HomeGroupsTalkZeitgeist
Hide this

Results from Google Books

Click on a thumbnail to go to Google Books.

Fatal Error: A Novel by J.A. Jance
Loading...

Fatal Error: A Novel (edition 2011)

by J.A. Jance

MembersReviewsPopularityAverage ratingMentions
280840,328 (3.48)6
CarterPJ's review
A nice light mystery - Ali Reynolds an early forties woman completes her police training but does not secure a job. In the interim her old friend contacts her after falling on hard times, alcoholism and having been duped into an engagement over the internet. A murder occurs, she teams up with the local detective and with her money and partner's internet security firm's help, solves the murder and rescues her friend who has been taken hostage. ( )
  CarterPJ | Apr 28, 2012 |
All member reviews
Showing 8 of 8
Synopsis: Ali Reynolds has completed the six-week course to become a police officer, but the economy keeps her out of uniform. However, that doesn’t keep her from becoming embroiled in a murder mystery that has her running all over the country tracking down clues. This multifaceted story begins with the unexpected arrival of an old acquaintance who requests Ali’s help in locating her fiancé and ends with multiple police and FBI involvement.
Review: This was an enjoyable read with lots of interesting character studies. Throughout you wondered if the ‘bad guy’ would or would not get away. While I like most of the characters in this book, the boyfriend still seems rather lame, probably because he goes by B. rather than his actual name. ( )
  DrLed | Nov 4, 2013 |
It's been a while since I read a JA Jance novel, and I don't know if my memory of previous novels is just overlaid with uncritical rosy delight or if this newish one is more simplistic than the ones I recall. Sure seemed more simplistic. But the suspense holds well, the characters have a bit of depth, the villain is suitably evil and grotesque... ( )
  jarvenpa | Mar 31, 2013 |
I like the character of Alie Reynolds. She's passed through the police academy but because of budget cuts wasn't picked for the force. She is asked for help by a friend who has been in an internet relationship with man to look into his situation since she believes he's missing. The man is scamming a bunch of women as a hobby while working at illegal off the books computer programming. Alie's friend is missing, there's a murder or two, a busybody neighbor's help, a local cop, a retired cop, Alie's boyfriend's security firm's help all before she becomes a grandmother. ( )
  Kathy89 | Aug 18, 2012 |
A nice light mystery - Ali Reynolds an early forties woman completes her police training but does not secure a job. In the interim her old friend contacts her after falling on hard times, alcoholism and having been duped into an engagement over the internet. A murder occurs, she teams up with the local detective and with her money and partner's internet security firm's help, solves the murder and rescues her friend who has been taken hostage. ( )
  CarterPJ | Apr 28, 2012 |
In “Fatal Error” Ali Reynolds, the primary character, takes her training in the Arizona Police Academy. She is older than the other candidates and is also a woman, so although her training is not without challenges, she is successful and on successful completion looks forward to returning home and working as a police office when budget cuts begin to have an impact of local police forces. At the same time a former acquaintance Brenda Riley, a former colleague contacts her and then goes missing. She has become an alcoholic and comes form a very dysfunctional family. Is she missing on a drunken trip which is her history?

This is a story that combines the issue of computer relationships, misrepresentation during dating, cyber-stalking and old fashioned mysteries combined with police work and is full of action and fun. It is a light and good read and I finished it easily. ( )
  WeeziesBooks | Nov 29, 2011 |
I read this book, and enjoyed it. I gave it a 4 star rating (which was probably 3.5 stars, rounded up). I thought I'd come back and write my review in a few days, like I often do. It was almost a week later when I came back, and realized most of the details (of the story, of the characters, of what I did and didn't like) had all slipped my mind.As I read through the description again, it started coming back, but I'd have to say it was a fast fade, even for me.So, I came in mid-series on this one, so there are several things that I just accept as being part of the universe. A forty something year old woman deciding to go to the police academy to become a police officer is part of that. Her having very large amounts of money to throw at any problems that arise is another. Both are very convenient, and I chose to just accept them and move on.I really liked Ali, once I accepted the above, and in the end, that's what made the book work for me. She's a strong, gutsy lady.The thriller aspect made for an interesting cat and mouse game. I love it when there is intrigue within the bad guys, and this set were not a united team.One of the things I was looking forward to in this book was the technological aspect, and I was a little disappointed. Once I suspended disbelief, it was fine, but I knew enough to know some of it doesn't completely hold together.Still, it was a fun read, and that's what I was looking for. ( )
  ImBookingIt | Jun 6, 2011 |
J.A. Jance is building a great new character to follow in Ali Reynolds. Ali is attempting to further her career as media relations for the police dept. by attending officer training. Budget cuts leave without even the media job, but she doesn't sit still. Between covering her parents work at the family restaurant while they are on a cruise she ends-up helping another former newsgirl, Brenda Riley. Brenda did not handle her job loss as well as Ali. Between drinking to excess and falling for a man over the internet she is at the bottom of the bottle and her life. But it turns-out, through Ali's help, she wasn't the man's only internet fiance nor was he on the up and up in his business dealings. It all comes down to Ali to save the day and thankfully her parents are back so she doesn't have to work the morning shift anymore! ( )
  SuseGordon | Apr 11, 2011 |
A complicated tale involving a cyberstalker and a corrupt former government contractor. Ali Reynolds is drawn in by a former colleague, now fallen on hard times, whose fiance is not what he seems. ( )
  readinggeek451 | Feb 5, 2011 |
Showing 8 of 8

Quick Links

Swap Ebooks Audio
64 avail.
31 wanted
1 pay3 pay

Popular covers

Rating

Average: (3.48)
0.5 1
1
1.5 1
2 2
2.5 1
3 18
3.5 9
4 23
4.5 1
5 3

Audible.com

An edition of this book was published by Audible.com.

See editions

Recorded Books

An edition of this book was published by Recorded Books.

» Publisher information page

Is this you?

Become a LibraryThing Author.

 

Help/FAQs | About | Privacy/Terms | Blog | Contact | LibraryThing.com | APIs | WikiThing | Common Knowledge | Legacy Libraries | Early Reviewers | 94,319,882 books! | Top bar: Always visible