things she talked about. There is a lot of good information; however, I just couldn't help but feel that something was a little off with the book. I think it may have been the fact that Cain isn't a scientist herself, so even though she has obviously done a ton of research into the subject, I have trouble seeing her as enough of an expert to write this type of book. I also couldn't decide whether the personal stories added to or took away from the book as a whole. They are interesting to read, but at times, they seemed to interrupt the flow. Regardless, this book discusses some really interesting and important issues, and I recommend it to anyone who interacts with other people on a regular basis. ( )
1 vote AmandaL. | Jan 16, 2016 |
The American culture lives by what Susan Cain terms the Extrovert Ideal, where we are expected to brainstorm, work in open office plans, and collaborate with peers on school projects. For the third to half of the population that are introverts, however, these scenarios can be difficult. Cain uses both personal stories and scientific studies to argue that introverts are simply wired differently and can bring a unique set of strengths if given the ability to work in their own way.

For an introvert like me, I found Quiet a really rewarding and validating experience. I fortunately have not dealt with the stigma that sometimes comes from being quiet and introspective and have learned to adapt in environments where I temporarily need to act more extroverted, as well as allowing myself downtime. I appreciated her approach in never claiming that extroverts or introverts are inherently better, just different, and we each have something to learn from the other. Some of the studies had really surprising outcomes, including aspects of my personality that I never connected to being an introvert. Highly recommended reading for introverts and extroverts alike. ( )
1 vote bell7 | Jan 12, 2016 |
As an introvert, I'd been told to read this book for almost two years by the time I finally checked it out of the library. I can't say I found it life-changing, but it did make me feel more comfortable with who I am and understanding why some situations (such as working in cubicle where my work is constantly interrupted) have such a detrimental effect on my personal happiness. I feel like I have a greater understanding of why I experience certain emotions and how I might work out my life to live more comfortably with my own personality. ( )
1 vote wagner.sarah35 | Jan 9, 2016 |
A particularly interesting read. Well researched and clearly and engagingly written. It certainly gave me a lot of various things to think about in the long term.
However, minor gripe is the almost sole focus on the States, which I can understand from an access of information point of view, but it would be quite interesting to see how the same parameters could be explored in a Euro-centric scenario as opposed to that of one of the most extremely extroverted nations and therefore making the distinctions between Extro- and Introverted folk far more obvious and extreme than it might necessarily be elsewhere.
Perhaps I am wrong, perhaps the same could be said in a Euro-centric environment, but it would still be interesting to find out.
I do however thoroughly recommend reading this text for anybody introverted or not. It has a lot to say about how the Office environment works, or does not. How group work is not necessarily conducive to producing the best results etc. Whilst the author definitely has an introverted agenda (if one can call it that, and by agenda I mean not making those who are introverted seem anything other than 'normal'- a word I dislike) I don't believe she is making a stand for one type of working environment or another necessarily. Rather that you should be able to identify your own strengths, and weaknesses, and work in conjunction with those rather than forcing against them. ( )
1 vote Tobi83 | Jan 5, 2016 |
At least one-third of the people you know are introverts. Although they are often labeled "quiet", it is to introverts that we owe many of the great contributions of society - from Van Gogh's sunflowers to the invention of the personal computer. Passionately argued, impressively researched, and filled with indelible stories of real people, Quiet shows how dramatically we undervalue introverts, and how much we lose in doing so. Taking the listener on the journey from Dale Carnegie's birthplace to Harvard Business School, from a Tony Robbins seminar to an evangelical megachurch, Susan Cain charts the rise of the Extrovert in the twentieth century and explores its far-reaching effects. And she draws on cutting-edge research in psychology and neuroscience to reveal the surprising differences between extroverts and introverts. Perhaps most inspiring, Cain introduces us to successful introverts. This extraordinary audiobook has the power to permanently change how we see introverts and, equally important, how introverts see themselves. ( )
2 vote jepeters333 | Dec 31, 2015 |
This book sounded good from the blurb, but I was disappointed. Two things in particular bothered me. First, most of the examples involved people of a particular social or political stratum, of which I am not inclined to be a part. As a result, I felt like an outsider invited (no doubt by mistake) to a wine and cheese party where everyone knows everyone and agrees on everything and the only one who is different is me. It reminds me of other authors who quote sources "everyone" should know but I don't. Second, I felt while reading the book that the only reason Introverts have value is because finally some study says they do. But what happens when the pendulum swings and scientific studies once more assert what was asserted 20 or 40 or 60 years ago? It was helpful to hear that introverts do have value, but I still felt the book was not meant for me, and that my particular stripe of introvert should still keep his (or her) thoughts to him (or her) self. No doubt the problem rests with me, but, hey, it's my review, so . . . ( )
1 vote davemac | Dec 18, 2015 |
I tend to think there are many misconceptions around introverts; we live in a world that seems to praise extroverts. Susan Cain tries to help people understand the importance of introverts and why we need a balance between the two personality traits. Susan is an introvert herself and found her job as a lawyer expected an extroverted personality. However embracing her introversion, she was able to prove herself a valuable employer and lawyer; so much so that she went on to become a negotiations consultant.

Quiet is a book that seeks out to explain the need for introverts, while also looking at the history between these two personality types. I myself am extremely introverted and my Myers–Briggs Type Indicator is INTJ (this can change over time but I will not go into that at the moment). I found it useful to understand the history in how society deals with introverts; some of which still feels very relevant today. I remember reading sections focusing on the 1950s and 60s, thinking this happened to me and is still happening in today’s society. This leaves me to think that people do not have an understanding on the personalities and how to manage introverts.

Susan Cain goes into a lot of detail with suggestions on how to fit into such an extroverted world, from developing a pseudo-extroverted personality to finding a quiet place to work. Obviously it does depend on your different situations but I think there were some interesting ideas to implement. She also goes into the problems with open offices and productivity levels as well as the extroverted nature of church. I was surprised by just how much this book covered.

I really enjoyed Quiet and feel like I learnt a lot, however it just makes me want to learn more, especially about the history (it is a vicious cycle). I want to give this book to my parents because I think they might actually benefit in learning about the topic. In fact I want to give this book to everyone, I feel like it is an important topic and we need to know that people are different and need to be treated differently. This is another book to fulfil my passion for learning about psychology and I would happily take some recommendations based on this book.

This review originally appeared on my blog; http://www.knowledgelost.org/book-reviews/genre/non-fiction/quiet-by-susan-cain/ ( )
1 vote knowledge_lost | Dec 7, 2015 |
Showing 1-25 of 302 (next | show all)

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
2 avail.
2934 wanted
5 pay8 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (4.05)
0.5
1 6
1.5 1
2 39
2.5 16
3 198
3.5 100
4 544
4.5 92
5 391

Audible.com

3 editions of this book were published by Audible.com.

See editions

Penguin Australia

2 editions of this book were published by Penguin Australia.

Editions: 0670916765, 0141029196

LibraryThing Early Reviewers Alumn

Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can't Stop Talking by Susan Cain was made available through LibraryThing Early Reviewers. Sign up to possibly get pre-publication copies of books.

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Store | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 103,260,081 books! | Top bar: Always visible